We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and underwhelmed”
Review of Takumi

Takumi
Ranked #131 of 606 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Ordered two dishes for takeout. Deluxe seafood was skimpy, shrimps, scallops, and lobster were tasteless - for $29 expected more and tastier seafood. Ordered Pineapple fried rice - the dish was a mushy mess, rice overcooked, pineapples pieces, the few I could find, were not fresh. Other ingredients were unrecognizable.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank blumbergjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2018

Family's General Tso's Chicken had enough of a 'kick,' but the soy sauce of the pork dumplings was plain and my teriyaki sirloin steak was not piping hot and also on the plain side. Still, dinner for two people was not as expensive as we thought it would be. We got here about 5 p.m. on a Saturday which was a good time because the place started getting filled up afterward. No changing table in men's room although there is space for one. Maybe worth a second chance.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gostartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We've been going to Takumi since it was Utage; while some of the staff remains, a lot of things have changed since. There's an expanded variety and a new look, and the selections are amazing. While the previous incarnation of this restaurant had exclusively Japanese fare, it is now a fusion menu with Chinese, Thai, and Indonesian options as well that now fill pages and pages with dishes that all look better than the last.

Their sushi menu is great, with a lot of options, and their udon is, hands-down, the best I've had. I can't eat it anywhere else now, after having theirs and becoming so utterly spoiled. (It isn't bitter, as it has been everywhere else I've had it.)

The lunch menu has some amazing deals, and it's worth taking a look for the more budget conscious. (Or just those of us who would like to save a bit on the entree and order even more sushi!)

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Come here if you like being extorted. We marked salmon on the sushi list so the manager kept pushing a special salmon. We agreed and found out the cost was $30 for 2 small slices instead of the $5 the regular salmon costs. She kept pushing every expensive item. They are way too greedy and we will not be back.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have been to this restaurant several times and our experience has been quite consistent.... great food, great atmosphere but terrible service. If you want to eat fast, get out of the restaurant in less than one hour, and don't mind eating your main course with dirty appetizer plates on your table then this is the restaurant to visit.
The food is really excellent... the sushi rolls and the asparagus and sesame sauce are truly great. The house salad with ginger dressing is crisp and wonderful. The Miso and Wonton Soups could have done with another 30 seconds in the microwave. The salmon teriyaki and shrimp tempura were both excellent choices for entree.
There is a great choice of cocktails available. My Shiraz tasted like the bottle had been opened for several days.
Having being here before we knew the challenges of having all of the food on the table at the same time, but even though we ordered in phases we still couldn't avoid the rush of food.
It would be so easy for the restaurant to achieve 5's in all categories, but someone needs to get the service at the same level as the food, the atmosphere etc.
Please visit the restaurant to enjoy the great food, but only order one course at a time and ask that they space out the delivery of your food.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Takumi also viewed

 

Been to Takumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing