We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful sweetheart weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2017

February seemed like a perfect time to get away to this place. A cozy cabin with a fireplace and the promise of being pampered with a sweetheart deal were inviting. We were not disappointed. In fact, this place surpassed all of our expectations. Winter is a quiet time and this suited us just fine. We are not horse people but we found plenty of things to do...photographing, hiking, relaxing, studying rocks and geologic formations, following animal tracks including mountain lions....sitting by the fire...The hosts Susan and Dave are super nice folks. We were served a so called snack the first night. It was big enough to be a meal and the second night we received a made to order 3 course sweetheart meal delivered to our room complete with real red roses and a sweetheart candle. Breakfast was in the main dining room and Jody was a superb breakfast chef.
This ranch has so much history and has been in the family for decades. The owners show their pride and caring about this place by the way the are taking care of it.
We fell in love with Sylvan Dale and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a sweetheart cabin. When lighting your fire place make sure to crack the door and windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed having you two with us this winter! And thank you for taking such lovely photos of your visit to the ranch. We appreciate your sharing them with us, and we look forward to seeing you on ranch again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016

I stayed with my wife for the Thanksgiving weekend package, which included meals and enough activities to keep you busy (one horse ride, a few hours of bass fishing in a lake, a wagon tour, team building event, square dancing and folk song sing-a-longs) - a great deal for the price and convenience of not having to plan your vacation. The best thing about Sylvan Dale besides the hospitality was the gorgeous landscape that is part and parcel of the ranch.

I will definitely find my way back to Sylvan Dale in the future and highly recommend a trip back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have close proximity to the river. Some cabins have a wood burning fireplace - I ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed having your with us over the Thanksgiving weekend and we'll know to have plenty of firewood for your next visit. :) Maybe your parents can visit with you next time too! Happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

The rooms were charming and the staff delightful! The food was AMAZING!! I had never stayed here before, and this place is practically in my backyard, but it's so wonderful. There's plenty to do and the views are simply to die for. We went hiking and there's so much to see. Don't miss out on this true Colorado gem!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank justinandlindseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

We're so glad you were able to experience Sylvan Dale! Thank you for visiting! We appreciate your compliments and look forward to your next visit. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We spent a week at Sylvan Dale this summer with our two daughters. It was by far the most transformative family experience we had as a family, and we travel around the world a lot. First of all and foremost, the people - beautiful, authentic,genuine, hard-working. Our 5-year old is still asking us when we go back to Sylvan Dale, because she wants to see Susan, the owner, who stole her heart. Everybody was incredible to us and made it a truly special vacation - the wranglers, the baby-sitters, the chef and his crew, all men and women working at the ranch. Second, if you want to ride horses in an breath-taking scenery and "get away from it all", this is the place. Very flexible, very accommodating, from a beginner to an experienced rider - you will be challenged and you will succeed. The horses are loved and well taken care of and are a joy to ride. From a flat short ride, to a challenging overnight ride through the canyons - you can have it all. Third, the ranch will arrange any additional activities you would like to do and has a lot of choices from doing an activity by yourself with a guide or going with a group of people with similar interests. The food is fabulous, hearty, and there are good choices. If this ranch could move to a new state every 6 months, so we could see the rest of the country, we would come there all the time. For a dude ranch experience out of this world, this is the place to be - you will dream about the ranch for a long time after you leave. Thank you, Susan & crew. Cheers from Boston, Irene & family

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

And we fell in love with you too! Thank you for the fantastic review! We look forward to seeing you all again in the future. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I had been looking for an affordable dude ranch trip for a while and I have to say I am so happy we chose Sylvan Dale Ranch! My friend and I arrived to be welcome by a great staff, from the servers, the chefs, the wranglers, you name it, they all made you feel like part of their family! Horses are very well taken care of, the location is breathtaking, and accommodations were very clean and comfortable. They accommodate you with a horse matching your abilities and the activities were superb, it exceeded my expectations and I AM COMING BACK!! You will have a great time here, whether you are a novice or have experience, you will leave completely satisfied and by the way food is excellent!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Why thank you for the lovely review! We enjoyed hosting you during the Cowgirl Roundup too! Can't wait until the next time. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loveland hotels
19.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Loveland - Hotel, Spa and Conference Center
14.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Loveland
19.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Loveland
WoodSpring Suites Loveland
#11 of 14 in Loveland
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Conference Center
7.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Loveland
14.4 km away
Rodeway Inn - Loveland
Rodeway Inn - Loveland
#13 of 14 in Loveland
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

Address: 2939 N County Road 31d, Loveland, CO 80538-9763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Loveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Loveland
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Best Family Vacation" by Frommer's Colorado guidebook and rated among the "Top Ten Colorado Dude Ranches" by True West Magazine, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch offers year ‘round outdoor adventure. Conveniently located just one hour from Denver in the Colorado foothills near Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, Sylvan Dale’s 3200-acre working Dude Ranch and Retreat Center is nestled along the banks of Colorado's beautiful Big Thompson River. Offering activities such as cattle drives, trail rides, horseback riding, trophy trout fly fishing, hiking and nearby hunting, nature experiences, tennis, swimming, and many other activities,true adventure awaits you! Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is perfect for your next vacation adventure! Much more than just an historic working ranch, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch also provides exceptional services for business retreats and private meetings, holiday parties, picnics, reunions, family vacations, bed & breakfast, weddings, and a variety of exciting outdoor adventures. Sylvan Dale's delicious and healthy Heart-J natural grass-fed beef is also available for purchase. Come experience all that is the beauty of Sylvan Dale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel Loveland
Sylvan Dale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing