We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
116
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea villa private pool tai chi every evening our honeymoon outdoor bathroom comfortable bed stayed nights overlooking the ocean qi gong wellness luxury privacy flowers tub relaxation nature
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

My partner and I were lucky enough to spend two nights in the Sea Villa at Shunyata.

Amazing location overlooking the ocean, huge infinity pools and plenty of space that makes you feel like there is no one else around.

The room was fantastic and we loved lounging on the daybed, reading books and catching the sunset.

The food was delicious and fresh. We had full board, vegan menu. The best tasting vegan food we ate in Bali. The chefs really know plant based food.

We also loved the focus here on sustainability and preserving nature.

We recommend to anyone searching for a peaceful retreat with a dash of luxury.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Mal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Dear Mal P,

thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the service we offered.

We are always strive to make your vacation here at Shunyatas a special one, and glad to hear that we achieved our goal :)

We would be happy welcoming you again here at our little paradise!

Thank you again,
Management,
Shunyata Villas Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Everything was just perfect - room, pool, view, food, service... We enjoyed our stay very very much, and we would definitely pick this amazing villa for second time, if we will go to visit Bali again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rola296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Rola,
we are very happy hearing that you enjoyed your stay here at Shunyatas! We do our best to make your stay a special one, and are always pleased to hear that we achieved our aim :)
We hope that we may welcome you again here at Shunyatas.

Kind regards,
Management Team
Shunyata Villas Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I found Shunyata Villas through a Google search and weren’t really sure what to expect. After spending a week in Seraya enjoying the food, the spectacular views, the massages, the villa, and the incredible staff, we would HIGHLY RECOMMEND anyone stay at Shunyata. The drive from Denpasar is long (between 2-3 hours), but the value that you get is one of the best you will find for a villa on the entire island.

There are only a few villas to choose from, and we stayed in the SEA Villa. Everything is essentially outdoors except for the bedroom, which has a very comfortable bed and AC. We spent most of our time in the outdoor lounge area, the private pool, and the shared pool. The villa sits right on the ocean so you hear the loud waves crash along the shore throughout the day and night. Very cool! The staff and food at Shunyata are some of the best you will find on Bali. We saw the people more as friends than employees by the end of our trip. You can have meals in the main restaurant or have them brought to your villa. Both are great options depending on how you are feeling. We recommend doing the full board if you are just planning to stay around the villas - you really don’t want to miss out on the food. Some other recommendations for your stay are listed below.

1. Cooking class with Kartika - This is as authentic a cooking class as you will find on Bali. Kartika owns a restaurant with his family, and he takes you to the market in the morning to buy the ingredients. Then, you make a bunch of courses with him and his family in original Balinese fashion. So incredibly delicious. The entire experience took about 6 hours.
2. Balinese massages at Shunyata - These don’t need much explanation. You won’t be disappointed.
3. Candlelight dinner - Ask management about this. It was one of the most special meals we had at Shunyata.
4. Sorga Chocolate Factory - This is about 20 minutes from Shunyata. If you are a chocolate lover or want to learn how chocolate is made, this is a perfect experience for you. You can do a tour and tasting for a very small charge. The chocolate is fantastic and you can taste every flavor.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DSHBOLDLY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear DSHBOLDLY007,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very glad hearing that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we could come up to your expectations.

Furthermore, the management team as well as the staff is very happy to hear that we could convey our vision from a familiar and amicable atmosphere, as we are convinced treating our guests not just as customers, but also as friends will lead to a very special experience for everyone involved!

Again, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and maybe we will see each other again,

Daniel
Management
Shunyata Villas Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Wonderful Place! Amazing views! Delicious food! Totally relaxing! Fantastic massages! It’s been a long time since i was so wonderful relaxed after this holidays in such a place! Worth to recommend If you Need and want Switch off completely!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Hey Joanna,
thank you for your feedback :)
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time here at our villas. We always strive for making our guests holiday as relaxing and restful as possible.
Also we are glad that we could come up to your expectations and maybe we will meet each other here again in future days.

Thanks again and all the best!
Shunyata Villas Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We can only agree with the many positive reviews: the Shunyata Villas are beautifully situated with fantastic views of the sea. The whole complex is extremely high quality and luxurious. The rooms are really "honeymoon-like". The employees and especially Manuel (one of the managers) are extremely friendly, caring and very helpful. All are very eager to prepare their guests a wonderful time! The resort is also a great base for various activities away from Ubud etc... Among others: various temple facilities, rice fields and trips to the back-country. We can also highly recommend the Balinese cooking class with “Kartika” (book through the hotel). This was one of our most beautiful experiences in Bali in a very authentic environment (in the Warung Baruna owned by the cook) with a very nice person Kartika.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BaFo53111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Wow, thanks so much for your kind words! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. :-) We will also forward your feedback to Kartika, he liked you very much and he´s still speaking about you. :-) All the very best to you guys!!! Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews