We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivertrees Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trav House(Usa River)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Makaseni lodge(Usa River)
Booking.com
View Deal
Gateway Lodge(Usa River)
Booking.com
View Deal
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
333
186
38
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
186
38
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskilimanjaro airportsmall riverpizza ovenfarm houseone nightoutdoor showeropen kitchenrose petalslong flightthomson safarisvervet monkeysgreat introductionjet lagarusha national parkfirst nightpeaceful settingmosquito netting
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

what can i say...apparently prince charles and camilla stayed here so that tells you what it's like. Only stopped for the night on the way to Nairobi but wished i stayed longer. staff were really nice, bedrooms were amazing (make sure you look at the photos, words can't do justice), dinner and breakfast was great.....only downside was the insects since there was a lot of folage and water about but each room has a mossie net (on the four poster bed!!!). A definite if you want to feel special!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The perfect placd to chill out And get over your jet lag when you arrive Jb Tanzania. Great food, service and setting. They made an extra effort for our honeymoon by putting rise petals all over thd baths and bed. Very sweet. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenobia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at Rivertrees Country Inn for one night before safari in Arusha National Park. Although the grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are another matter. The floors which were polished cement were dirty and you had to wear flip flops or else your socks would be dirty from the dust. The shower area was not clean and the grouting was mouldy and needed replacing. The shower fixture was useless because it would not adjust and instead flew over your head into the shower curtain. You either had to be 6 ft 4in or else hold the shower by the hose in order to have a proper rinse. The toilet too looked old and needed replacing. All in all, not what I would expect for a luxury stay. The staff try hard but as noted in previous TripAdvisor comments they do require proper training. There were mixups with dinners and other issues. I would attribute these shortcomings to management and not to the workers, Breakfast was limited as far as yogurts and granolas but overall the food was satisfactory. The forno oven was a nice touch and we did have pizzas. Not sure how this place compares to other hotels in that area so I cannot say that I would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefanop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

nice lodge in a setting next to a small river, attentetive (but slightly clumsy) staff and - as most hotels around Arusha - skighty overpriced. We stilk had a goid time, especialky after eating their Pizza.

Room Tip: Check out their Puzza as they have a decent stone pizza oven.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_true_European
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As we arrived at Rivertrees, it looked picture-perfect: large and lovely grounds, rooms in individual buildings, and an outdoor restaurant with a huge wood-burning oven. Our room was lovely: large, with a king-size bed, and the Internet worked in the room. One thing was a bit odd: the toilet and shower were behind only a partial stucco wall, open at the top and the side. Then we had dinner at the outdoor restaurant. The menu was traditional in a Western sense--nothing that even hinted at being in Africa. So we shrugged our shoulders and ordered the filet: the meat was so tough it should have been stewed. We ordered ice cream with sauce for dessert, and it came without the sauce. We persisted, and it eventually came. We discovered at bedtime that the sheets were so nubbly they felt almost like sandpaper, and the pillows were thin. There was no hot water in the morning. Breakfast the next morning was poor: chemical-tasting juice, tasteless tomatoes, and weak coffee. All in all, and compared to other places we stayed in Tanzania, this one was at the bottom.

Room Tip: Choose a different lodging
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bev046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews