We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Oscar's Cafe

Oscar's Cafe
Ranked #11 of 207 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

For a small little cafe their breakfast serves a big punch. I had the OLÉ Omlette. Green chilies, cheddar and salsa were a maniacal mix. So much do, I cannot wait to go back. Wish I was a local so I could go back often.

1  Thank travelBelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarsCafe18, Owner at Oscar's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you so much for choosing Oscars! We are so glad you enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

There is almost always a line, and you will be glad you waited! This place is truly a "hole in the wall", but portions are generous and fresh and delish! Good for lunch or breakfast and the waitstaff is fast, clean, and courteous.

Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarsCafe18, Owner at Oscar's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Sherry, Thank you so much for your review. We are so lucky to have such wonderful customers to share the joy of Oscars with. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We went to Oscar’s because we were told by the locals that they had good chili. Maybe it’s because we are from Texas, but the chili was horrible and didn’t taste like chili. The onion rings were pure grease. The tables and chairs were very small and uncomfortable and the floor was filthy. I am shocked by the high ratings. We will never go back there.

1  Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarsCafe18, Owner at Oscar's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Sherry, we are so sorry for your experience at Oscars. We would have loved to attempt to remedy the situation if you were dissatisfied. Please, next time you are unhappy please ask to speak to the owner or manager so that we can make sure you leave happy. We apologize if the floor seemed dirty. There is no excuse, but on a busy day it may have taken it's toll on the dining room. We take pride is a clean restaurant and are sorry if this came across as anything less to you. It is our policy to not sweep while customers are eating as per the recommendation from the health department. We sure hope we can change your mind next time. Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion. We are just so sorry we couldn't remedy this at the time of your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Strip mall, narrow venue, cozy, right on top of the kitchen. Wait staff that's quirky and fun, engaging crew and beautiful too. Love a restaurant where you sit on a bar stool and watch your food being made in front of you and watching the crew dance in front of you serving all the people in the place. At the most can serve maybe 30 people. Standard diner fare done right and tasty. Plus homemade creampies and fruit pies in glass cases for you to pick. Am a big fan of the daily specials board and was not disappointed. This is a place where you should try to pick off the board vs the regular menu. Promise you wont be disappointed. Was recommended to us by concierge in our hotel as we were looking for a non-chain authentic place to eat breakfast. Oscar you delivered and then some. Thank you, peace RCP

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RandyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Great place for breakfast. Wide, varied menu and great service. Servers were prompt and very friendly. Very generous portions. We split our meal. Will have breakfast there the next time we are in Durango.

Thank bluebingo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oscar's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing