We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute diner . large portions”

Peggy Sue's 50's Diner
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Yermo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Peggy Sue's a cute diner that doubles as a travel stop. There is a shop on the side, and a diner.saur outdoor space.

My family and I tried out their Fried Dill Pickles, Country Fried Steak, Country Fried Chicken, and Meatloaf. Each of the meals came with a choice of soup or salad, mashed potatoes or naked curly fries, and dinner roll or cornbread muffin. We all opted for the soup, which was Italian Wedding. The soup was good, but we all agreed it was a little salty. In fact, the food we ordered, in general, were all just a tad bit salty; however, not to the point that they were inedible -- not close -- just saltier than we are accustomed to. The cornbread muffin is the sweet cornbread kind -- maybe a bit crumbly, but still acceptably good. And, the curly fries + fried dill pickles were yummy and freshly prepared.

The service is great. We were there during a very busy lunch time, and we had no issue with service. Our server, Megan, was kind and attentive.

Overall, we would go there again. Of the food we have tried, I like the Fried Chicken best -- yummy and juicy!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank emleigha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018

On our way to the coast from Las Vegas we stopped at Peggy Sue's for breakfast. It's touristy but has good fresh food and a lot of fun. My chili omelette was very good. Our server was friendly and attentive. The prices are very reasonable. We liked this place very much.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The theme had potential but the diner was smelly, greasy and did not feel clean whatsoever. My milkshake was nice but my burger was unappetizing and did not smell appealing. The whole place just felt dirty and it was really off putting and I did not want to finish my food.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Service
1  Thank BettinaH645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

On our way to SD, we stopped by for Breakfast and it was delicious!! First time at Peggy’s and we enjoyed it. We all had a different dish and they were all satisfying. Our waitress Sally, provided good customer service as she kept our drinks filled and made sure we were content with the food.

On our way back from SD, we decided to make a second stop for dinner since the first experience was good however, our experience the second time around was absolutely nothing like the first time. The gift shop staff was absolutely rude! The pizza parlor guy was sarcastic and rude! And our waitress Dawn was literally there just to bring the food out and not to provide a service. The food... OMG.. not sure what happened but the cook in the evening may need to get retrained by the cook in the morning because the food was everything but good. Meat loaf was disgusting, dry!! The hot dog was way over cooked and the chicken sandwich... not seasoned at all, nothing to cover that dry frozen taste! Very disappointing.. not sure if Peggy reads the reviews but if she does.. “Peggy, I think you need to talk to your staff and train them to provide a good customer service and delicious food consistently.

Recommend for breakfast ONLY!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Glendy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Stopped at Peggy Sue's on our way to Las Vegas, great little 50's diner with yummy hamburgers and milkshakes.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 2901JoanneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peggy Sue's 50's Diner also viewed

Yermo, California Desert
Yermo, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Newberry Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Peggy Sue's 50's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing