We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
136
17
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
136
17
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ward lake grand mesa thunder mountain snowmobile tour great weekend cozy cabins snow conditions views are amazing rented snowmobiles county line fur babies high country cross country skiing groomed trails good luck this place is amazing i'd recommend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2021

We did the snowmobile tour and he had an awesome experience Jeff was great informative and super helpful, great staff, the machines are in excellent condition. I'd recommend this place to anyone even if is your first time Jeff will make you feel comfortable.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey and Jessica Kieper, Owner at Thunder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2021

Thank you so much for coming out to snowmobile with us! We are glad you enjoyed it. Please come back again! ~Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021

One of my daughters accidentally ran off the trail and the snowmobile flipped over in a 5' bank of snow. The machine was fine but my daughter injured her wrist . Jeff was 15 minutes ahead of my daughter and I - which was too far to be "guiding" and when he finally came back to check on us his first words were "WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED" His only concern was his machine. He never even asked if she was ok. He was so angry I didn't feel comfortable having my daughter ride back with him. So he took the keys from all of our machines and left us there to walk back - over 3 miles! It was a TERRIBLE experience and I would never hire Jeff or stay in his cabins.

Room tip: Go to another lodge - there were several in the area.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Service
Thank H2706TGkimberlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey and Jessica Kieper, Owner at Thunder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2021

Just in case it wasn't clear, you are under no circumstances welcome back here to snowmobile or stay in our cabins. Your entire family is rude, condescending, and you have a very loose grip on reality and truth. After 3 hours of your entire family breaking every safety rule possible, your daughter crashed. The guide was going 12 miles per hour down a groomed trail. The only way this was possible was if she was following your example and slingshotting, where you wait for the person in front of you to get down the trail, then you take off as fast as you can. It is dangerous and you were told multiple times to stop. The group was only a few hundred yards down the trail, waiting for you, and you were only A HALF A MILE from the lodge. Not 3 miles. Your group disregarded all of our safety rules in place to keep you from getting injured. You did not listen to any of the rules, you did not follow directions, you were constantly letting your 13 year old drive on the trail, tailgating, slingshotting, driving off trail in unsafe areas, and we did everything we could to keep your group safe. After everything you pulled, the safest way for you to end the tour was to walk the half mile to the lodge. Please do not contact us ever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

We had a great time, and Jeff was a great and patient guide for an entire group of newcomers. We had great conditions, wonderful views and for us, two hours was the perfect amount of time to start with.

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank kevinsE8878LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey and Jessica Kieper, Owner at Thunder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2021

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to share our enthusiasm for snowmobiling with new people! Please come back again. ~Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

We spent the weekend up at Thunder Mountain Resort. Cabin 4 was very clean and well stocked. The beds were comfortable. Great location to snowshoeing trails. It was a pleasant surprise that this cabin had wifi.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GrandTour615541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey and Jessica Kieper, Owner at Thunder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2021

Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are doing our best to clean each cabin thoroughly. Please come back again! ~Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We had a wonderful time snowshoeing and x-c skiing. The cabin was perfect (more than enough for the two of us). The updated details were perfect and we look forward to returning. Hosts were very accommodating. Strong recommendation.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antlabato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey and Jessica Kieper, Owner at Thunder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. ~Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews