We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
918
127
40
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
127
40
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar dining room water pool villa domestic flight our honeymoon fish male airport the fine dining restaurant dive centre sunset view dinner buffet half board amazing holiday special thanks water activities speed boat ride a la carte
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. Resort staff were friendly and they greet you whenever there’s eye contact made. They try their best to make you feel welcomed and were helpful to requests. However the bicycles are too high for Asian/petite ladies but front desk staff refuse to exchange a smaller bicycle for me, quoting small size bicycle for kids. Front desk manager was prompt to rectify my request to change my domestic flight time as their new staff made a mistake with my preferred booking.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank eun2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear eun2018,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review and we are most delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our island paradise.

We have also noted your feedback with regards to the bicycle heights and will evaluate this further.

It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Where do I start?

Saying it was the best holiday we've ever been on doesn't do it justice.

Emma and I have been lucky enough to visit some incredible places around the world, but this tops them all.

Our 10th wedding anniversary in absolute paradise. White sands, turquoise ocean, sharks, turtles, rays and all kinds of fish swimming right past our water villa. It was like being in a dream.

We spent 10 nights there over Christmas and New Year and it was BRILLIANT. The most beautiful LED Christmas tree on the beach. A gala dinner on Christmas eve with the most amazing food you've ever seen. Every day was just incredible.

We were lucky enough to eat in their fine dining restaurant, Falhumaa, a couple of times and that was next level. Michelin star standard food in my humble opinion. The wagyu beef was the best I've ever had in any restaurant around the world.

And what can I say about the staff? The friendliest, loveliest people we've ever met. Nothing was too much trouble. They genuinely cared about us. They genuinely wanted to help us to have the best time ever. And they were so much fun to chat with :)

Thank you to every single person at The Residence who helped make this the best holiday we've ever been on.

I sincerely hope we're lucky enough to go back there one day :)

xxx

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JonnyDraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear JonnyDraper,

Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience with us.

The team and I are most delighted to hear that you enjoyed the festive celebrations, choosing to welcome 2018 on our island paradise.

Service is at the heart of the resort and it is wonderful to know that they had all contributed to help make your stay here the best holiday ever.

It was a pleasure having you and Emma at our resort. From all of us, congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyable stay. Beautiful place, with nice staff.

From breakfast to dinner, restaurant is really great.

It looks like the boat crew are really good at looking for dolphins!

Beautiful dive spots. During my dive courses, I only used the dive computer once, which is against Padi regulation. However, my dives were deeper than the maximum depth that I'm supposed to go.

Thanks a lot for this good time.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Gataztrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Gataztrov,

Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives!

We’re most delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us from the warm Maldivian hospitality by the team, food and beverage offerings to spotting the wildlife on your dive excursions.

We have also shared your concerns and feedback on the Dive Centre with the operator.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Our family of five including a 15, 13 and 8 year old children spent 8 nights at The Residence in two over-water villas with pools in early December. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and were quite fortunate to have great weather as it had been raining for quite a few days prior to our arrival.
The villas were very spacious and were located on the house reef side of the island. I recommend if you want to snorkel that you request a room on this side as the other side has no snorkeling available directly from the villas. As you'd expect the villa had all of the amenities you'd expect including an outdoor shower and an amazing bath tub over looking the beautiful water. The villa pool was actually quite large and it was incredibly relaxing taking a soak in it whilst watching sharks and numerous fish swim by below.
The Residence has essentially 2 restaurants, the main Dining Room which has a buffet breakfast and dinner as well as a la carte. The food was OK with quite reasonable variety, although I must say I was a bit over it by the end of 8 days. The other restaurant Falhumaa which we ate at a couple of nights was fantastic, with a great menu and an extended wine list which wasn't available at the Dining Room of the pool side bar. As we had purchased a package that including dinner at the Dining Room so we were able to get $USD76 towards dinner at Fahlumaa in lieu of eatin at the Dining Room. In hindsight we probably should have eaten at Fahlumaa more as the food was certainly of a higher standard which you would expect for actually no more cost.

The main pool was very nice and more than big enough for the number of guests. Service around the pool was quite slow and very hot and miss. The range of cocktails was very limited and really the service there just wasn't good enough, you literally had to hunt staff down to get a drink. Also there's limited spots to sit and lay in the shade in the peak of the heat (very very hot), which was unfortunate so we regularly left there and went back to the villa.

There were a number of daily and nightly activities e.g. fruit carving, putt putt etc. The activities weren't that great and they really need to improve these as some people would like more. The water activities available were numerous e.g. introductory diving, SUP, kayaking, snorkeling and fishing which we did do one late afternoon. Actually we caught quite a reasonable Grouper which was fillet and cooked for us in the Dining Room for lunch the next day, it was fantastic!! The fishing trip whilst was relatively cheap $AUD115 for 2 hours and was successful, although it was very poorly organised, they actually only bought 3 spare hooks with them and obviously reef fishing we got snagged a number of time s and actually ran out of hooks. End result was I stood around for the last part of the fishing trip as no hooks = no fishing. The fishing trip could be fantastic but you get the feeling they're just trying to make use of their boats so they decided to add fishing to the list of activities.

Last but not least the best thing by far on our holiday were the staff. From Alma who ran kids club our daughter loved her and it. They made cupcakes in the commercial kitchen, mocktails in the Lounge Bar and spread flowers at a couple of weddings. Lawrence aka Trevin our buggy driver was amazing and always happy to see us and engage in conversation. Ibrahim from Fahlumaa was great always happy to talk to us and went out of his way to arranged for our children to go into the kitchen and make their own desert. Really all of the staff were polite, courteous and always had a smile on their faces.

In summary we had a very relaxing 8 days in paradise. Some improvement is needed around some elements of the Food and Beverage but the staff more than made up for that and they really made the stay special for us.

Room tip: Get a villa on the house reef side of the resort if you like snorkeling.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Rebah1,

Sunny greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for choosing our island paradise to spend your family vacation.

We are glad that the whole family had enjoyed their time relaxing in the spacious comforts of your villa and private pool, dining at the outlets especially at our overwater restaurant, The Falhumaa and participating in various complimentary and paid activities in the resort.

Your compliments to Alma, Lawrence, Ibrahim from The Falhumaa has also been shared with them. They are heartened to learn that they have enriched you and your family’s memories of your island vacation with exemplary service.

We have also noted your feedback regarding the pool service and drinks menu at The Beach Bar and I have asked the team to review this. Your comments with regards to the bottom line fishing activity has also been shared with the operator for corrective measures.

We thank you once again for sharing with us your review and hope to welcome you and the family back to The Residence Maldives.

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here in 2016 through secret escapes at a reduced price and also have our wedding ceremony, due to ill health we were unable to travel and they were excellent in rearranging not only our ceremony for the following year but also the deal that we had booked through secret escapes. The great service didn't stop throughout, as soon as we arrived they couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was fantastic! I seriously can't say that they could of done anything different, anything you asked for they provided. The buffet in the main restaurant was lovely and had lots of choice, the beach bar was great for lunch time food and the portions were always huge. The drinks were great and they were always there ready to top up your glass or clear your table. We didn't go on all the excursions but we did join the dive team for a few days diving in which the service was at the same exceptional level, even helping to don the kit for us etc. We can't wait to come back soon!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 61nats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Nat C,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay review on TripAdvisor.

At The Residence Maldives, we pride ourselves on providing personalised and heartfelt service and are pleased to note that you were met with the bespoke service that is synonymous with “The Residence by Cenizaro” brand.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, and maybe to our second island at Dhigurah!

Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews