We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint motel that is well-kept and about 2 miles from the downtown action”
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is an older property but is well maintained. The staff were friendly and even remembered we had stayed there previously. The rooms are nicely furnished and seem to be well-kept. Our room had a walk-in shower and no tub. There are only about 24 rooms total, so this is a smaller property. There's a nice large tree in front near the highway with seating and even a BBQ in case you're inclined to cook dinner. The rates are reasonable. This property is about two miles from downtown, but there is a trolley stop right in front of the motel that allows you to catch a trolley to/from downtown every 20 minutes or so. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The motel is near the highway, so you may want to ask for a room further away from the road to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1EZrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

What a gem! Very clean, and the attention to detail is right up there with 4star hotels. The kitchenette was equipped with a range, microwave, refrigerator, and kitchen utensils. For the price, this motel can be beat. Our only regret is we do not have time to stay longer!

Loved our visit with the owner. Salt of the earth.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurangoSiestaMotel, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Chelly P,

Thank you for your 5 Star Review. We appreciate the feed back. Please come stay with us again soon.
Marlene Haddon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We always stay at the Siesta Motel while in Durango. It is convenient to downtown, but more quiet. The proprietor lives on site. The rooms are clean and spacious. Many guests take advantage of the courtyard with a gas grill at your disposal. This no frills establishment is quiet, safe and you might get to see the mule deer up close.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurangoSiestaMotel, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Cheryl H,

Thank you for your 5 Star Review. The Deer have moved on, have not seen them for a few days. Thanks for returning to The Siesta Motel.
Marlene Haddon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The Shasta is an older motel that someone has worked hard to update. Our room was small but the bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was nice sized and had new shower and sink. The downside is that it is far away from the main area of town so that it is not convenient for those wanting to walk to restaurants and shopping. The street was very busy and noisy but it was quiet in the rooms. We would stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurangoSiestaMotel, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Susan B

Thank you for your 3 Star Review. We certainly strive harder for more than a 3 Star Review. We are Family owned and operated since 1975 and take great pride in The Siesta Motel. We are located on the North end of Main Ave. The Quiet side of town, and are less than 2 miles from Center Downtown Historical District. We are also on the Trolley Route. That operates from 7am-7pm in the Summer Months. The cost is quite minimal. $1.00/person for 55 and younger and .50/ for Seniors. Please do come see us again. And if you would like a larger room then a Queen size beds, are rooms are bigger for King size and 2 beds as well. We also have 2- 2 Bedroom Suites, with full Kitchen. Please come see us again soon.
Marlene Haddon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

If your looking for a comfortable bed, clean rooms, hot water, and friendly service, then this is the best place in Durango. It's not a chain motel, but you can't get service from a chain like I received from Larry and Marlene. I came into Durango not knowing anyone, and I left three days later feeling like I had made a good friend. They were friendly, and helpful with places to eat, and things to do around Durango that you just don't know unless your a local. I'll be coming back to Durango again, and I'll definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurangoSiestaMotel, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear James D,

Thank you for the 5 Star Review. We work very hard to make each and every guest comfortable when staying with us. It is people like yourself that make this all worthwhile.
Sincerely
Marlene Haddon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
2.7 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 34 in Durango
420 reviews
6 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
36.7 km away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 34 in Durango
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing