We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer in a ski resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I have been to Breckenridge twice, once in the ski season and my latest trip August of this year. Both time I stayed in a condo at the Mountain Thunder Lodge complex. The first time was amazing and there was that much going on I didn't really take in just how good my accommodation was. I was on the ground floor right near reception both times, which was convenient for the fitness facility, the hot tub and the very helpful reception staff. The Condo, itself, could sleep 6 (at a squeeze), but was an awesomely spacious and comfortable place for 4, two bedrooms (1 en-suite) a separate bathroom and a kitchen lounge combined living area. The unit was very well done out and extremely comfortable, the kitchenette was adequately kitted out and the whole unit was spotless. Now if you are going to Breckenridge, whatever time of year, you are going for activities and excitement (of which there are plenty there and in the surrounding area), what makes these kind of trips special, is being able to sit down and chill out, between activities, and recharge for the next. Mountain Thunder Lodge provided that and, on reflection, made my trips to Breckenridge special!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We booked a three bedroom condo for a family gathering over Labor Day weekend. I had no idea what to expect but we were all pleased with the unit. Check in was quick and efficient and the lobby has a very welcoming, expansive, western feel. Our unit was on the top floor and had a fantastic view from the rooms and decent sized balcony. The kitchen had everything we needed and faced on to a small living room with a fireplace that was big enough for us to sit around and talk. There was also room for a dining table. The rooms had a king, queen and twins. The master was very nice with a large tv. The unit also had wifi. We were able to take a short walk into town for dinner and the "kids" enjoyed the hot tub (located off the lobby) in the evening. All in all it was a hit with the family and helped make for a nice weekend.

Room Tip: We had room 1402 which is a three bedroom unit with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellingColoradans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

My sons wedding was held in Breckinridge. Most of the guests stayed at Mountain Thunder Lodge. We stayed in a 2 bedroom town-home. Out town-home was nice other than a odor in the room that we finally discovered was coming from the garbage disposal. The staff tried to rectify but were unable to do so. With the purchase of a plug in air freshener we were able to tolerate the smell. Be aware, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. A few of our wedding guests did find the lack of air in the rooms to be inconvenient, especially considering the high price of the rooms.

All in all, a nice location. Good amenities and nice staff. Since I believe the units are privately owned, it just depends on the unit you get. I would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank DJ1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We had our wedding here in July, The employees went above and beyond to accommodate everyone's needs.The location is perfect it is a few blocks from main street but still has a secluded mountain feel. This was the absolute perfect place for a 4th of July wedding! The fire works were set off just down the hill from the lodge, so we had the best view in town! Rooms were a bit pricey compared to other places around Breckenridge, but I would still recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I booked this condo for a mid-August trip to Breckenridge. We stayed two nights with our 7 and 9 year old sons. We had a king bedroom with en suite and a queen bedroom with a bath across the hall. Dining area and kitchen (which were lightly used) and a nice living room. We checked in and parked in a garage beneath the building. Walked into town (two long blocks) and had dinner. The next day we went on a great hike to Sallie Barber Mine and then stopped at the Country Boy Gold mine. Boys swam in the heated pool and again walked into town. There is a free shuttle available with the condo, but we were so close we walked. I paid just under $400 per night with all taxes and fees, and don't regret it, because we basically rented an apartment. The facility was well maintained. There was a free washer and dryer on our floor in the building and only maybe 10 units on our floor. I looked at cheaper places, but very glad I chose this one.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lilandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.5 km away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
371 reviews
2 km away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
793 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
661 reviews
1 km away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.8 km away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $309 - $989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing