We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
691
102
21
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
102
21
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolmunduk modinggarden suitegames roomprivate butlerluwak coffeebamboo villamain buildinglocal communityabove sea levelone bedroom pool villaoutdoor showerrainy seasonour honeymoonfour poster bedwelcome drinkginger tea
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I was drawn into the sky suite at MMP from their website and immediately booked it to spend a very quiet New Year with my family. Booking was made way in advance in October. When we arrived at the resort, surprisingly, we were told that we were being ‘upgraded’ to (2) separate garden suites instead. I don’t think the receptionist understood what the word upgrading meant. We were told that due to construction at the resort, the sky suite would be too noisy for guests. We found out later that night, during dinner, that there was a family with 3 kids staying in the sky suite. The very same suite I had booked 3 months prior. I guess they would rather have another family stayed at the suite and dealt with the noise. We were eventually moved to the sky suite on our last night (I guess we were ‘downgraded’ back to our original reservation). The different in space was night and day. As for the construction, the constant noise of hammering and chainsaw really ruined the tranquility of our stay. Not to mention they were planning to add a hot tub at the end of the infinity pool therefore causing a major distraction of the panoramic view looking out into the mountains and the sea beyond. Since I booked directly from the website, I was never informed of any proposed construction within the resort during our stay. I am sure the management was reluctant to inform their guests or otherwise they would not be able to sell any of their rooms. You have to walk along an unprotected pathway from the carport to the main building. A major issue during the rainy season because you will get soaked. We had no choice but stayed for the duration of our trip. If it was not a high-season in Bali, we would have moved to another resort or fly out of Denpasar. Keep in mind that this place is 2.5 hour away from Denpasar. It takes about the same time to reach Ubud or Kuta, if not longer. There are no decent restaurants around the resort so therefore you are forced to eat-in. On our departure, due to traffic, it took us 3.5 hour to reach the airport. Luckily, we spared enough time to catch our flight. Unfortunately, the staff booked us a transfer with the lousiest and the smelliest car in Munduk. It was a horror! I will not recommend this resort to anyone who visit Bali for the first time. In fact, I will not recommend it to anyone AT ALL. The only reason I gave this rating a 2 star was because of the hospitality of their Balinese staff. Although the resort failed us big time, the staff however was the savior of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arch-Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gintungan, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Bapak Tiko Mulyawarko,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at MMP and apologise for the mishap with the reservation: our garden suites are generally considered to be more luxurious that the rooms in the sky suites and are also priced accordingly so the upgrade was genuinely meant to have been an upgrade. But this should have been discussed with you in advance and you should have been given a choice. We have discussed this with the front desk team to avoid such an incident from repeating itself.

It is true that during your stay some works on a Jacuzzi and its platform were taking place. They should have been finished before Christmas but since our carpenters had an exceptionally busy clove harvest – they all have some clove trees - the project got delayed. Whilst some minor inconvenience could not be fully excluded, the carpenters have been asked not to start until 9 am and to suspend the works when people gather in the vicinity of the project, which, I am happy to report, is now nearly completed.

I frankly do not understand your comments about the views and the atmosphere being compromised on account of these works since we have taken great care with our architects to ensure that the Jacuzzi deck doesn’t interfere with the beautiful views from the pool area and the sky suites. In fact, the Jacuzzi deck is located, as you must have noticed, some full THREE meters below the edge of the main pool so that people standing at the main building cannot actually see the Jacuzzi.

I also sense from your comments that you did not enjoy the natural environment and the beauty of the area and its plants very much. Many of our guests do actually come to MMP for this and they enjoy their walk from the parking to the main building to experience the lush vegetation and the many tropical flowers and plants that grow there. Moreover, we always make sure that there are plenty of umbrellas around at the gazebo (Bale Bengong) beside the parking so that there is no reason to get wet when it rains and you walk to the main building.

Your comments about the remoteness of MMP are also difficult to place. We take many guests to Ubud and this actually nearly always takes one and a half an hour or less. The airport is about a 2.5 hours drive. The fact that you are saying the drive to the airport took you 3,5 hours is hard to believe and suggests that you were either extremely unlucky or that you might possibly have slightly overinterpreted the duration of the drive. You also complain about the car that was offered to you. Whilst it is not a fancy car, it is comfortable (it obviously has AC and is in very good condition), and we have been using it for two years without any complaints.

Finally, we have clearly informed you about the location of the other restaurants in the area on our email exchange which we had when you made your booking. In addition, we have also informed you that you could always use our free shuttle service to go to any restaurant in Munduk or Bedugul.

All in all, as you can see, whilst there clearly has been a mishap with the room allocation, the very strong language in your comments does not seem to tally fully with the facts. On a personal note, I must also add that, whilst we had some very pleasant chats during your stay here, you never raised the points you so strongly complain about in the review, thereby making it difficult for us to address them in good time.

With my best regards,
Gede Uliadnyana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend the hotel.

The staff are lovely and friendly and cannot do enough. We would have to especially praise the food - lovely, fresh, great value. In partiular the breakfasts were great and the chcolate brownies and ice cream were best we have ever tasted!

The pool is great - weather wasn't quite 100% great for being outdoors but we still enjoyed a few dips in the amazing inifinity pool. I understand a jacuzzi is being built as well.

We stayed in a garden room, it was beautiful with great in room facilities (radio, DVD player, Ipod speakers) and wow bathroom.

We were there during rainy season and it was very wet and cloudy which meant we could not enjoy the nearby treks/ opportunities as we would have wanted to but luckily the hotel is so nice we just enjoyed the peace and amenities around the hotel.

This is a quiet place so not one to go to if you are expecting night life. I would love to go back in 6 months time when it is sunnier! On drier evenings a fire is lit for everyone to sit round. Again would love to go back and experience in drier weather.

The area is very high up and therefore is cooler - you will need a jumper. But the views are amazing, and the nearby area has great trekking opportunities/ interesting sights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Set in the grounds of an expansive coffee plantation, this resort is the definition of seclusion. We had a lovely relaxing 1-night stay here. The views from our suite extended all the way to the ocean, and views of surrounding hillsides and mountains from the grounds are wonderful (though make sure to dress appropriately if going hiking). Food was good. Spa was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

1) all staff are very friendly which make my 2 day stay become wonderful and perfect especially the 2 restarant waitress.
2) all the food preparation is nice and the taste are good.
3) weather there much better than other area in Bali.
4) the provided events by hotel was good especially the horse riding. The 2 gede and wayan was so Frenly and helpful and we hav lot of great talk during horse riding across the local village.
5) the room was big and clean but sadly the tv was damage by thunder but it make my stay even better by not wasting my time in the room:)
6) the most excellent part is the infinity pool view.... Different feel at different timing.. Morning.. Noon... Evening.. Night.. Raining day... U will enjoy the moment u sit beside the pool for the natural great view .
Highly recommend to give 2 night stay to experience urself.
Ps: do not ever try to rent motorbike to Ho t

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsan_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel and regreted to not be able to stay longer ! This is the best hotel we've done in Bali.
Perfect villa, really nice and an astonishing view.
Swiwing pool with a wondefull view on the sea and mountains. They are building a jacuzzi...
Great restaurant, excellent quality and prices.
All the employes are really nice.
The trips the hotel organizes are really good and beautiful.

We hope to go back there, thankyou so much for this wonderfull stay !!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonio123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews