We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$167
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Motel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveller rating
603
381
119
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
381
119
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe diamond belle saloonold westmahogany grillgun fightpiano playerantique furniturestep back in timegreat historic hotelsmall elevatormodern amenitiesmain streetheart of downtownthe entire hoteltrain whistlehotel restaurantstreet noiserooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We had a queen and twin bed with our small dog visiting for 5 days to include Christmas. The weather was bad so we got to arrive a day early without any hiccups. The multiple restaurants all had good food, drinks, and live music. Parking was somewhat inconvenient as it was across the street and was small for the amount of guests at the hotel, they were booked. Breakfast at the Mahoney grill was great if you can sit at window table, to see the snow fall and people watch. We purchased the Christmas dinner at the hotel. There was tons of food but the quality wasnt as good for the price per person of 39 dollars. The hotwl is right on the main street, perfect location!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The hotel was like stepping back in time. Overall we had a nice experience. It's in the center of town and very close to all of the stores and restaurants. We went in the middle of December and it was pretty cold. The room was too warm. We tried adjusting the old thermostat but that didn't seem to help so we ended up sleeping with the window cracked. We purchased breakfast with our room and it was ok. The waitress was nice. Lunch in the saloon was extremely pricey and service was slow!

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view! be prepared for the train to toot it's horn pretty late.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Winnybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Unfortunately no ghost experience but definitely a good nights rest and fun bar hopping time! And very kind people here! Great walk down the streets and great sightseeing around the place. Absolutely loved the crystal New Age shops!

Room Tip: I'd advise a room towards the side/back of the hotel, somewhere away from everyone else so that you don't make a rucket from bar hopping.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_Miss_Adventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I rarely shell out for the upscale places. I will admit THIS place just might have given me the reasons needed to spend up above the average for a room. The decore is western/victorian rustic and opulent. the rooms are decorated beautifully and very very comfortably. The staff was very helpful and friendly without annoying. There is a very nice saloon and more modern cocktail bar attached. We didn't go into the saloon but the cocktail bar was cozy and fun. A funny and engaging bartender named Josh cut up with us and we were made to feel at home by a waitress who'll remain one of the most beautiful women I'll ever see. She was simply a Joy to behold.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I had a hard time deciding between The Strater and General Palmer hotels. They were literally the same price for king rooms the weekend we went. I chose The Strater for a few reasons; the ease of the online reservations, and the restaurants within the hotel. We arrived on a Friday evening and chose to have dinner in the Diamond Belle Saloon. We sat at a table upstairs and got to look out over the bar and rest of the restaurant. It was a great time.
We stayed in a king bed room. As expected, per the style and type of hotel, the room was relatively small; however, the bed was fine. The hotel leaves a notebook for the guests to share their experience and where they are from. That was a lot of fun to read through and contribute to.
We had breakfast both mornings at the Lone Spur a few doors down. We liked the food so much the first day that without question we went back.
The temperature of the room's shower was a little dodgy to try to control but, again, as expected with this type of hotel. There was no air control but given that it was November, simply cracking the window allowed some cool air to flow into the room. Heat was not an issue at all.
Overall, this hotel is beautiful and kept up so well. We are planning to return in January and will very likely be at least visiting again if we don't end up staying. We will definitely be staying again in the future.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GTrotter505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews