We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes its pig, and everything else, seriously”

The Pig And Publican
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We raced to get to this small pub by 7:30 p.m. because it was close to where we were staying in Lewes and they close at 8 p.m. They have a terrific beer selection and the brews were fresh and interesting. This place takes its pig seriously. The BLT was the best I have ever had - hands down. About an inch and a half of bacon and a real tomato that had flavor on very good bread. Will be craving this one. Others in our party had the sausage with sauerkraut and the hamburger - both excellent. We got the fried Brussels sprouts for an appetizer. This dish has been making the rounds in restaurants for a few years now but their version is among the best I've tried. Chose potato salad to go with my sandwich and that was excellent too. The food here is terrific. Worth a stop, or many.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chiacud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2021

Four of us ate lunch at Pig & Publican on a Thursday in early August. Sandwiches were all delicious, I had tune salad, two people ate the shredded pork. Tasty brussels sprout and Bang Bang shrimp appetizers. A fine selections of beer and wines. Outdoor seating and good service. Parking right in front. Reasonable prices. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

Went to the Pig and Publican for dinner and we could not have been more pleased. Seated promptly and waited on quickly. This place is suffering from the same shortage of help that every other place has these days, but you would never know it. Our waitress as fantastic! We got a large order of beach fries to share as an app. They came with a smoked garlic aoli and a wit beer cheese sauce, yum!
We got 4 different sandwiches, a chicken and Brie with bacon, baby spinach & fig jam. A Pastrami Reuben, the house burger, and the Publican Burger, a wonderful mix of beef, bacon, Cabot Cheddar, spinach, and caramelized onions. They were all absolutely delicious. They also have an extensive beer and wine selection. Highly recommended, we will be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 223kenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

I really appreciate the friendly and quick service for carry out food. Thank you for having a fried fish sandwich option for the kids menu AND with a side salad... YES. Kids don't always want bland crappy food. My kids very much enjoyed that. The lobster roll could have been better buuuut it did have a ton of meat in it.. I think the lobster roll would be 100x better with better bread actually and just a tad more salt. But it wasn't bad by any means. We were so hungry we both killed ours. Bang bang shrimp appetizer was gooooooooooood good with that spicy sauce. Overall, a really good option!!!!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank SarahL917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Previously, I have had good experiences here. The experience today may be a result of more business than they expected. However, no excuse for the result. The wait time from ordering to serving was excessive. I had the steak and frites. The frites were hot, the steak was not, poor coordination in the kitchen. My spouse had the lobster roll, or more correctly, the celery roll with a bit of lobster. The lobster roll was prepared with way too much celery, way too much onion, and an excess amount of celery seed sprinkled n top. Very little lobster. Come on guys, you can do better than this.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denisclements68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Pig And Publican also viewed

 

Been to The Pig And Publican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.