We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Soft Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Josiah Cowles Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Plantsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 October 2014

If you like soft and cozy, this is your stop. Rooms were large and clean. Beds were extremely soft, not your standard, I swear this was stuffed by hand. Soft drinks and water in the fridge downstairs, coffee maker set up for use at anytime. Breakfast was amazing. You start off with fresh, sweet fruit & yogurt was on ice if you wished to have some. Homemade pancakes from scratch and sausage, as much as you wanted. Chocolate cake set out for an evening snack, what else could you want. The owners were great, they were gracious and friendly. Thank you Mary and Dave for a Wonderful Stay.

Room Tip: Captains room has the bathroom attached, soft sheet and warm bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2014

On the Captain Josiah Coles Place in Southington, CT

My visits to Connecticut are especially enjoyable ever since I found the Captain Josiah Coles Place, a beautifully maintained 270+ year old B&B home in Plantsville, a part of Southington, CT. Dave and Mary Potter, the gracious proprietors, are welcoming and interesting conversationalists. I made two round trips from California in less than a month. I am inclined to travel to Connecticut for no other reason than to enjoy this marvelous old house and their company!

Bob Furber

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My first time staying at a B&B . I stayed in the Captains room, which was very warm and cozy. The softest sheets ever!! Mary and Dave were very kind and welcoming. Great first time experience. The home is beautiful inside and out. I would highly recommend to anyone. Looking forward to the next visit. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My daughter and I were touched by the kindness and sincerity of Mary and David. It felt like we were visiting friends of friends. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and we felt very much at home, which was especially nice as we were on the last day of a week-long college tour. They recommended the perfect restaurant for fresh seafood - the last for us before heading home to the heartland. They were eager to please, and knowing that I was gluten-sensitive, made gluten-free pancakes topped with David's own maple syrup (David taps his maple trees and boils the sap down to syrup himself).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuisineKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is the second time we’ve stayed at this lovely B&B, and it was just as warm and inviting an experience as the first time. Dave and Mary are very gracious, welcoming hosts. They are very sincere and accommodating. They made our stay one of the most pleasant aspects of our visit. We’ve stayed in both main bedrooms now, and they are equally charming and comfortable and include all the amenities you could need. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the pillows were the best we’ve encountered in a great deal of traveling. All made for a great night’s sleep. Breakfast each day was wonderful and substantial. Both Dave and Mary are good cooks. We will likely visit this area of CT again because we have relatives in the area. And when we do, we will definitely stay at this wonderful place. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Captain Josiah Cowles Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Josiah Cowles Place

Address: 184 Marion Ave, Plantsville, Southington, CT 06479-1404
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southington > Plantsville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plantsville
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Josiah Cowles Place 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Josiah Cowles Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing