We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Interesting and Informative visit!”

Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins
Ranked #31 of 114 things to do in Fort Collins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Colorado experts provide complimentary Colorado maps, routing information, weather updates, brochures and more. The welcome center houses the North Park Region office of Colorado State Parks, information about the Cache LaPoudre-North Park Scenic and Historic Byway,admij offices of the Cache La Poudre River National Heritage Area and resale gift shop for Alpine Arts . The center is surrounded by more than 200 acres of nature preserve, with nature and interpretive trails, picnic areas and more. Gift Shop, Free Coffee, Free WiFi, Internet Access, Phone, Picnic Sites, Rest Area, RV Parking, Beverage Vending Machines. Dates Closed: Major Holidays, Hours of Operation: Memorial Day to Labor Day: 8am-6pm; Labor Day to Memorial Day: 8am-5pm. Located at Interstate 25 exit 268; just over the bridge and West of the South Frontage Road. We are the large building North of the CDOT rest area. Welcome to Colorado!
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I ALWAYS make it a habit to stop and visit places like these because I find that I NEVER KNOW ENOUGH about state history wherever I go. This place is NO exception. Being from the Northeast, the 13 original colonies are the selling point along with getting original independence. Out here, settling the territories and taming the West is the theme.

There was a LOT of information about the trek westward by settlers. There even was a great deal about the Mormon trail which went through more of Wyoming, where I live now, than Colorado. I saw MANY examples of how simple and HARSH it was back in the day. There were some souvenirs at the gift shop. I would recommend ALL travelers stop in for a visit and get educated.

Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl G, Manager at Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you very much for the great review and we are delighted to know that you discovered our trails map center to be so helpful and informative. Mission accomplished! We hope you enjoy visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"maps and information"
in 2 reviews
"rocky mountain national park"
in 2 reviews
"answer questions"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 3 reviews
"colorado"
in 8 reviews
"visitors"
in 2 reviews
"collins"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

There was a couple in here and they were so helpful. We are looking for a place for a family reunion weekend, not too high of an elevation and with fun things to do in the fall around September. They were full of suggestions. Recommend seeing them here if your looking for things to do.

Thank pinsnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCCG, Manager at Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you so much for stopping by to see us at the Colorado Welcome Center. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

If you are a new visitor to Colorado this welcome center provides you with helpful information about the state.

1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCCG, Manager at Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you so much for stopping by to see us at the Colorado Welcome Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Staff was very helpful and offered several nearby activities. The Poudre Canyon recommendation was a good choice. Wish I could have made the drive before the 2012 fire. It was distressing to see what was lost in the wildfire.

1  Thank Eatingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCCG, Manager at Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you so much for stopping by the Colorado Welcome Center. Each year, more and more is rejuvenated. Where there were once pine trees, there are often new stands of aspen trees. We hope you can make it back to see these wonders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This Colorado Welcome Center is actually off of the highway, so it can be accessed from either direction, which is fortunate since we entered Colorado both times after business hours. There is a little gift shop that sells magnets and keychains, etc.

1  Thank EMM-batraxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCCG, Manager at Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you so much for stopping by the Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins also viewed

 

Been to Colorado Welcome Center at Fort Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing