We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gem”

The Fox and Hounds Inn
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 26/10
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Llancarfan
Price range: US$17 - US$48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Fox and Hounds is a gastropub with 8 ensuite rooms located in the idyllic and tranquil village of Llancarfan. We are within easy reach of Cardiff (15 mins), Cowbridge (10 mins), Barry (10 mins) and Cardiff Airport (10 mins). It overlooks St Cadoc's Church where restorers have recently uncovered medieval drawings. James Dobson, Head Chef, has created delicious menus that use all the local and seasonal produce available to him in the Vale. There is a sunny terrace for al-fresco dining or just enjoying a cup of coffee/glass of wine on the sofas! Alternatively we have a snug dining area as well as the restaurant. To make reservations please call/email us and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Reviewed 9 September 2021

Booked just 1 night ,our room had a huge bed which could be twin if required.lovely clean refurbished room good shower nice bathroom and good toiletries.

We loved the outside garden patio and had a drink there listening to the birds as it's a lovely quiet location.
Our meal ,we had in the restaurant which is nicely laid out and the food was lovely especially deserts! We would stay here again ,great value for money,and staff all really nice too.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

A lovely rural location, with fantastic food. The only downsides are the room was a little tired looking, very hot in the room, a fan was provided which was good however didn’t do much to the temperature of the room!
Our evening meal was lovely and breakfast was very very good.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Mega20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021

We checked in for a one night stay as we have family in Rhoose

This lovely little pub with a restaurant and accommodation was perfect

Way beyond our expectations for a pub

Comfortable and clean with exceptional service and attention to detail with regard to client safely vis a vis Covid precautions

Restaurant was fab with a wide variety of food and all with the chef’s twist making each dish rather special

What more can we say other than we’ll be back

Chris and Susan

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank RetirementLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed at The Fox and Hounds last week, we had a fantastic time, the pub itself is lovely and the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. The staff were so warm and welcoming and Emily was especially lovely, looking after us so well on both days. We ate at the pub both nights and the food was delicious, a very high standard across all 3 courses, breakfast was also tasty. Thank you everybody at The Fox and Hounds and I would highly recommend anyone to visit, whether to stay or just to eat. I must also mention we had our little Jack Russell Sid with us and he was also made very welcome :)

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank JTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Have eaten here many times before lockdown and always very good. Went last night with friends for a birthday meal. Menu did not remotely resemble the sample menu on the website. It was a mix of lunch and pub grub dinner plates. Only two items that resembled starters. Ended up having very ordinary bread and olives. No specials on and at only 7.30 no sirloin or hake. Waitress was very apologetic and we felt sorry for her. We had very ordinary burger and fish and chips, ok but tiny cod main and some kind of chicken Caesar salad in thick white bread. Thank goodness we ordered extra chips - they were amazing. Service was also very good but based on that menu and food we won’t rush back sadly.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
St Hilary, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.