We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Red Carpet Inn(New Milford)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rocky River Inn(New Milford)(Great Value!)
US$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homestead Inn(New Milford)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$890
US$863
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Litchfield Inn(Litchfield)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winvian(Morris)
US$699
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Interlaken Inn(Lakeville)
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newbury Inn(Brookfield)
US$73
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Inn(Salisbury)
US$345
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
154
21
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
21
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter starbucknew englandappalachian trailother guestsliving roomvisiting kentdelicious teathe perfect hostrestaurant recommendationslike coming homebreakfast was excellentwealth of knowledgebeautiful yardwarm hospitalityus feel at homewithin easy walking distancestate park
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Starbucks Inn
An elegant Inn in a very good position in Kent, which is a charming small, New England town.
The Inn is spacious and comfortable and has a really beautiful outlook at the back where the breakfast room is located.
There are several good restaurants within walking distance. Note though that in October they do not all open every day.
Peter, the host, is an interesting guy and looked after us very well. Breakfasts were excellent.
Tea is provided in the afternoon but it would be nice to be able to make a hot drink at other times. Just providing a vacuum flask of hot water and tea bags/coffee would be all it takes.
.........on the other hand Peter does provide sherry for his guests in the lounge so things weren’t so bad!
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here.
Bryan and Ann D
UK

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Kent. It's a lovely area and the town is full of character. The Inn is just what you would expect; a charming clapboard house in a large garden. Peter Starbuck is a delightful host and we found the accommodation spacious, comfortable and clean. There are very good restaurants in town. 'Smoked' is new and serves great food. 'The Fife and Drum' is full of New England charm; busy with pretty good food.

We would have preferred some choice at breakfast, with some simple uncooked alternatives.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room in the very nice extension is large and airy - lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Afternoon tea is tea from a pot, small sandwiches followed by homemade cakes and scones, not green tea from a thermos and shop bought cookies.
The living room felt like a museum and although it was a cold rainy day the fire was not lit, so we did not linger in there.
Our room at the back of the house was a good size but the radiator (cold) was full of dust.
The bathroom was tiny with just a shower and toilet and was grubby with a stained shower curtain. The hand basin was in the bedroom so no privacy and had no shelf space for washbags etc.
We could hear conversation and TV noise from the next room.
Breakfast was ok but no choice.
Peter didn't seem to be a natural host and his appearance from the kitchen in the morning in grubby trousers and unshaven was poor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcountrybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Starbuck Inn from 18 July to 3 August 2011. This was our first visit to New England and the Starbuck Inn was everything and more that we thought it would be. The location is excellent and there are so many places to visit, things to do and activities in the locale. Breakfasts are a real speciality of the house. The rooms are clean, well decorated, spacious and extremely comfortable. There is an ‘en suite’ in all rooms and high quality linen is used throughout. A high tea is waiting for you at the end of the day which is an absolute delight. The Starbuck Inn ensures that the ‘little things’ which are important to your stay are taken care off.

Peter is an outstanding Inn Keeper and a mine of information on the local area and beyond and offers hospitality to a high standard. Involve him in a conversation and he won’t disappoint and he and Heather (Head of Housekeeping and Peter’s co-star in the Starbuck Inn web site video) have the ability to make you feel completely at home.

We can recommend the Starbuck Inn without a moment’s hesitation. We will return as soon as possible – hopefully next summer. I guess that’s the best recommendation there is.
And if you read this Peter – thanks again. We had a great and memorable holiday.

Tina and Rob, UK

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina_Rob366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

While visiting cousins in the area, I decided to find a space of my own, and couldn't have been more pleased. My accomodations were warm and welcoming - great bed, great shower, and charming decor. Although all the other guests were couples, I felt right at home, and all the other guests were as pleased as I was with the Starbuck Inn. Peter, the owner of the place, was perfect - there to answer any and all questions, but also happy to leave us to ourselves. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews