We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist approach to comfort.”
Review of Spirit Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spirit Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed in Room 15 for two nights. There was no "view" to speak of, but we requested a quiet, non smoking, king size bed and that is what we got! The room was spacious. No bells and whistles at all - but very quiet and we slept well - after hiking in the Rockies - that's what you want! It is within easy walking distance of the Hub (for coffee and breakfast) and the Fat Cat (another great breakfast). Plus we walked to the Sagebrush for dinner and drinks!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a king bed, upstairs and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

They take pets, but not friendly towards dogs. Owner was rude, check out time was 9:30, insane! She said we could stay later (10:30) if we tipped maids. Went to lobby twice in am and no coffee, ended up going across the street. Internet never worked. Very unfriendly place, lots of nicer places to stay which offer you a better value.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shawandassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Worst hotel I ever stayed at. We booked for three nights and only stayed for one. The bed was absolutely awful. couldn't sleep much. The mattresses evidently haven't been replaced in years. My wife had crawl back up the mattress because the mattress tilted towards the bottom and over to the right. I had to keep from falling off the right side. When I asked for our money back for the remaining nights the owners refused. We had to walk away from our balance of over $300. our online agency was no help in getting our money refunded. When you book at a hotel you expect at the very least to have a comfortable bed to sleep on. You won't get one here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We booked this reservation sort of blind having never been to Grand Lake and not really having an understanding of the location or how the town was laid out. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised! We found the lodge to be impeccably clean, very cozy, and it looked either newly renovated or just superbly maintained. A big plus for us (and happy accident) was its location---basically walking distance to most everything we wanted to do. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again if going back to Grand Lake. Wifi was very good and TV channels very good---Free coffee and Ice in the office all day and microwave/frig combo in the room was just right.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

For our liking, this place was ok for one night. We had asked for a downstairs room and OK, no problem, except the walls are thin next door and upstairs. Major problem was we were not told that 1/2 of the main street is tore up and behind the hotel too. It would have been courteous for the hotel owner to warn us, or the very least give us a discount! The work went late at least until 9pm. The back-up beeps on the big machinery was very annoying that late at night. Like I said it was one night and we survived. Not sure how long that project will go on!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Lake hotels
1 km away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
547 reviews
0.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.2 km away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rapids Lodge
Rapids Lodge
#5 of 20 in Grand Lake
181 reviews
0.2 km away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#11 of 20 in Grand Lake
44 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Lake Lodge
Grand Lake Lodge
#9 of 20 in Grand Lake
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Lake Lodge

Address: 829 Grand Ave., PO Box 66, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $161 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spirit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Lake Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing