We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maya exhibit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denver Museum of Nature & Science

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #4 of 247 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
321 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Maya exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Maya exhibit is well curated with multiple learning stations for children. The exhibit was well marked with excellent explanations and laid out in an organized fashion. The short video in the beginning gives a nice synopsis of the Maya and the current Mayans

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarumbaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,979
    696
    161
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Some of my earliest memories: dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I wish I had the copy of the picture of me at about age 3, sitting in the mouth of the Tyranasaurus Rex--Can't do that now at any museum- but DMNS mounts some spectacular shows- currently one on the Maya- the show of Pompeii was fabulous- I marveled at the plumbing fixtures from Pompeii- Body Works was terrific- Go see our Queen of City Park and the new wing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to bring the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Brought the kids (Ages 7 and 11) to see the "Mythbusters" exhibit during their winter break. A fun and educational place! Kids enjoyed the visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Museum for the Family and Adults alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been members here for several years even though we live in Colorado Springs. Lots of hands on activities for the kids and always appreciate the "traveling" displays. Restaurant (T-Rex Café) is reasonably priced and not bad. You can spend several hours here and the I-MAX always has updated films every 3-6 months. Great Planetarium and excellent way to relax after walking the halls for a few hours (careful, you may fall asleep here as it's very relaxing and soothing to the senses!).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DALA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of my all time favorite spots in Denver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The panoramas are some of the best around. Tip - be sure to locate a docent and ask about the gnomes that are hiding in some of the dioramas. Fossils, gems, and minerals are top notch. Planetarium is hands on fun for all ages. Yes, special exhibits are extra. It can get pretty crowded on a snowy weekend so plan accordingly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbtorkelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing