We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of O-Bar-O Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O-Bar-O Cabins
Ranked #2 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Where do I start? One of the most comfortable stays ever. The beds are amazing, the robes, towels, every little thing was thoughtfully provided! We stayed at the Birdsnest cabin. This is a must stay for anyone wishing to be comfortable in the mountains and yet close enough to go and sight-see Southern Colorado! Highly recommended. Their lovable black lab even speaks Wookie!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HungryinTexas79703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thanks! Cooper told me he really enjoyed your visit....in Wookie, of course! We are so happy that you were comfortable. That is what vacation is really about. You need to be comfortable to re-energize. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed at the cabins in August in the Blue Spruce and it was very cute, clean, quiet and comfortable. Mike and Maria were most helpful and accommodating for us and our support animal. The back patio with your own private barbeque was great and we sat out there every evening watching the river run. The kitchen was a bit small but that well equipped so we managed to cook just fine. There's also a nice sized and fenced dog park area. This was the perfect cabin by the river stay for us and our fur baby! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cmaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for the great review! We have to agree that the river is so hypnotic. You don't even need a TV. It's like natures television! It is our goal to make sure those 4 legged, furry family members are just as comfortable as the 2 legged kind. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I booked the smallest cabin Birdsnest and it was perfection! Amazing well stocked kitchen supplies (even dish soap, towels, and leftover containers) and luxurious bed (didn't miss my official "my pillow" at all). The property is well loved and beautifully maintained. I stayed on the property each day because I wanted peace and quiet to restore my soul and that's what I received. I walked by the river, sat in different locations, read, listened, watched birds, played with Charlie (the cat) and Cooper (the sweet old dog) and really didn't want to leave. Only locked myself once! Mike and Maria and everyone else were amazing--very kind, hardworking, and friendly. I can't wait for my next trip. I simply adore O-Bar-O Cabins.

Only one suggestion--I would love to take my mom sometime. It would be nice if there were grab bars (more than one) in the shower to help steady her during her shower. :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank srpshop2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for the great review! You covered all the bases with the peace and quiet! The O-Bar-O is a great place to unwind. Close to town but far enough away you don't feel like you are in the crowds. Let me know when you bring your Mom. We have a shower chair and one of those grab bars that you can place anywhere, See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Mike and Maria are amazing. There were fresh flowers and home made cookies when we got there. Cabin was spotless.The only negative we had was master was upstairs and bathroom down but this spot is like heaven . Just what we needed. Wish we could of stayed longer. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting some peace and quiet . You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PennyCaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for the review! We do deliver on the peace and quiet. The river is the perfect backdrop to rejuvenate. Ya know, we want to make sure everyone gets their exercise so we make sure to put the bedrooms upstairs! Just kidding. For those reading this if you need a bathroom on the same floor we have 5 of 9 cabins that fit this bill! We look forward to your next visit......hint hint....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I have always wanted to stay in a cabin by a river and have looked for that special place for years. We found it and we just finished staying there for a week. We had three cabins for six adults and six kids. The kids ran around barefoot, ate smores, played games. We rode horses, went white water rafting, played golf and every afternoon after our activities we would go home to our cabin, cook dinner and sit by the fire, tell stories and cherish the time. We all had a blast. Thanks Maria and Mike. You are the bests hosts!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for the great review! We had a blast with your family, as well. Such a fun group. I promise to have plenty of light bulbs on hand......O-Bar-O and Durango have so much to offer in the way of activities for all ages. So excited that you had the best time. We can't wait for your return visit. Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
18.2 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
18 km away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
15.7 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
18.2 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,104 reviews
22.1 km away
Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O-Bar-O Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O-Bar-O Cabins

Address: 11998 County Road 240, Florida Road, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: $214 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabins under the clear Colorado sky. Deer and elk roaming through nearby alpine meadows. Tall pine trees stretching to the horizon. Cool mountain streams bubbling with trout. The O-BAR-O Cabins, situated on the Florida River, has all of this and more. Located just outside Durango, we're a stone's throw from the national forest, two large lakes, and horse trail rides. Plus we have the best trout fishing you'll find in these parts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o-Bar-o Cabins Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing