We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silver Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
H&H Motor Lodge(Idaho Springs)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast(Idaho Springs)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argo Inn and Suites(Idaho Springs)
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indian Springs Resort(Idaho Springs)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Columbine Inn(Idaho Springs)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
208
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourmary's glacierbed and breakfastcourse dinnerother guestsgourmet dinnercommon areasretreat roomincredible viewsperfect mountainalpine suitefresh flowersstar restaurantchocolate covered strawberriesoutdoor activitiesmountain viewperfect getaway
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November for a quick get-a-way and everything was prefect. The rooms and lodge are very beautiful and romantic with amazing views of the mountains. We stayed in the Alpine Suite which has a kitchenette and a TV, not all the rooms have TV's. This room is in the basement so you have the floor to yourself and access to a outside door, but its not good if you want a nice view. All the other rooms are next to each other on the second floor with great views.

The food was AMAZING and the serving sizes are huge! I think the lodge is under new ownership now compared to some older reviews i read but the couple is doing a great job and they are great cooks! We ate breakfast every morning and had their dinner option each night which was totally worth the money and convince.

The lodge location is great for views and hiking. It is about 20mins or so from the town and an adventurous drive up 3,000+ feet. We would love to stay again and take some friends. The only thing that might hold us back is the altitude sickness at 10,500 feet it's pretty rough. My husband who never feels anything like that was miserable. The lodge supplies a ton a water which is great but the air was so dry we felt bad, couldn't sleep, and couldn't get rid of our bloody noses. My only feedback would be that they need to invest in humidifiers for the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Silver Lake Lodge has to be the best of the best! We felt so at home while staying there for four nights. We were greeted by the owners, Taylor and Paula, who are so gracious and personable. After a tour of the beautiful lodge, we were shown our room. All of the rooms are decorated beautifully, along with the dining area, sitting area and media room. The outside deck offered wonderful views of the snow-covered mountains. We stayed in the Alpine Suite, on the lower level. It was spacious and we enjoyed the privacy of the room. The room, along with the entire lodge, was very clean and inviting. The bed was wonderful, and hugged my body, just right. There were fresh flowers on the coffee table, wish was very welcoming and romantic. We ate a complete breakfast one morning, and it was delicious! The scrambled eggs were to die for. There are varied pastries with fruit for a lighter side breakfast. Of course, there were different juices to choose from. We didn’t try lunch, however, the dinner was scrumptious and more than enough to fill you up. The filet was cooked to perfection, and the stuffed pork chops are delicious. We had a choice of different soups, which are all wonderful, and the desserts are heavenly. And, not to mention the sorbet that they call a palate cleanser. The happy hour is a great time to meet the other guests, and the hors d’oeuvres were wonderful. The setting is beautiful, right at Saint Mary’s Glacier (with plenty of hiking right outside of the door), and there was still snow on the ground and atop the mountains. This is a very relaxing place, decorated beautifully. The owners, Taylor and Paula, make you at home, and are so very attentive to your every need. I would, definitely, recommend The Silver Lake Lodge to anyone who wants to be pampered, relax, have hiking right outside of the door, and enjoy gourmet food.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CottonTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Our adult children bought us this trip two years ago, when we finally got to take it we decided to go to see the leaves change because we live in Florida and really don't get to see much of a season change. To our surprise we woke up to snow on the Beautiful pine trees. It was like looking at a postcard from our bedroom window. The host Jim was an excellent cook and breakfast was enough for breakfast and lunch. We went hiking to a glacier, took a train ride through the mountains, we went atving up a mountain trail, tours a gold mine and we ate out a lot and Jim cooked a wonderful romantic dinner at the lodge one night. I highly recommend staying here it was an absolute Joy! thank you, Jim

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The lodge is gorgeous - common areas inside and out are comfy, bedrooms/bath are clean and plush and modern. Views are incomparable - look right outside bedroom to glacier mountain vistas. Owner/chef and staff are so hospitable and provide lots of recommendations. Gourmet dinner was fabulous - several delicious courses but way too much food! Breakfasts were special and delicious. Walking distance to St Mary's Glacier trailhead. Complimentary water bottle with advice: drink water to avoid altitude headache. We had no problems. Would stay again - great to be outside of Denver and near hiking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CabinJohners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night and enjoyed our stay. It’s a good place to get to know the other guests because they have a happy hour which it seemed most of the guests attended. We stayed in the room with the horse theme (the picture is the view from our room). It was a nice, comfortable room but the bed was too soft for us. We both have bad backs so we need a firmer mattress. If you stay here it’s likely you will not want to drive back into Idaho Springs for dinner so either book dinner at the B&B or bring some snacks you can eat after happy hour. Breakfast was good and filling. Overall, we had a nice stay.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank C c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews