We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$157
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$167
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$139
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites(Newark)(Great Value!)
US$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
221
93
38
25
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
93
38
25
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred roofhoward johnsonfront deskroom was cleanlove stayingwafflesneeded a place to staygreat customer servicenice breakfastgreat place to staynon smoking roomcontinental breakfasthousekeeping staffhazelrjlamaruniversity
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Every time my family visits Delaware we always stay at Redroof in new Newark Delaware the general manager Pragnesh Patel of the hotel he’s always welcome my family he knows us by our last name. Front desk workers have always been helpful. This hotel is always quiet and clean and the house keepers always available we never had a problem there and this hotel is definitely our choice when we are in town visiting family members and have been for the past 3 years.. We always love our stay at Redroof Inn Pragnesh Patel you’re awesome. From the G family in Charlotte North Carolina thank you!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank msladyjgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us when you visit your family. It's always a pleasure to see our guests return time after time! We truly appreciate the kind words and glad you enjoyed. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Well, it took four rooms to get us into something we could live with, and the only reason we stayed was due to a deadline with UD graduation. We did not have time to try for another place.
Room 1: The air conditioner did not work, and it was approaching 90 degrees. Room was dirty.
Room 2: CLEAR evidence of bedbugs. I did not see any live bugs, but it was obvious that bugs had been there-- feces. So many spots of bug infestation.
Room 3: Air conditioner did not work. Dirty room.
Room 4: Finally gave in and stayed.
Generally, while looking for the bedbugs, we discovered really (really) disgusting problems with the mattresses. All kinds of stains--food, urine, blood. Some of the mattresses had big holes in them. The rooms were dirty, from the floor to the ceilings. The manager, in trying to find us an acceptable room, was generally polite and cooperative. He admitted to the bug problem, but claimed it had been taken care of. Not sure about that.
The hotel just has not been taken care of at all. Ceiling needs fixed, bathroom needs updated, the lights are terrible.
Often, if I am paying a low rate, I adjust my expectations. The rate was not that low, and the standards were way lower.

Room Tip: Always check for bed bugs.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lsavercool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

I am truly taken back by your review. Mr. Patel and our team spent an inordinate amount of time with you to find a room that would meet your expectations. He took you to several rooms. You led us to believe you were satisfied with the room you finally selected. From that point forward, our staff, Mr. Patel and I did everything possible to ensure you had a comfortable and satisfactory stay. If you were unhappy with the accommodations, all you needed to do was ask to have your money refunded and we would have obliged. This would have given you the opportunity to find accommodations elsewhere. I cannot understand why you elected to stay. Despite this being a busy weekend, there were hotels in the area with available rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

The stay was a joy with such a wonderful front-desk staff and breakfast. The cleaning crew does a wonderful job and the room was spacious. As another review states, this was a "great value for the price."

Room Tip: Choose a top floor away from groups of loud tradesmen and families who frequent this hotel because of its convenience and price.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2018joandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We know how valuable it is to have our guests enjoy their stay and feel they've gotten and great value. We truly enjoy all of our travelers and so glad you stayed. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We travel with our dogs so usually stay at Red Roof Inns. This one is the best one so far! Price was great, staff was very accomidating and friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, especially considering the great price for our stay. We can't say anything bad about this motel, it was excellent!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Chevymom4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and bringing your dogs! We are proud to be pet friendly and do enjoy seeing them at the hotel. Please come back and again on your next trip through Delaware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

I came here on buisness for an extended stay of 7 days(I'm from Connecticut). The "General Manager" had the audacity to call us first thing in the morning, (after we complained about them not changing the sheets. Not cleaning room [my younger brother/disabled employee asked them to their face to change them on a day he was not feeling well] and the fact their sheets or beds made us break out in a rash) to address our concerns and called my brother "retarded". Now not only are himself and I disabled but after 6 days of trouble u call us "Retarded" and then tries to call the cops on us for being upset. It was so bad the police told us their one of the worst places to stay in Delaware they get calls on a regular.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for sharing. This doesn't sound like the norm for our hotel and we are looking into this. Please do reach out to our GM Mr. Patel if you haven't already as he want to ensure each and every guest has a positive experience and if not, make sure we make it right and correct the situation for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews