We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool little hotel in the middle of it all!”
Review of Teller House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teller House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We got a room with 2 beds and a private bath.

When we arrived (we had reservations), our name was on the door and the keys to our room inside. The beds were very comfortable, and everything was very clean and very well maintained.

They have rooms without a private bath also, and I had to go into the shared bath once and it was also very clean and well maintained.

The hotel itself is on the 2nd floor above restaurants and shops, so you do have to walk up a flight of steps. That being said, when you come down to street level, you are right smack dab in the middle of Silverton's main (paved) street, close to many restaurants and shops. We were able to find parking right in front of the hotel.

The decor is victorian? (I'm bad with timeframes) and it is well done and clean. They have water in the "lobby" area which is good since the climate is very dry. The hotel staff was very courteous and was eager to help us with whatever requests we had.

The room was very nice with large windows facing the main street.. they were very high windows with top windows also, which, at night you could lay in bed and see the sky and the stars out of them.

I surely would stay here again if/when I would visit Silverton again.

They did have free wifi here.

Room Tip: You can get a room with our without a private bath... we got one with, but the shared bath is also c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Such a lovely hotel in small town Colorado. Certainly a throw-back in time. Don't go expecting flat screen TVs and high speed internet... you're not going to find that here. However, you will find rooms with incredibly high ceilings, nice furnishings, and wonderful hosts. This place is a keeper... I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for a lovely view of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrBillK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This is a small establishment in one of the many historic buildings in Silverton, short on amenities (no TV, on-site restaurant doesn't open until 4 p.m. and doesn't serve breakfast) but long on peace and quiet, atmosphere, and overall comfort. Service is casual and extremely friendly, more B&B-like than hotel-like, and our room, though small, met our needs well. We greatly enjoyed our stay there. The only problem is that not merely the guest rooms, but also the front desk, are on the second floor, up a remarkably long set of stairs with no elevator. This shouldn't be a problem for most guests, but my post-surgical knees weren't wild about the idea. The young proprietor works hard to satisfy, and goes the extra mile to help bring up luggage, etc., but you yourself will have to climb the stairs, no getting around it. All in all, it's highly recommended for most people seeking peace and quiet (meaning most people who want to spend a night in Silverton), but if you have bad knees or hips, it may not be the best available option.

Room Tip: Some but not all rooms have en-suite bathrooms; choose your specific room carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canbelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed the atmosphere here! Loved the furniture and decor in the rooms and lobby. Only complaint would be the mattress. Felt love me a low end spring mattress. On a side note - Be aware all rooms are second floor and the is no elevator - very steep stairs.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The Teller House was the perfect place for us to stay before our ski trip. Prices were reasonable, rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was very friendly. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.0 km away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
71 reviews
23.1 km away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
21.3 km away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
393 reviews
24.6 km away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.5 km away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#2 of 7 in Silverton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teller House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teller House

Address: 1250 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range: $126 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teller House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Teller House combines the tasteful Victorian aesthetics of the late 1800's with modern amenities, such as FREE WiFi, Cable TV in Hospitality/Meeting Room, Room Service from on-site restaurant. Our guests experience an alchemy of Victorian charm and gracious hospitality, with concierge services. We will provide you with a small refrigerator in your room, if needed. We also will carry your luggage/bags in and out for you. We are located in the heart of Silverton, within walking distance of restaurants, museums, and many Summer/Winter activities! Please review our amenities, and come stay with us at the historic Teller House Hotel in beautiful Silverton, Colorado! We are at your service..."Please make yourself at home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Teller House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teller House Hotel Silverton
Teller Hotel Silverton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing