We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of 1833
Nearby Hotels
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Mystic Groton(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$139
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler's Inn(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mystic)
US$95
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
172
24
3
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
24
3
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsveranda roompeach roompancakesb bcream sherrysticky bunsinn keepersgourmet breakfastentire houseoriginal ownerromance packageother guestsnew englandjacuzzi tubmystic areaevanantiques
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Cupola room for the weekend, to celebrate our 22 anniversary. The choice of a B and B couldn't have been better. The home is charming; filled with antiques and collectibles to look at, at every turn. The bed was comfortable, and the room cozy and stocked with Sherry! The breakfast was so good we were wishing the wonderful hosts would cook us dinner. Can't say enough about how great a time we had. THe hosts, Robert and Evan are right there to meet your every need, yet they are never "in your face", they just have a quiet presence for whatever you may need. We loved it and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

As mentioned in the other reviews, the hosts were amazing - warm, welcoming and charming. The house was great - chock full of curio's. Breakfasts were also interesting; something different each morning - from brushetta, to pineapple crumble.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stumbled across the House of 1833 via the Rough Guide to New England, while working out where we would stop off between NYC and Boston on our (still ongoing) honeymoon. And we are so glad that we did.
As some other reviewers have found, superlatives simply fail. We have travelled fairly extensively across Europe and the US and, without a shadow of a doubt, this is most positive experience either of us have had of paid accommodation. We were invited into Evan and Robert's delightful, esoteric home as friends, not as customers, from the very second we arrived. They are simply two of the most naturally hospitable and generous people we have encountered. Our room (The Oak Room) was a delight - like the house itself, full of superb period features and antiques, yet without any sense of stuffiness or formality: a place we felt immediately at home in and able to completely relax and unwind. Throughout our stay, Evan and Robert showered us with kindnesses: sherry and cookies in our room, a bottle of gorgeous white wine, a special dessert for after our 'Mystic Pizza' movie viewing on the night we stayed in - they could not have been more considerate and generous, or less imposing on our personal time together. Their signature cooked breakfasts were an exquisite start to the day. The gardens around their home are a verdant tribute to the love that has so clearly been devoted to them. It was a real wrench to leave.
We cannot speak of the House of 1833 highly enough - it was a pleasure and a privilege to be Evan and Robert (and Buddy's) guests.
Chris and Christine from Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

For the past three years, my partner and I have been using reviews on Tripadvisor to plan our holidays in the US and abroad. We have found the reviews very reliable which was why we were shocked that this B&B was rated so highly. We agree with most of the reviews about the charming personalities of the hosts. The one we had most contact with was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Mystic Conn. Area. But the place is a mess. The gardens were overgrown. The house was loaded up with a dizzying array of grimy antiques. The whole property is on the brink of decline (their website pictures must be 20 years old). Our room – the Veranda- was spacious, and the bed was comfortable; the bathroom floor and tub were clean, BUT the sheets, towels, and blankets were old and stank. If the basic necessities are substandard how can anything else be tolerable? There was also a horrible rancid smell coming from the kitchen that permeated the house. The downstairs bathroom smelled like a urinal. We didn’t stay for breakfast –as you can imagine we couldn’t wait to get out of there. We feel that we learned a lot. Usually when we read reviews if there are one or two bad ones, we overlook them – thinking they were written by rigid complainers – from here on in, we’re going to pay attention to ALL reviews. This was an expensive mistake. We paid $280 for one night. Next time we will make sure we see the room before we check in and give our credit card!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psycheNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan1833, Owner at House of 1833, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We were so sorry you were disappointed with your visit to this grand landmark house. All of the photos are current and, in fact, most of the photos submitted on this site are from this past month.

These gardens have been featured in national periodicals and magazines from New York to Boston to Europe and in many books on 'English country gardens'. The creation of a 19th century fantasy English garden is a very studied one; which has taken nearly 40 years of 'select' gardening to develop (many of the featured plant material is comprised of 19th century heirloom plants and species native to Japan, Thailand, and India). This extraordinary gardening 'vision' and composition which does not depend on mulch and discrete shrub plantings and annuals is challenging to duplicate.

The home is filled with many of the original antiques; as an example, the original rosewood square grand piano in its original finish was made in 1833 and resides in the original 'music' room. This is the 'real' Mystic; filled with a rich, authentic, and vibrant history.

Fresh basil from the garden as part of a pesto cream sauce, Tuscan breakfast pie with fresh squash and tomatoes, our Catalonian 'breakfast bruschetta' lighty brushed with olive oil and primavera souffle, or our French stuffed 'French toast' with native blueberries and strawberries are only a few of the many 'kitchen garden' fragrances emanating from the master chef's kitchen as he works to create our 'glorious' full country-gourmet breakfasts

We do our best to encourage our guests to truly relax and enjoy this singular experience which is very different from a commercial hotel. We were terribly sorry these guests were not able to.

(As anecdote: the downstairs bathroom is available to all of our guests throughout the day, and although checked periodically...I can't speak to their observation at that particular moment. There has never been a complaint in this regard.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the Peach Room at the House of 1833. We truly felt like we had traveled back in time. The raised antique bed made you feel like you were in a fairy tale. The high ceilings, fireplace (even though it was summer so we didn't use it, of course), private porch, huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub, variety of magazines to read, sherry, etc. made it a wonderful room to stay in. There is a very small tv, but we didn't turn it on.

As everyone else reported, this place has a TON of antiques in it. Since it was summer, we got to eat outdoors on the veranda, which we greatly enjoyed and allowed for beautiful views of the gardens. They have a dog, Buddy, who they described at "Three years going on three months". Buddy is quarantined to the kitchen for the most part, if you're afraid of dogs, but don't worry about Buddy because he is really just a big puppy. There is a large unheated swimming pool that is also available to guests; we took advantage of it both days. It was cold, but you got used to the temperature quickly enough.

Robert is the owner who does all the cooking and landscaping. Wow. The food here was fantastic. We were lucky to be here for a Sunday, which is pancake day. You get to choose from many different wonderful flavors. The Saturday breakfast was a sort of breakfast pizza, which was also quite yummy. There was always fresh fruit, orange juice, and some sort of sweet starter (sticky buns one morning, bread pudding the other). Both were yummy.

Evan is the owner who deals with the guests the most, and it suits him perfectly. He has information about town, the history of pretty much everything, and wonderful stories. He's a fascinating, fun person to talk to.

We loved Mystic and the House of 1833, and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The peach room is on the first floor, so no stairs (other than the ones to get into the home) are required. Keep in mind it is difficult to get a wifi signal here - but you can get one in the parlor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeners815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews