We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oenophile's delight”
Review of Cuvee Ray

Cuvee Ray
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuvee Ray is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 292 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Description: Cuvée Ray is the relaxed upscale wine bar and restaurant in downtown Rehoboth that celebrates wines from around the world, great music, and inspired food. Offering over 170 wines by the glass, Cuvée Ray is a place for the casual wine lover and the experienced aficionado serving wines that are both exceptional and accessible.
Restaurant details
Description: Cuvée Ray is the relaxed upscale wine bar and restaurant in downtown Rehoboth that celebrates wines from around the world, great music, and inspired food. Offering over 170 wines by the glass, Cuvée Ray is a place for the casual wine lover and the experienced aficionado serving wines that are both exceptional and accessible.
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We had been eagerly awaiting the opening and had a wonderful first visit! We had also been missing the creative artistry of Chef Joe Churchman. We shared the charred deckle and the amazing mushroom appetizers. Then we moved on to main courses of a filet and charred octopus. I have never had such perfectly cooked octopus since being in Greece. The real oenophile pleasure though comes from the ability to do your own pairings with the 170 or so glasses of wine by the glass. I paired a fabulous white Chateauneuf du pap (such a special treat) with the octopus. My husband enjoyed a lovely Amarone with his beef. Really terrific pairings and rare to find by the glass. Ray is a wonderful host, who seems happy to share his love of wine with his customers. We ended up moving to the back room, which was quieter, since the front area with the bar can get pretty loud. This is a great new place and we will be regulars!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Owner at Cuvee Ray, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks so much for the very nice review! So glad you enjoyed everything...it was such a pleasure having you. I look forward to seeing you again soon. - Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Tasty food in an easy going laid back atmosphere. But the kicker? Wine by the glass. Many Top end. And over a hundred choices. And the staff and owner are thrilled to listen and offer suggestions. Get the deckle. The staff explained it’s one part of the rib eye. If you’re a steak lover, this is a must try. A unique spot with the friendliest of atmospheres and some great food with great choices of wine by the glass.

Thank sbander2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Owner at Cuvee Ray, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

What a nice review. We put a lot of effort into choosing our wine selections and are trying to do something different and special by offering all selections by the glass. Thank you so much! -Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The best way to know a restaurant is to try a sampling of offerings. For Cuvée Ray this would be their happy hour offerings. On a recent hot midweek day we stopped by - the ambience is clean and fresh tho reminiscent of others. The staff was friendly, the music (Pan Flute live) was a bit loud for the space. Food sampling’s were smal to minute; the offerings for trial were limited to brut ( only white) and two others, Flights started at 15 but whites were 30. To the wine sophisticate perhaps those offerings at $240/glass;$800/bottle might sound reasonable however there are equally high quality better value in the vicinity.

Thank LSDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Owner at Cuvee Ray, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018


LSDel,
Thanks for your comments but so sorry that you were disappointed during your visit to Cuvée Ray. Our $6 Happy Hour offerings change frequently and I hope that you will find our future offerings more to your liking. While I am glad you noticed our offering two of the greatest Cabernets for $800/bottle and $240/glass, and those wines are of course not for everyone, I personally worked hard to find excellent wines for our wine list at all price points. I hope you will consider giving us another try, and if you do please ask for me, I’d be happy to talk about our by the glass options such as our fantastic $8, $9 and $10 dollar offerings!
We will keep working to make Cuvée Ray the absolute best it can be!
Thanks again for your input and if you have any questions or need any further information, please email me at ray@cuveeray.com and I would be pleased to provide any further information or help in any way.
Ray
Ray Kurz/Owner
Cuvée Ray Wine Bar & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Cuvee Ray recently opened on Rehoboth Avenue in the old Pig + Fish space. We've been watching the renovations for awhile and were excited to see that the restaurant had opened. It was worth the wait.

We went for dinner on a Saturday night and were seated without a problem. The food was outstanding. I started with the Baywater Greens Cherry Tomato Salad. It was excellent--the avocado puree made the dish. I had the Pappardelle for my main course. It was well presented and also excellent. (The only negative was that I wished the serving sized would have been about 20% larger.)

During the meal, we enjoyed picking a few wines from the extensive wine list. They have an amazing selection, and it is clearly their passion. As other reviewers have noted, we were amazed that any wine is available by the glass. It makes this place all the more fun.

We're looking forward to relaxing at the bar in the off season and simply trying different wines.

If you're in Rehoboth, and a wine lover, this is a must do.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ScottB715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Owner at Cuvee Ray, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Scott, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! It means a lot to us to get such nice feedback. Looking forward to you trying different wines as you relax at Cuvée Ray this off season. -Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent ambiance, stellar service, amazing food, and above all an AMAZING WINE SELECTION- a must when visiting the area!

1  Thank J1448DVmariaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Owner at Cuvee Ray, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Maria, thanks so much!! So kind of you to take a moment to share your thoughts. Hope to see you again soon! -Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuvee Ray also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cuvee Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing