We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
438
147
48
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
438
147
48
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswolf creekhiking traillog cabincoffee machinewood stovehot springsbiscuits and gravygreat place to stayfront porchroad noisebreakfast roomhard boiled eggstwo queen bedsmain buildingbreakfast was deliciousbagelsspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable, and friendly staff! I'd stay here every time. Close to the springs and so much cheaper. Little cabin with a little kitchen, so romantic. Worth it! 3 hot tubs, you can have your own. The only ding I'd give is breakfast; eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal. Very basic but you could cook your own...

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

We're so glad you enjoyed our rustic cabin! They are very cozy and romantic, especially when you light up the wood stove, or fire place, and kick back with your favorite beverage and a movie, after a dip in one our hot tubs under a full moon!
Thank you for choosing High Country Lodge! We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed in one of the cabins. It was so comfortable and cozy. We have stayed in the lodge before and it is also nice. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We go to Pagosa Springs often and always stay at High Country Lodge.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you for making High Country Lodge your home away from home! When you often go to a certain place, its a great comfort to know where you will be staying, and that you will always find a welcoming staff, and comfortable accommodations when you arrive.
We enjoyed your review. Thank you for writing. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at High Country Lodge. I called the lodge directly and the staff member was very friendly and informative. Following the call, an email arrived with all the specifics of our reservation. It was the best pre-stay communication I have ever received.
The grounds of the lodge are spacious and very nice for a walkabout. The morning breakfast was outstanding and the coffee was incredible! They have a fun little shopping area, plus snacks that you can purchase for a minimal fee.
The only reason I gave a 4-rating instead of a 5 was the traffic noise and distance from town. We were in a lodge room facing the highway and the trucks are noisy throughout the night. They have nice cabins as well; we will stay in one next time as they are behind the lodge. It is a short drive into town, which is no big deal unless you want to walk to and from the springs area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you for writing! We are glad you chose High Country lodge. It sounds like you had a great stay from phone booking to departure, and enjoyed many of our amenities. Were glad you had a pleasant stay, and will enjoy welcoming you on your next visit. You are correct, if you are a light sleeper, a cabin is a good choice, and we have enough of a variety, that you are sure to find one to please. For a couple, either a studio cabin, or one of our small one bedroom cabins works well. Check them out on our website under accommodations, and you can see inside photos and a floor plan of each cabin. We are happy to help you choose the best option possible!
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Located about 2 miles east of Pagosa Springs, this is a very attractive and well kept facility on about 15 acres. Room was large and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and particularly helpful in picking restaurants. (see separate review on The Buck Stops Here). The grounds are beautiful and a great place to exercise our golden retriever after a day in the car. They provide a basket of old towels for wiping down the dog, motorcycle, car, etc. A fair amount of traffic on the highway adjacent but did not notice any noise in the room. Hot breakfast was very good, coffee excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveSuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Sounds like you and your golden retriever had a great time at High Country Lodge. We were happy to help you choose a restaurant. We also help guests with fishing spots, hiking trails, and all kinds of recreation adventures. You came at a very pretty time of year when the weather is comfortable and the leaves are beautiful. We enjoyed hosting you and hope you will return often. Thank you for choosing HCL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this property. Far enough out of town to feel like you're out in the country but close enough to Pagosa Springs to take advantage of the restaurants and shops. Nice rooms and friendly staff! Next time I will bring family and rent one of the cabins!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your return stay. I think you are right-with family, a cabin is very comfortable and you have the choice to stay in and cook or grill out, or take it easy and enjoy one of our fine restaurants. Also the cabins are more spacious, close to the hot tub deck, and have porches that are perfect for sitting and enjoying the ambiance of Colorado. Whether you want to fish, hike, 4 wheel, etc, or just have some time to completely vege out, High Country Lodge has many options here or close by, and we are happy to share them with you.

Thank you for choosing HCL--we enjoyed hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews