We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driftwood Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach(Lewes)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$76
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue(Lewes)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
36
22
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
22
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenpaper towelsliving roomlarge closetfold out couchstove and ovenpots pansrehoboth beacheasy accesswould definitely stay here againcoastal hwyflat screenplenty of parkinglewes areacape henlopenplace to stayunit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I don't like to give bad reviews of what is probably a family-owned business but I will be fair and state facts. The room was not clean. There were visible dirt tracks in the carpet, the mirrors were streaky, and it smelled strange. The washable fabric shower curtain had orange mildew stains at the bottom. The sheets and towels were OK, as they are likely sent out to a commercial laundry. The furnishings and fixtures are old and somewhat shabby. The sponge provided at the kitchen sink had that bacteria-stink odor. (Come on, change the sponge already). There was a foreign substance smeared on the rear of one of the drapes. Dark paneling and old cabinets make it rather depressing. (If these units were updated and refurbished they could be nice.) On the plus side it is nice to have a full kitchen and a bedroom separate from the living area. The reception worker was friendly. The location is very convenient to the strip or to Lewes or Rehoboth. The off season price was good. My overall impression is that this small motel, which sits on a large piece of extremely valuable land, is being operated with minimal improvements until the land is sold and it is torn down. If we had not prepaid we likely would have left for another property after seeing and smelling the room. If you stay here, pack Lysol and Febreze.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood M, Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

We appreciate feedback, and you are correct in that we are a family owned business. We have been here since 1978 and intend on being here for years to come. We have no current plans of selling or “tearing it down”. All tasks are completed in house, from room cleaning, housekeeping, and completing tasks such as washing sheets and towels. We have employees come by daily for housekeeping and would have been more than willing to deal with any issues you had with your room at the time of your stay to make it less “depressing,” had we been notified about your dissatisfaction during your stay.

We would have liked to address your issues properly, however we cannot find your name in any of our past reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

This is one of the dirtiest motel rooms I've stayed in. There were old crumbs on and around the dining table, dust and dirt in the kitchen, and stains on the bathroom walls. They also seem to try to suck every penny out of you they can. They charge you $50 minimum if you leave one dirty dish in the sink and were going to charge us another fee just to stay 30 minutes extra past checkout time. So we had to sit outside in the cold rain while we waited for our ride to the airport (because there is no lobby to wait in). We will not be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood M, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello Laura. We are sorry if you did not find your stay comfortable. We are surprised, in fact, of this review. We have ranked one of the cleanest hotels in the area, as many reviews show. We are sorry you did not bring this to our attention during your stay in which we could have corrected any issues at that time. - - Lou, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Overall, this is a good place to stay, but if you are used to a typical hotel there are some things you need to be aware of to enjoy your stay.
First the pros:
Our room was essentially a two room efficiency. Kitchen with full-sized refrigerator/freezer, stove and oven, microwave, toaster, dishes and cooking utensils.
Large living/dining area with soda bed and dinette. Bedroom with queen sized bed, dresser, and large closet. There is a bonus coat closet in the main room.
Off the bedroom is a good sized bathroom with tub/shower. As others have noted, the decor and furnishing are dated and worn, but clean. There was no odor.
The furniture was several coats of paint which cause the drawers to stick and the drawer pull was missing in the nightstand. I found the bed to be comfortable.
This is a great arrangement if you plan to spend a week at the beach. The motel is near Lewes, Cape Henlopen, and Rehoboth Beach. It is a bit awkward to enter and leave since it is on the Coastal Highway and there are median strips. Lots of U-turns.
We ended up in Unit 9 which is nearest the highway. The truck noise is noticeable, but it doesn't seems to interfere with sleep.
Since it rained one whole day during our stay, it was nice to have the space to hang out in. Free, fast Wi-Fi is great.
From the photos, you do expect that the units are not wheel-chair accessible. Also the TV doesn't support closed-captioning. Note that the front office is only staffed during certain hours.
We did ask the front desk about the lack of tissues and hangers, also about the sink stopper not working in the bathroom.
The things I didn't expect.
1) No facial tissues
2) only 3 hangers in the entire unit
3) no paper towels (one sponge and one dish cloth only) I'm glad I thought to bring a roll.
You will need to bring those items.
If you have your expectations managed, this is a good place for a long-term visit to the area at a low price.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower number room. Unit 9 is right next to the highway.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood M, GSR at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We appreciate the kind review & hope you and your husband are enjoying your stay.
Thank you,
Nicole GSR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The booking and check in was easy with no problems. The girl who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. The efficiency suite was roomy and clean but definitely could use updating. It is located on major thoroughfare with easy access to attractions in the Lewes area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Blynnie_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood M, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking a moment to review us, Blynnie_77! We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this motel as a couple several times and the beds are soft but it's a no frills motel with minimal kitchen utensils and very little comfort for the people who sleep on the fold out sofa. It was actually painful to use the sofa bed and this was in my sisters room too. You get the minimum
Towels and no extra blankets if the sofa bed used. Not enough pans to cook with. Decor needs to be updated and you feel like your in a cave just not pleasant this time. Musty smell and mold in bathroom. Bathroom door wouldn't close. Not enough room for family. Summer will run you as much as 160 a night but room is worth about 65$. Nice enough people but this is a one or two star motel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Smartchickx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood M, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Smartchickx2, Thanks for leaving us a review. We hope when you are in the area you decide to give us another chance. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews