We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still renovating and some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Although my room, INSIDE, was quite nice with good bed, I found the pricing confusing and perhaps inaccurate. In addition,two separate occasions the hotel had no water for a long time into the rooms. It seems to have been purchased by a family and there are a few English speaking issues. I think they are trying hard and working hard, but it has a ways to go for a smooth operation. Tip: Be SURE you have your printed confirmation as to price to avoid any 'irregularities' with your bill.

Room Tip: Second floor, rear best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Dear elisabethm,

Thank you for sharing your Super 8 Cromwell experience with the Trip Advisor community. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and supplying all of the things our guests need to relax and be themselves. However, this time we fell short and would like to offer our sincere apologies for the lack of water during your stay. During your stay, we were in the process of upgrading our hot water heaters and are proud to announce that they are now installed and running. Your review, which highlights strengths and areas for improvement, is extremely valuable as it allows us to improve future guest experiences. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the chance to make it up to you should your travels bring you back to Cromwell.

Kind Regards,
Akash Patel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

I stayed there for 6 nights with my mother. We had a renovated room with 2 queen beds, nice size refrigerator (larger than the Hampton Inn had in St.Louis), microwave, decent TV, and everything we needed. I did go to Walmart and get 20 extra hangers for 2 bucks but other than that the room had everything we needed especially really comfortable beds. Cleaning service was also great and they very nicely waited until we vacated the room in the day as we were there mostly at night and for a short time here and there. The lobby could have been vacuumed a little more but to their defense they were moving furniture in as they were renovating. The breakfast was just continental (with hot waffles you could make yourself) and very nice for a continental breakfast. It was all we needed. For the price, I'd stay there again the next time I'm in Cromwell for sure.

Room Tip: Just ask to get a newly renovated room because to my knowledge most of them are now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Mgt, Manager at Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hello Laura, You were a delight to have. We sure hope to see you again the next time you come back to cromwell. We are hoping to be completed sometime in August 2017, wish you all the best. Thanks for the Cookie :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The motel is renovating, but we haven't experienced anything
that's slowed us down. Staff has been friendly and accommodating to us.
Restaurants & stores are nearby; Some Middletown restaurants also deliver.
91 & bus routes connect to it, so it's easy to get on the move.

We have a single room, not updated yet, but clean. Housekeeping is well-mannered, and accommodating to our unusual schedules.

Would I stay here again? Yes, definitely.
Have I recommended it to friends? Also yes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emkayhaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Mgt, Manager at Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hello! thanks for the honest heartfelt review. We are glad you enjoyed our growing pains of renovations. we hope to be completed sometime in august 2017. Come by and see/stay with us again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Hotel is remodeling and because I voice displeasure in check in policy they placed me in the oldest dirtiest room they could find.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Renard X V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Mgt, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Hello Renard, In response to your review, we would like to set the record straight on the chain of events of that particular evening. 2 Employees of the hotel, and the Owner witnessed and overheard your condescending attitude, combative demeanor towards the agent about providing a card for incidentals which is a requirement of all guests of the hotel and is clearly stated among all booking channels and front desk area. We had given the option of allowing you to cancel at no fee, and you could relocate to a different hotel without such incidental hold, Which you declined. The owner had even stated, that if you weren't happy with the hotel you could leave at no charge, no penalty. But you had chose to stay.

The room in question was not dirty, it was not yet renovated, and the particular room type you had booked was not available in renovated section of the hotel as it is a limited quantity of 8 or so.

We strive to provide the best customer service and the best rooms possible during the renovation process.

We do apologize, and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

The bed was great and furnishings all updated -- very comfortable. However, we had to call to get the tv working and then called to get the remote working -- so a bit disruptive. Nothing major but quality contol could be improved. Other than that, all good for an overnight

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Cloverbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Mgt, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Hello, thank you for the honest review. As with any business or private home owner who goes through a renovation things happen, and slip past us. But when brought to our attention we quickly acknowledge and address whatever issue that may be. We apologize, and are working everyday for a better Super 8.
Thank you, and Sorry again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
0.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Cromwell
85 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
4.8 km away
Days Inn Berlin Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
9.5 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
10 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown

Address: 1 Industrial Park Rd, Cromwell, CT 06416-1031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Cromwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Cromwell/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Cromwell / Middletown Hotel Cromwell
Super Eight Cromwell
Cromwell Super 8
Cromwell Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing