We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, amazing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Residence Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, amazing service!”
Reviewed 18 February 2017

After much deliberation on where to go for our honeymoon, we chose to stay here at the Residence, and it was the best decision we had made. The hotel itself was beautiful, great views, lovely beach, amazing rooms but the one thing that really stood out at this hotel was the service. The best service we have ever had. Every single employee at this hotel was fantastic. Very polite, very cheery, always at your services - absolutely no fault! I don't think I have ever met friendlier people. I can't remember everyones name individually - but the one person that stood out was Hafiz! He was absolutely lovely. On the morning of our departure, we left early and saw Hafiz on the boat taxi to the airport. He wasn't his usual cheery self and seemed quiet. Having spoken to him we realised his father sadly passed away and he was travelling back home urgently. REGARDLESS of this tragic event, Hafiz still sat with us, made sure we got back safely, helped with our luggage. He just couldn't stop being so nice. He really has a big heart and is genuinely always willing to help. I am so happy to have stayed here and we had a tremendous honeymoon. I would recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Huts are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Dear G4R,

Many thanks for the fantastic review of your most memorable experience with us on trip advisor. We would like to thank you for choosing our resort.

I am pleased to note that you really appreciate the service of our staff Hafiz, I am sure he would be thrilled to have been part of creating wonderful memories of your time on the island and reading your kind comments.

Once again I thank you for your fantastic feedback and we would all be so delighted to welcome you back again to The Residence Maldives.

Warm regards,

M. Sundaram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    82
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
127
514
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makkah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2017

It's was really wonderful experience and I will repeat it again as soon as possible but the price is a little bit expensive. If you can do a little bit discount it will be very interesting.Thanks a lot for every things

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sweetmoon241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Dear sweetmoon241

Thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community your wonderful experience at The Residence Maldives.

Please let me know by email your next vacation plan on gm-maldives@theresidence.com and I would definitely assist you with the best rates.

We thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back at The Residence Maldives.

Warm regards,

M. Sundaram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We have just returned from 8 days at The Residence and have had the most fantastic time - we are so sad to return to reality!

The transfers between Male and Koodoo, and then onto the island were seamless and facilitated by the Residence helpful and kind staff. The welcome drink and cool towels on the speedboat ride to the island were a lovely touch after such a long trip from London via Dubai.

The island is small, quiet and stunning. It is maintained beautifully by the grounds team who are constantly watering, pruning and tidying the paths. (and whom always say hello/good morning/good evening each and every time they see you - making for a very simple but special attention to customer service) There isn't a leaf out of place! There is a really peaceful feel to it, and the sheer ratio of staff to guests means that there is never any rush or hurry for anything, it is so relaxing. Perfect for a holiday to switch off totally.

We stayed in an over water villa which exceeded all of my expectations. It was beautifully furnished, with a huge comfortable bed, very spacious, great air conditioning, impeccibly clean with the most amazing views of the sunset from the bed and bathroom. The pictures just can't do it justice. I will not forget waking up to that vista every morning.

Sting rays, baby sharks, lion fish, flounders, porcupine fish and the occsional turtle could be found swimming under our deck, making for the most incredible snorkling right on your door step! Anything we needed or any questions we had were handelled quickly and effortlessly by our butler Francis - thank you once again for your hospitality.

The food was truly excellent - fresh, varied and creative. Service was very attentive and always with a smile. Breakfast was lovely - a huge and varied selection of western and eastern foods, cooked to order as well as to grab from the buffet. All eaten on the beach over looking the bay while the baby sharks whizz past you in the shallows - unforgettable!

Each evening there would be a theme for the main dining room such as Japenense (the sushi was delicious) or Arabian, or an alternative option served on the beach. The sunset BBQ was very good - rafts of fresh caught and grilled seafood (lobsters, crab, mussles, white fish) as well as meats and salads. The seafood pot was also very nice - you won't go hungry!

We would especially like to thank the wonderful Maitre D' - Hafiz and the chef James, for their wonderful hospitality and for introducing us to the traditional Maldivan breakfast of Tuna curry, fish salad and dahl (try it - it's fantastic, probably one of the best currys i've ever had!!)

We were so impressed by the fact that all of the staff go the extra mile to make suggestions and recommendations for food/drinks that you may like - not just sticking to what is on the menu at a given time. This is such a nice touch and really helps to enhance your experience of the Residence.

There are lots of water sports activities on offer and an excellent dive centre if you want to get a closer view of the reef. The Clarins spa was wonderful and has a vast array of great treatments to help you unwind after your journey - thank you to Peni for the most amazing massage and clay wrap - total heaven for a valentines day treat!

Thank you to all of the team for our wonderful holiday - we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the resort to our friends and family and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for the sunset over-water villa with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Dear aldon 1,

Thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community your wonderful experience at The Residence Maldives. No words can truly describe how much it means to us when guests take the time out of their day to write us a spectacular review.

I am pleased to note that you really enjoyed your spacious and well-kept villa and the dining experiences with sumptuous cuisine at the F&B outlets of the resort. We take great pride in making every holiday once in a lifetime experience.

Hafiz, Peni and James are thrilled to have been part of creating wonderful memories of your time on the island and reading your kind comments.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back at The Residence Maldives.

Warm regards,

M. Sundaram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

we stayed at the 2-bed room pool villa, it was spectacular! Services was very good except the late night when we checked-in when the guy was totally unprepared and not warming, but then the rest of our stays were really good! Spa and dining was also good but it will be better if we can have more choices on dining. overall great!!!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Dear Peggy M,

We appreciate the time you had taken to share your recent stay experience with us; every feedback provides us with an opportunity to constantly review and enhance our service commitment to our guests.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your two bedroom villa with direct access to the turquoise blue lagoon and the wonderful active house reef.

We are also happy to note that you also enjoyed The Spa and The dining options during your stay.

We have taken note of the challenges you had encountered during check - in and working on it. The experiences you had described are not characteristic of the level of service our team strive to provide and we apologize that we had not met your expectations on this area.

Thank you once again for the review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

M. Sundaram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

It became greatfull memory for us to stay at The Residence Mardives!!
Your service was very special for us and we were quite impressed with your kindness.
We Duda it to leave the hotel and wanted to stay more days.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank shingoy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Dear shingoy2017,

Many thanks for the fantastic review of your most memorable experience with us on trip advisor. We would like to thank you for choosing our resort.

Once again I thank you for your fantastic feedback and we would all be so delighted to welcome you back again at The Residence Maldives.

Warm regards,

M. Sundaram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falhumaafushi
39.3 km away
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resor...
#3 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
134 reviews
18.6 km away
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
#1 of 1 in Hadahaa Island
694 reviews
31.8 km away
Robinson Club Maldives
Robinson Club Maldives
#1 of 1 in Villingili
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 km away
Jumeirah Dhevanafushi
Jumeirah Dhevanafushi
#1 of 1 in Meradhoo Island
317 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Maldives

Property: The Residence Maldives
Address: Falhumaafushi 2088
Region: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Falhumaafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Price range (per night): $731 - $2,057
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Maldives is a world away from reality. This private island resort is anchored in one of the planet’s widest and deepest atolls, its sugary white sands lapped by sapphire blue waters, its pristine reefs the exclusive playground of its privileged guests. All 94 luxury villas lie on the beach or over the water, their traditional Maldivian architecture enhanced by anything from dedicated butlers to private pools. Dining is an international affair overlooking the Indian Ocean, The Spa by Clarins the only one you’ll find in the entire Maldives archipelago ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing