We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Far So Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2017

location is pretty far BUT very relax and quiet, need stay one night at Male if arrive at night time then take domestic flight to the resort next day. Every staff are nice and cheerful, they all hard working too.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wckpcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear wckpcc,

Many thanks for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community the amazing time you had at our resort.

The Residence Maldives is located 242 miles south of Male International Airport, in one of the world’s deepest and largest atolls. The resort is reached by a domestic flight, with up to 5 scheduled flights throughout the day and night, followed by a speedboat transfer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our island paradise.


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

Beautiful property, Amazing Staff. Were courteous and always had a genuine warmth in their interaction. Lovely Beach side views. The Chef Harpreet and the restaurant in charge, Mr. Hafez were courteous and made it extra special to make us feel comfortable with some Indian delicacies. Great Swimming pool and loved the privacy that the beach bungalows had to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deepak_Jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Deepak_Jacob,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience with us. It is always heartening to learn that your stay was made memorable by the warm service provided by team, especially from Chef Harpreet and Hafiz.

We thank you for choosing The Residence Maldives and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Staff are very courteous and work hard to make your stay memorable. However the price of alcohol is unbelievable. Small beer is $11 in UK prices that's £22 for a pint of beer. Resort is beautiful if your tea total.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Liz R,

Thank you for sharing with us your stay experience on TripAdvisor and it was a pleasure having you here.

We have noted your comments about the pricing of our beverages and our F&B team is working to review these along with designing of packages to make it more attractive for our guests.

We thank you for your feedback once again and hope to welcome you back to our resort soon.


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

A beautiful and peaceful place with an excellent team to help you serve in the best possible way. Amazing view with wonderful service. Vide range of cuisines. A place which can be visited again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank karans144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear karan144,

Many thanks for sharing with us your vacation memories on our sunny island paradise.

It is most delightful for me and the team to learn that you had an amazing holiday with us enjoying the varied offerings from cuisines to the warm hospitality extended from the team.

We hope to welcome you back to The Residence Maldives soon!


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

There can surely be no doubt this is an excellent luxury resort - just read the 500+ reviews on here! However, I suggest there are a few things to consider before you finalise the details of your booking.

Time Your Arrival Carefully:
Staff from The Residence will meet and greet you at Malé and arrange your onward transfer to the resort - but can only do what is possible. The Residence is 350km away from Malé, and you will travel on a scheduled domestic flight by Maldivian Airways to Koodoo before staff meet and greet you once again and whisk you away in the resort's own big speedboat. And this scheduled domestic flight is the potential problem. There are only so many flights each day, and there are only so many seats on the small aircraft. We arrived in Malé on time at 14:45, to be told we'd missed the 14:00 Maldivian flight, but were booked on the 17:40. Sadly it was delayed by technical problems, and eventually left at 19:40, meaning we finally arrived at The Residence close to 22:00. Staff made us very welcome on arrival, and had kept the dining room open for us, but it was still a long, hot and wearisome transfer journey. Some of those we waited with at Malé were not so lucky - and due to the Maldivian flight being fully booked had to stay a night in Malé and transfer the following morning. If I was to book here again, I'd choose a different international carrier and aim to arrive at Malé in the morning to give more time for the transfer process!

Go All Inclusive:
The Maldives is a small nation comprised entirely of tiny islands; which means everything you eat and drink has to be imported - and is expensive. All inclusive doesn't cover every eventuality, but will provide you with unlimited access to an impressive menu of drinks (cocktails, wine, beer, spirits, soft drinks) as well as a full three meals a day. It may seem expensive when you're booking - but when cocktails are $20+ each, and a lunchtime sandwich is much the same, unless you're going to be very frugal indeed, it's good value.

And Once You've Booked:
Electricity in the resort is 240v, and delivered through UK-style three-pin plugs, so British travellers won't need adapters. However - electricity in the villa goes off when you take the room key away - so make sure you charge your devices at night!
Temperatures are high day and night, and the dress code is casual throughout the resort - so you won't need many clothes. However, for the fine dining Falhumaa restaurant, gentlemen require long trousers - so you may want to pack at least one pair of them.

Finally:
Enjoy it - we did! Somehow the sunshine and tranquillity of the place seeped into our heart and soul in a way no other destination has so far managed.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DevonshireMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear DevonshireMike,

Sunny greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience.

It was a delight reading through how you had enjoyed your stay thoroughly basking in the warmth of the Maldivian sunshine.

We have looked into your feedback with regards to your domestic transfers and we always endeavor to arrange the best possible connections for our guests. We will also share your feedback with Island Aviation in order to improve the arrival experience.

We will also review the prices of our drinks and cocktails and will be introducing beverage packages to make it more conducive and affordable for our guests.

On behalf of the team, we thank you once again for sharing with us your review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falhumaafushi
39.3 km away
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resor...
#3 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
151 reviews
6.6 km away
Mercure Maldives Kooddoo Resort
18.6 km away
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
#1 of 1 in Hadahaa Island
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Robinson Club Maldives
Robinson Club Maldives
#1 of 1 in Villingili
327 reviews
39.7 km away
Dhevanafushi Maldives Luxury Resort Managed by AccorHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Maldives

Address: Falhumaafushi 2088
Region: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Falhumaafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Price Range: $897 - $2,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Maldives is a world away from reality. This private island resort is anchored in one of the planet’s widest and deepest atolls, its sugary white sands lapped by sapphire blue waters, its pristine reefs the exclusive playground of its privileged guests. All 94 luxury villas lie on the beach or over the water, their traditional Maldivian architecture enhanced by anything from dedicated butlers to private pools. Dining is an international affair overlooking the Indian Ocean, The Spa by Clarins the only one you’ll find in the entire Maldives archipelago ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing