We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shambhala Mountain Center(Red Feather Lakes)
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
26
13
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
13
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing weekendtroutgas grillthese cabinsfull kitchenbarbdenroomystovefireplaceamenitiesrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed at the Romona lake cabins last night and we had a great time! The cabin gave us the rustic feeling we were looking for with all of the amenities we needed. Bears den was our home for the night and it was warm and so cozy. We went to the tavern on property and felt like we were actually locals. We will be back and thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Choose the right sized room and share the water with the other guests! Wonderful hosts!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob A, Owner at Ramona Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thanks... we enjoyed your company!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We were at Redfeather for a wedding staying in 5 of the 6 cabins 7/21-7/22/2017. The cabins are nice, but the people that run it are horrible! I have never stayed in a place that has so many "can't do's" and "if you do's" you'll be fined! Definitely not a place that appreciates their guests and I won't ever return!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suzyqsmayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob A, Owner at Ramona Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thanks for your thoughts.
Yes, we do have more rules than most places.
However, it seems up here we have to.
People do things here they would never do anywhere else.

We are very protective of our property; therefore, all the rules. Our first year of operation we didn’t even have a rental agreement and someone almost burned cabins 4 & 5 down.

There is a reason (story) behind every rule. There is even a reason why we set the cabin occupancy to the level they are set to.

Being the softhearted grandpa that I am, I allowed a grandma to have 2 extra grandkids in the cabin with her. She decided since 2 over the occupancy levels was ok with us, another 6 would be ok too. The other cabins were fully occupied with folks who have stayed before and know of the water limitation issue, but that day 876 gallons of water was used. (Yes, we track water usage daily.) We ran out of water in the well. Had she not decided to allow way too many people in her cabin, we would not have run out of water. How is it fair to the folks in the other cabins who conserve water to allow someone to just do whatever they please? Did you notice how many times we checked the water to make sure everyone in your group had enough water to shower?

Maybe you had an issue with the “no moving the furniture” rule. We had to implement that rule when someone moved the futon so close to the propane stove that it scorched the wood. Had we delayed cleaning, that cabin would have burned to the ground.

Or maybe the “no cleaning fish or game in the cabin” rule. We have had people clean fish and leave the guts in the bathroom sink, not once but multiple times. Guts do not just stay in the sink. They slide down into the trap and soon the whole cabin stinks like rotting fish. The first time it took 2 days to find the source of the smell. Why should we have to tell people not to clean fish and leave the mess for us to clean up? It could be worse, another rental place up here had someone field dress a moose in the bathtub.

Maybe you don’t like the “no smoking” in the cabins rule?

The “no tampering with wildlife” rule?
Talk to the parents who allowed their kids to kill birds with their BB gun.

Maybe the “respect others” rule?
Quiet time from 10pm to 7am is unreasonable?

Maybe the rule where we can visit a cabin to see how many people are in it?
If you pay for 2 people but allow 4 more, isn’t that theft? You didn’t pay for them. What is the difference between not paying for their stay and just taking money out of our cash box? It certainly overpowers the well and isn’t fair to people in the other cabins.

Maybe the “check out at 11am and check in at 4pm” rule?
We clean cabins in the order guests leave so if the cabin you reserved doesn’t check out until 11 and they leave it a mess, chances are really good you won’t be getting in at the beginning of the 4-6pm check-in time.

I guess you missed the fact that Denise booked cabin 4, but they couldn’t make the wedding. According to yet another rule, we could have charged her for the cabin since the cancellation was inside the 2-week window, but we didn’t. She had enough on her plate as the bride’s mother and we didn’t think she needed any more stress.

We have a lot of awesome guests. We do very much appreciate the guests who take care of our cabins and we go out of our way to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
We also have a NIB list for the ones who don’t not appreciate how much work we have done to make the cabins as nice as possible. What is a NIB list? Never Invited Back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Absolutely the worst place to stay! The rooms were old and very outdated, they were very strangely laid out.
We had people stay here for the wedding of our daughter at the Fox Acres Country Club. It was at terrible mistake.
They charged us for the maximum people per cabin even when there were much fewer than that.
The guest left some of the items in the baskets, that I provided with goodies, in the rooms when checking out. I went there right after the last check out but was told that the owner gave the baskets away to charity. Fast work for not even an hour after the check outs.
When I asked about the overcharge and the baskets the owner was belligerent. He went on a tangent that was both scary and humiliating. Especially since he was so nice when we made the reservations. We were in total shock at his attitude.

If you have a problem... Watch out!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonaLakeCabins, Owner at Ramona Lake Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hi Bridgette, Thanks for your “review”. Let’s add some facts to your review. These are documented from our reservation system. However, let me remind you of a couple of things first. All online reservations require the person making the reservation to read and agree to our policies. It is impossible to make an online reservation without agreeing to the terms of rental. This is the same rental agreement EVERYONE signs when they check-in.
In the rental agreement, it states:
Charges are non-refundable; refunds will not be issued.
It also states: Effective August 1, 2014, there is a $25.00 change fee to make any changes to your reservation.
While we did charge you for the maximum people in cabin 1, it was you that said how many would occupy the cabin during the stay. Against policy I did refund, in cash, to your husband the difference between how many you said would be in the cabin and how many stayed.
You provided baskets with goodies to each cabin you rented. These baskets had the person’s name on each basket and we distributed to the cabins as you instructed. When your people checked out if they didn’t take the basket with them, I disposed of the baskets. Should I have kept them and for how long? They checked out and left them. You did not instruct me to hold them. Yes, it was quick work. When you have 4 cabins checking out at 11am and guests checking in at 4pm, that’s a very short time to clean up the mess and they were a mess. You also told me the guests didn’t know the baskets were for them but they had their names on the baskets. While in the review you said and I’m quoting here “I went there right after the last check out but was told that the owner gave the baskets away”. By the time you got here, the next guests were already checked in so it was after 4pm when you stopped by.
Let look at some facts pertaining to the $25 charge to make any changes to your cabin reservation.
Cabin 1:
Reserved on 2/13/15 at 2:38, on 4/25/15 at 12:39 the dates and number of guests staying in the cabin changed.
Cabin 2:
You reserved online 1/30/15 at 3:19. On 2/13/15 at 2:25 the number of guests changed, the dates were also changed at that time.
Cabin 3:
Reserved at 8:58 (before we opened) on 4/6/15, at 9:02 called back and asked if the cabin could be put on hold, at 12:42 called again to ask if we would take the cabin off of hold.
Cabin 4:
Reserved on line at 3:24 on 1/30/15. The dates changed 8 times on 2/13/15 then the dates changed 5 times on 3/12/15. On 3/16/15 we changed it to hold since you weren’t sure you needed the cabin. On 4/6/15 you decided you needed the cabin, then on the same day the dates changed 7 times. On 7/5/15 again you changed the dates. Then on 7/19/15 you added yet another day. Strange considering and I’m quoting here from your review… “The rooms were old and very outdated, they were very strangely laid out.” In fact, 3 of the cabins you reserved stayed longer.
Cabin 5:
On 4/6/15 at 8:50 originally, someone in your party rented cabin 3. They called back at 8:56 on the same day to change it to cabin 5. On 4/25 the dates were changed 8 times.
Cabin 6:
Reserved cabin on 4/2/15 at 2:26 only made 1 change to the date on 4/2/15.
Cabin A:
Reserved at 3:06 on 3/12/15 then changed number of guests on the same day. Again on 3/12/15 changed the dates, 3 times. On 3/13/15 changed the number of guests then changed them back to original number.
Let me also remind you when your sister came in she said you were paying for her cabin. You had previously told us she would pay for her own cabin. She was adamant you were paying for it. When Barb called you to ask if something had changed, you told her “just put it on my card”. The next day your sister came to the office wanting us to refund your card and put it on her card. She was told that per the rental agreement we do not issue refunds.

I also noted your review of our Trout Tavern. I’m not sure why you would eat here when clearly you are not happy with anything we do.

Anyway, thanks for your review and the opportunity to present my side of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Peaceful, beautiful and oh so serene! We had a cabin completely renovated and included everything you could need for a stay of any length. The lake is almost at your door step and we watched as the fish jumped. Cabins range in size, sleeping 2 up to 8 or 10. Wildlife can be seen often, walks are highly recommended, relaxing is a must. This is truly an outdoor pay ground. Just opened, a small cafe offering sandwiches and such. Shop in Fort Collins before coming up the mountain, supplies are limited and on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Visit the website, there is lots of information. Tell Barb and Ron, Dee sent you!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Deedlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed her as a family reunion of about 17 people. Booking 3 cabins to 5 cabins by the end of the week.

It was great for what we were looking for and needed: partially-handicap accessible, accommodating young kids and family. All the cabins are in close proximity so we were able to visit frequently and swap locations for where we had collective dinners.

Cabins are well kept and stocked.
Hosts are very friendly, welcoming and happy to accommodate refills of coffee!

The lake: it's a private lake which does not allow swimming or boating. It's only for observing and fishing.
While it was great fun fishing, there wasn't much 'beach' or easy access to the lake, which made it somewhat challenging to enjoy with young kids.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Daphanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews