We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We were headed south on a road trip, and were looking for a decent place to spend the night; the Red Lion Inn & Suites, didn't let us down. The room was clean and comfortable and fairly quiet; just what you need after a long drive. The hotel is conveniently located near fast food restaurants and grocery stores.

Breakfast was fairly basic, but there were enough choices to fill the hole in our stomachs.

The only real problem we had was when we returned to our room after breakfast and the key reader no longer accepted our card. We had to go back to the office twice to get a key that worked. I suspect the sensor is on its way out. This, however, did not take away from our pleasant overnight stay.

We would happily stay here again, should we be back in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoleneMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello, JoleneMH...

Great to have you wth us on your recent visit from Renton, WA. We appreciate you and hope you'll make us a habit whenever you travel back our way.

Thanks for leaving your stamp of approval in the wake of your visit.

Peace be yours until we see you again. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

When on your way in Northern California,
to see the various sites, you need a good rest at some times.
The Red Lion Inn & Suites in Susanville will be the right place for you.
Enjoy the big rooms and complementary continental breakfast!

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper flor and off the road-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arno E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello, Arno E...

Great to have you wth us on your recent visit from Malaga, Spain. We appreciate you and hope you'll make us a habit whenever you travel back our way.

Thanks for leaving your stamp of approval in the wake of your visit.

Peace be yours until we see you again. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

No frills hotel. No elevator, no safety latch on door. Didn't get much sleep even though I tucked a bath towel under the door for safety. Poor breakfast with the attendant shutting down breakfast at 8:59 a.m. (supposed to be 9:00) and turned away 9 guests from 9:01 to 9:08. This was a holiday... the food was still out, but he insisted breakfast was closed.. Waste of food.

Plus side: good location, clean, nice beds, quiet with free parking. Front desk clerk was friendly, but not to concerned that our room didn't have a safety latch.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ritamcminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hey, rita...

Inasmuch as there is not access to our hall corridors from the outside, in addition to security cameras and 24-hour security and front desk attendants, we've never had an issue with the security of any guest. Our keycards and solid lock assemblies are as good as can be had in the hotel industry. There is or was any worries. Sorry you felt otherwise.

As far as closing breakfast one-minute early, we agree with you and have addressed this with our staff to ensure it never happens again. Sorry for the disappointment and letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Red Lion while visiting relatives. Central location next to food and groceries. Clean hotel with nice room. Breakfast provided each morning starting at 6 am. Gas stations near by

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Greetings, Mark B...

Your TripAdvisor comments are much appreciated! Your recommendation to other travelers is as good as it gets in the hospitality business.

We hope all your Summer travels are safe and satisfying wherever you may go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We only stayed one night on our way to Yosemite, but found this to be a relaxing place. It looked new (I don't know if it is) and was spotless. Bed was comfortable, nice big TV for those who watch, mini-fridge, ice, and microwave. The location is good and our room was quiet; the motel is just a bit off the main street but directly accessible from it. We would have used the hot tub but we were tired from the drive. View of snow capped peaks (in August, even!) from shaded benches in the yard was a plus. Only weakness I saw: a "just average" continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi, Patrick..

Thank you for making us part of your journey to Yosemite from Eureka!

Great to have visitors from the CA Northcoast visit Lassen County. Sorry all the offerings of our free continental breakfast didn't satiate your morning. Most folks find the array of Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage sandwiches and biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereals, waffles, juices and coffee to be a good send off. We've got several full-menu restaurants near by we'd love to recommend for you next time.

Best to you on this and all other journeys! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
3.4 km away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.6 km away
SureStay Hotel by Best Western
1.7 km away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
474 reviews
1.9 km away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 8 in Susanville
15 reviews
2.9 km away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range: $123 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing