We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, peaceful and a blissful place to spend your vaca.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2017

A beautiful and peaceful place with an excellent team to help you serve in the best possible way. Amazing view with wonderful service. Vide range of cuisines. A place which can be visited again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank karans144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear karan144,

Many thanks for sharing with us your vacation memories on our sunny island paradise.

It is most delightful for me and the team to learn that you had an amazing holiday with us enjoying the varied offerings from cuisines to the warm hospitality extended from the team.

We hope to welcome you back to The Residence Maldives soon!


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

There can surely be no doubt this is an excellent luxury resort - just read the 500+ reviews on here! However, I suggest there are a few things to consider before you finalise the details of your booking.

Time Your Arrival Carefully:
Staff from The Residence will meet and greet you at Malé and arrange your onward transfer to the resort - but can only do what is possible. The Residence is 350km away from Malé, and you will travel on a scheduled domestic flight by Maldivian Airways to Koodoo before staff meet and greet you once again and whisk you away in the resort's own big speedboat. And this scheduled domestic flight is the potential problem. There are only so many flights each day, and there are only so many seats on the small aircraft. We arrived in Malé on time at 14:45, to be told we'd missed the 14:00 Maldivian flight, but were booked on the 17:40. Sadly it was delayed by technical problems, and eventually left at 19:40, meaning we finally arrived at The Residence close to 22:00. Staff made us very welcome on arrival, and had kept the dining room open for us, but it was still a long, hot and wearisome transfer journey. Some of those we waited with at Malé were not so lucky - and due to the Maldivian flight being fully booked had to stay a night in Malé and transfer the following morning. If I was to book here again, I'd choose a different international carrier and aim to arrive at Malé in the morning to give more time for the transfer process!

Go All Inclusive:
The Maldives is a small nation comprised entirely of tiny islands; which means everything you eat and drink has to be imported - and is expensive. All inclusive doesn't cover every eventuality, but will provide you with unlimited access to an impressive menu of drinks (cocktails, wine, beer, spirits, soft drinks) as well as a full three meals a day. It may seem expensive when you're booking - but when cocktails are $20+ each, and a lunchtime sandwich is much the same, unless you're going to be very frugal indeed, it's good value.

And Once You've Booked:
Electricity in the resort is 240v, and delivered through UK-style three-pin plugs, so British travellers won't need adapters. However - electricity in the villa goes off when you take the room key away - so make sure you charge your devices at night!
Temperatures are high day and night, and the dress code is casual throughout the resort - so you won't need many clothes. However, for the fine dining Falhumaa restaurant, gentlemen require long trousers - so you may want to pack at least one pair of them.

Finally:
Enjoy it - we did! Somehow the sunshine and tranquillity of the place seeped into our heart and soul in a way no other destination has so far managed.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DevonshireMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear DevonshireMike,

Sunny greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience.

It was a delight reading through how you had enjoyed your stay thoroughly basking in the warmth of the Maldivian sunshine.

We have looked into your feedback with regards to your domestic transfers and we always endeavor to arrange the best possible connections for our guests. We will also share your feedback with Island Aviation in order to improve the arrival experience.

We will also review the prices of our drinks and cocktails and will be introducing beverage packages to make it more conducive and affordable for our guests.

On behalf of the team, we thank you once again for sharing with us your review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

enjoyed the facilities clean room
quite enviroment,great service and helpfull service staff,
should try the falauhma resturant, great lobster and steak
really enjoyed the clear blue sea, lots of fishes to sea
the snorkling tour was great saw lots of fishes and stingrays

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 443minseokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear 443minseokk,

Many thanks for taking the time and sharing with us your review and stay experience at The Residence Maldives.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed the plush comforts of your villa, the food offerings as well as the friendly and warm service from our staff that is a trademark of “The Residence by Cenizaro” brand.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are currently staying at The Residence in Maldives and we are having the best time. Beautiful place, very helpful staff, excellent food and lovely weather - what more could you want.

The chefs have been catering to my boyfriend's love of South Indian food with bespoke breakfasts (in addition to the varied breakfast buffet that they serve every morning). They also shared some of their salad recipes with me that I was very grateful for.

The reception staff are hospitable when booking activities and our room has a contact number for a butler who is also very obliging.

Everyone is kind and says hello as you walk pass them and always offering a lift in their buggies to take you from the room to the dining room, if you don't fancy the short walk!

The room has a spacious layout with wonderful views. It is very clean and well decorated. You can simply walk down a few stairs from your balcony and step into the sea, and explore the fantastic house reefs nearby.

I've stayed at other 5* resorts in the Maldives where the rooms were equally wonderful, but what makes this place stand apart is the staff and the quality of the food.

We feel we are in paradise.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Sara T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share with us your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor while still vacationing in our island paradise.

It is a pleasure to read that you are enjoying every aspect of your holiday from the spacious comforts of your villa, to snorkeling expeditions at the house reef, and indulging in the various cuisines (especially South Indian food).

We do believe in providing for our guests with heartfelt service and warmth whilst personalizing the experience to enrich the moments in creating memories for our guests, and I am delighted to read that the team has delivered this.

We hope to welcome you back soon to our sunny island paradise.

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We have been there from 15.01.17 to 25.01.17. The weather was fantastic.
We had the most relaxing holidays ever.
We had a beautiful water villa on the sunset side and it was gorgeous. The room and the bathroom were really big and everything was clean.
Our villa was 318. The best villas are on the south of the island, on the sunset side. We requested a villa on that side and they arranged it for us!

We loved to have bikes during our stay there. It's a great idea! And also you can borrow a kayak for free for one hour.

Snorkelling on the house reef was fantastic.

We were delighted with the service.

The food was incredible, we tried every day something different.
Our butler Francis was always attentive to us.
Virgo was amazing driving us to the villa and to the restaurant. We really enjoyed the time with him.
In the restaurant " The Dining Room" Hafiz was really attentive, friendly and always smiling.
Please pass the compliment to them!! And all the cook we talked with!

The only negative point it's that we had to wait for the domestic flight to the island waiting for 3 hours on the lounge at the male's airport.
We had full board, which was really good because the prices are quite expensive and go with a tax. The drinks and water are not including, but every day they provide 6 small bottles of water complimentary in the room.
Everything is clean and the staff is always taking care of the installations.

Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: The best villas are on the sunset side, that is 318-332
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Patri P,

Warmest greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for taking the time to share with us the wonderful stay you had in January 2017.

It was a delight having you and your wife at our resort and we are most pleased to learn that you had enjoyed the service and amenities that we had to offer.

Your compliments to the Kitchen team for their delicious menus, Francis, Virgo, Hafiz and all of the team have been shared with them and are all glad to have made your stay a memorable one.

We note your comment on the domestic transfers and will be sharing this as well with the domestic airline service provider we partner in order to provide the best possible connection for our guests.

We thank you once again for your review and hope to welcome you back soon!


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falhumaafushi
39.3 km away
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resor...
#3 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
149 reviews
6.6 km away
Mercure Maldives Kooddoo Resort
18.6 km away
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
#1 of 1 in Hadahaa Island
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Robinson Club Maldives
Robinson Club Maldives
#1 of 1 in Villingili
326 reviews
39.7 km away
Dhevanafushi Maldives Luxury Resort Managed by AccorHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Maldives

Address: Falhumaafushi 2088
Region: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Falhumaafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Price Range: $896 - $2,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Maldives is a world away from reality. This private island resort is anchored in one of the planet’s widest and deepest atolls, its sugary white sands lapped by sapphire blue waters, its pristine reefs the exclusive playground of its privileged guests. All 94 luxury villas lie on the beach or over the water, their traditional Maldivian architecture enhanced by anything from dedicated butlers to private pools. Dining is an international affair overlooking the Indian Ocean, The Spa by Clarins the only one you’ll find in the entire Maldives archipelago ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing