We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk Ridge Campground - Walk-in Tent Site #152”

Elk Ridge Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Ridge Campground
Reviewed 14 September 2017

These tent sites (we stayed in 152) were surprisingly spaced with enough room that you weren't even able to hear your neighbors and each designated site consists of a bear box, good sized camp site pad, fire ring and a picnic table.
Also good was the fact the restrooms (CLEAN!) were close-by and most of the sites are within 50 yards of the parking lot with a wagon to help ferry your goods.
They do frequent patrols mainly to keep people from leaving food and coolers out and just a week before our visit at end of August Park employees had to remove a bear.
This is an absolutely beautiful park and campground.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

The last time I camped at Elk Ridge campground was over 15 years ago! In that time the place has made some great improvements! The playground makes it a great place for kids! Having a designated sink in the laundry room for doing dished was an awesome plus! I couldnt recommend this place enough! The kids had no problem catching dinner down at the lake! The only downside and it was pretty minor was how often the park rangers drove through doing patrols. I had nothing to worry about but it still seemed a little excessive.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Scott I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Amazing! Most amazing views and beautiful campground. The facilities were great too. I would recommend! We had the walk in campsite and although the sites were a bit close together, the trees gave privacy. They have large roller bins to haul gear over to the site too, very convenient.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were there for the 4th July and loved it. Great site with electric hookups. Water is available and they have a central building with showers ($1 for 4 minutes), flushed toilets and laundry.
Some sites has more share than others, lots of trees and easy to level.
The only comment I would have is that that the rangers tend to circulate a lot which seemed an exaggeration but nothing bad.
Highly recommend the place

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank P_Biker_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights : 22$/night + 10$ reservation fee + 7$/day State park entrance; electricity included. Located within the Ridgway State park boundaries (hence the state park entry fee), 5 miles from the small town of Ridgway and 20 miles from the larger town of Montrose. There are 2 other campgrounds within the state park boundaries : Dakota Terrace Campground (80 sites, electricity only) and Pa-co-chu-puk campground (80 sites, full hookup but just beside Hwy550).
Elk Ridge campground(100 sites in 2 loops) is the best choice of the 3 campgrounds : large scenic sites, a lot of trees, quiet, enough sanitary stations and water faucets, central laundry and showers (1$/4 minutes), central dump station. Short trails begin at the campground. Swimming possible at the Beach house plaza in Ridgeway reservoir.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elk Ridge Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Ridge Campground

Address: Ridgway, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ridgway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing