We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Josiah Cowles Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Plantsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2015

From the very beginning, Mary and David made our trip such a pleasure! Making the reservation was easy-peasy and when it finally came to our actual stay, it just got better from there. The place was easy to find, in a great location (right near the ramps for I-84 going in either direction) and was comfy-cozy. The house site was established in 1730 and the red house is very large and well-maintained with many wonderful old and new features. The yard is huge, beautifully planted and has a large in-ground pool. We stayed in the upstairs suite, and had our own small hallway with a door, two rooms and a shared hallway bathroom: One bedroom was large and one small, with lots of windows and beautiful, original wide-planked floors. Both rooms had flat screen TVs, air conditioning, fans and a wonderful breeze, so my friend slept with her windows open and was quite comfortable. I chose the AC and ceiling fan, since I tend to run warm. Both rooms had dressers, but not much closet space, however, we didn't find that to be problematic. The rooms were decorated simply and the larger bedroom in the suite had a small table with two sitting chairs, as well as side tables next to the bed with lamps provided throughout the room. And, the room was nicely wall-papered. The bathroom was small, but we shared it with no trouble. Extra towels and washcloths were kept stocked in the cupboard space. The carpeted stairs were appropriately squeaky (loved that!) and the hearth in the breakfast room was very old and the center of attention for the room. The adjacent sitting room was lovely with fairly modern furnishings including two red couches, but it went well with the space. No doilies in the living area either! What can I say about breakfast? Everything. Cold juice, bowls of fresh fruit, freshly brewed single-serve coffee, HOMEMADE maple syrup from their own maple trees (!!!), pancakes, bacon, sausage, made to order scrambled eggs with ham and cheese, baked french toast, English muffins! Not all at once, mind you, but a very hearty, multi-course, well-prepared breakfast that varied every day. Hats off to both Mary and David's culinary skills -- and their warmth and graciousness. They often sat down with us and chatted as we enjoyed our food and their company. Our stay was for 3 nights and we came and went as we pleased as we attended our high school reunion and had multiple events for several days. There was never any fuss and we immediately felt at home throughout our stay. They were very accommodating at every point in time and didn't mind if we needed breakfast early or later depending on our itinerary. There is no question, whatsoever, that we will stay there again. Truly a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The neighboring upstairs room in the other hallway was large, nicely furnished and it had a large ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable facility in historic B&B. Innkeepers are very friendly and interested in assuring your enjoyment during stay. We really appreciate their adjusting their breakfast recipes to meet food alergies.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We stayed at this home while attending a college graduation in a nearby town. The home is over 275 years old and has quite a history. The room was nicely appointed and one of only two available. The host and hostess could not have been nicer or more accommodating and the breakfasts were wonderful and made to order. A great place to stay although a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B last week, when we went on a short trip passing through New England. Both Dave and Mary the owners met us with open arms and were very gracious hosts even though we gave them very short notice and arrived late at night. Their home was very warm and inviting. The bed and accommodations were super comfortable. Learning about the history of the house and the area was a perfect compliment for our short trip through New England. And the sweet surprise in the morning was the hot cakes with home made maple syrup from the maple trees on the property. Very Yummy and Highly Recommended!

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

This is a Colonial-period home, but it has lots of contemporary amenities, such as extremely comfortable beds. The Potters were excellent hosts, full of suggestions for our genealogical expedition, and they also made a delicious pancake breakfast --with maple syrup created from their own trees! My daughters and I had a wonderful time here, and we strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two large bedrooms available and one smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Candace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantsville
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
2.7 km away
Residence Inn Southington
Residence Inn Southington
#2 of 8 in Southington
148 reviews
2.3 km away
Econo Lodge Plantsville
Econo Lodge Plantsville
#1 of 1 in Plantsville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Josiah Cowles Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Josiah Cowles Place

Address: 184 Marion Ave, Plantsville, Southington, CT 06479-1404
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southington > Plantsville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plantsville
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Josiah Cowles Place 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Josiah Cowles Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing