We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a 70's motel”
Review of Hotel Focus SFO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Focus SFO
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2017

They're trying. The check in was friendly enough. I got a bottle of water and two keys. But they charged me $12 for parking. The lobby looked new-ish, but it's hard to hide the low-cost high-flow design of the original building. So low ceilings and narrow corridors, plus paper thin walls all around. The doors felt like they could be pushed open with a credit card.

My room was on the second floor. Was discouraged by the narrow stairway, so tried the ancient elevator. The room was far smaller than in the picture and the bed and linens were of similar low quality. There was no desk in the room. Instead, there was a little "arm desk"---like the ones in middle school classrooms---on the single sofa seat. Plus the bathroom had only space for the toilet and a shower cubicle. I had to wash my hands in the basin next to the door.

These hotels were designed for travelling businessmen to pass the night and move on. All of the redesigns have not managed to make this hotel anymore family friendly.

Still, it's cheap. It's clean. It's in a safe neighborhood again. It's close to the airport. And it's pretty convenient to shops, facilities, and the highway. The best restaurants nearby are at Costco and Quiznos.

Know what you're trading off. And it's ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor so you won't have to wrestle your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

I know SFO is a big city and you have to expect high hotel prices, but $280 for this hole in the wall? Ive paid half the price in NYC for a way better hotel. The bathroom was tiny and if you're tall you will have to stoop over to get under the shower head. Only way to turn the hairdryer on/off was by plugging it in or unplugging it. I asked for a room near the gym, do not ever ask for that. They accommodated me but every time someone ran on the treadmill my room shook. It was clean but things were not put away properly, there was a no smoking sign in the trash can and some kind of wrapper on the floor next to the bed. The breakfast was comparable to what I had at a $50 red roof inn where I stayed because they let my dog and cat in. If it was a $50 hotel I would say the breakfast was great, but at $280/nite they should've been cooking up omelets. They didn't even have OJ. When it came time to take the airport shuttle, they couldn't find the driver for awhile. They also had trouble running my credit card because their was some glitch in their system. On the positive side, the staff were very nice and they tried to be helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from the fitness center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Sue T,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Focus SFO. We appreciate your comments positive or negative as they help us improve for future guests. We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are pleased to know our staff were very helpful in trying to make your stay more comfortable.

Kind regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is the cheapest or close to the cheapest hotel in the area. The service is good, friendly check in. The room don't give a clean or inviting feel. They are badly in need if a redo. The bathroom sink is 2 inches from the room door and not in the bathroom. Walls are thin so noises from hall and other room are clear and loud. The bed gave me an unclean feeling. There is no smoking in the hotel but is allowed in the courtyard so the smoke comes right into the rooms facing it. The free breakfast is ok. Waffles, cereal and bagels. No protein offered. They did have yogurt one of the 3 days I was there but we're out the other 2.
The hotel is located a $15 Uber ride from SFO (free shuttle also). But is near nothing else. There are many other hotel choices in the area. Only stay here if price is your only deciding factor.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Joe300g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is situated near downtown SFO. Good hotel, good people. Specially ladies 8n the front office are of great help in terms of city guide and foods of your choice. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sujay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Sujay D,

Thank you for the great 4 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Below par hotel. No great service. Room extremely small and the bathroom is the smallest I have seen. It's so small that they have the wash basin in the room itself. No microwave. Free WiFi and breakfast. The hotel did not have tooth brushes when requested for. With the price they quote it's not worth at all. Many other good options available. They have free parking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank HP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear HP02,

We are sad to hear you didn't not enjoy your stay at Hotel Focus SFO. We apologize that you feel you did not receive your money's worth. We strive to have our guests 100% satisfied upon departure and it appears we fell a bit short with your stay. Please know our Presidio Queen and King rooms do have a microwave in them. If you choose to give us another try in the future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#11 of 28 in South San Francisco
585 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,076 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
988 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
969 reviews
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Franc...
#17 of 28 in South San Francisco
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Focus SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Focus SFO

Address: 111 Mitchell Ave, US 101 / Bayshore Freeway at South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Focus SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes north of the San Francisco International Airport, Hotel Focus SFO is your newly renovated (March 2017), convenient, tech-savvy, and eco-friendly place to stay. International and domestic travelers to the Bay Area will find the hotel a great resting spot or starting point for your San Francisco Bay area visit. The hotel is located near Bay Area attractions and businesses, activity centers, and transportation. Casual and business travelers will enjoy the free Superfast Wi-Fi, IMediaCast panels for your smart devices, and charging stations in each guest room. Long term parking and free airport shuttle are available to park and fly from SFO. Free Continental breakfast is provided and rooms feature satellite TV with HBO, seating area with work desk in all rooms, satellite TV with HBO, tea and coffee-making facilities and free toiletries. A concierge service is provided to help guests navigate the area. A 24-hour front desk, free coffee in the lobby, coin-operated laundry room, airport departures/arrivals board in the lobby, and vending machines are also available for guest convenience. The Golden Gate Bridge is 30 minutes’ drive away and downtown San Francisco is 11 miles from the property.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Focus SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Francisco Airport (North) Hotel South San Francisco
Motel 6 San Francisco
South San Francisco Motel 6
South San Francisco Motel Six
Motel 6 South San Francisco
Motel Six South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing