We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice treat”
Review of Toby Cottage

Toby Cottage
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 24/07
20:00
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We downright adore this cosy cottage restaurant in the Surrey village of Ripley, which was originally built in the 16th century. After surviving former lives as a dwelling and an antique shop selling Toby jugs, the Toby Cottage Restaurant was converted to a restaurant in 1979 and has been pleasing local gourmands ever since. The penultimate romantic restaurant, Toby Cottage is perfect for celebrations and family occasions and has original oak beams, a cocktail bar perfect for sneaky aperitifs, and a sensational wine list to compliment its English/Continental menu. Don't miss the smoked duck breast with mango chutney; the deep fried Brie with cranberry sauce; and the classic beef Wellington with mushrooms, pate and Burgundy sauce.
Reviewed 28 November 2020

This was our second visit to this restaurant in 2020 and it was very good . On arrival you are treated as a special customer even though we are not regulars. We had a nice table at the end of the restaurant.

The meal was delicious. We started with scallops which are always favourite of ours.

My Beef Wellington and my wife's venison main corses were superb and very filling in my case. This was rounded off nicely by a plentiful choice from the sweet trolley.

We certainly hope to return in 2021 for another special occasion.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ge0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

Amazing place, amazing service and amazing food! If your undecided on going then go here! The guys that work here are amazing, they are accommodating/ friendly and on hand to help whatever you want! I’m not from ripley but these little gems are very hard to find in this day an age, yes it may not be modern decor but the flavours make up for it. Thank you very much to all of the team you made our Sunday afternoon much better!

Date of visit: October 2020
5  Thank rebeccapZ6368CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

We stopped by Toby Cottage based on their positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. The menu on the website was up to date and features a wide variety of starters and mains. They also have an extensive list of daily specials. The food was excellent; the fillet steak was cooked perfectly to medium (as requested)!! The portion sizes were good, which let us enjoy three courses without feeling overeaten.
To top it off, the waiting staff are very friendly and attentive, which made the dining experience very enjoyable. Special mention must be given to Matthew, who did a great job serving us on his first week on the job.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank 262serainab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

A good variety of tapas for casual dinning with friends. Plenty of food choose and drinks. Good value for money.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank leeexeter2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

First time back to the Toby since coming out of lockdown to celebrate my son’s birthday, as always food and service excellent , very good social distancing, plenty of hand sanitisers. We felt very relaxed and comfortable and enjoyed a lovely evening with our family, will be back very soon.

Date of visit: August 2020
3  Thank 362veronicaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Toby Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.