We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, can accommodate a large group with kids”

Tavern at the Armory
Ranked #22 of 160 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Very good breakfast choices, tasty food, great servers, very patient with kids. Service was a little slow, and food was a bit expensive.

Thank mgetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary N, General Manager at Tavern at the Armory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you. We love families with children and have special menus for them. Depending on the time of the morning on a weekend we can get pretty busy but for the most part we get the food out fast and fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We LOVE this place!!! Carl, Maria, Amy, & Rita always treat us like family. Great food, great drinks, GREAT people!
Nice place for family gatherings...we spent Christmas Eve at the Inn and it will now be a family tradition! They are why we come back....

Thank Trisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary N, General Manager at Tavern at the Armory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Well belated Merry Christmas from all of us at the Inn. All of the staff you mentioned are fixtures at the Inn for years and they are great, great employees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Had a family luncheon here last week. Server was very sweet and friendly. Good Food (not great) and a little overpriced for our area.

Thank votfinoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary N, General Manager at Tavern at the Armory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on great service and I am glad you were not disappointed. We try and price ourselves similar to our competition so I am sorry that you thought we were a bit high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Chef James Mandeville offered a wonderful dinner special on the evening I had dined with my family. The prosciutto wrapped chicken was cooked perfectly and the pan jus was full of great flavors.. polenta was nice and creamy and added a nice touch . Can't wait to dine in again when in the area we will definitely be back

Thank chef7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary N, General Manager at Tavern at the Armory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

I will thank James for his creativity and his passion for great food. Thank you for commenting on him . He is a great addition to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a quite and romantic diner at the Tavern at the Armory on a Monday night. We had a table by the fireplace and our server Kim was great.The menu is higher than most but the quality and taste are worth it. We plan to return next time we want a romantic night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KENNETH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, Gary Nagler: General Manager at Tavern at the Armory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

The Tavern is a perfect location for a romantic dinner so I am so pleased you found your new little great away. The fireplaces throughout the restaurant lends to a relaxed and carefree night out.

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavern at the Armory also viewed

 

Been to Tavern at the Armory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing