We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
268
66
16
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
66
16
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink elephant beach club old florida golf cart the cottages old world elegance historic hotel barrier island turn down service fitness center historical tour in season common areas third floor the entire staff housekeeping staff wedding
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The essence of quiet understated elegance delivered by attentive well trained helpful staff that gives this a first class 5 star rating in every class. The rooms are old world comfortable roomy clean and quiet. The junior suite we recomend with a reading room and view. The restaurants were full of fresh creative sea food dishes served with all but the white gloves. Smiling down to the beach front, pools, bakery and gold carts to the Pink Elephant which is incredible for great dishes. Highly recomend the Pink's plate of the day each day.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kookoo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I can't say enough about the Gasparilla Inn & Club. The attention to detail was beyond anything I could imagine. The mints for turn down service were in a little envelope with the Inn's picture on it, they put a bag of shells on our door handle before bed. It was our anniversary, so at dinner our menu's were personalized and then they gave them to us after we ordered. The golf course was superb. I always love it when the ladies'Tee boxes are as nice as the mens' and this did not disappoint! The beach club was really nice. They had a locker room and showers which was helpful since we had to check out of our hotel and then go to the beach club. We stayed after June 1st which meant that the men were not required to have a tie and jacket at dinner and we could go to the bar in shorts after 6 pm. You will not be disappointed if you stay here! We plan on going back for our anniversary next year!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mlprsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

What a rally nice place to stay and relax. We really enjoyed it. We fish for Tarpon and its only 20 minutes from the boat dock. Housekeeping folks are the nicest and accommodate you with whatever you need to make you feel at home.

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The Gasparilla Inn, which, for 104 years, has been accommodating the likes of U.S. Presidents, movie stars, and a long list of dignitaries like John Updike, J.P. Morgan, Henry Ford and Thomas Edison, could be excused for behaving snobbishly. But you won't find an upturned nose among the friendly staff of this most splendid resort on the southern gulf coast of Florida. We arrived in late May, nearing the end of the tourist season in this small town, Boca Grande, in Gasparilla Island. The bell hops, desk clerks, concierge, wait staff, bar tender, and a host of others were as helpful, bright and pleasant as they must have been when the season started eight months earlier. We have never had such positive interaction with the staff of any resort. And what a gem of a resort is this one. The Gasparilla Inn is splendid, comfortable and perfectly polished, It is not afraid to display a casual atmosphere in the midst of all its polish, and the guests seem to move comfortably and seamlessly between the two. The dining room and its menu are top notch and you feel as though you are seated at dinner as they might have in the twenties and thirties and forties. The lounges are spotless and seductive, and you almost expect Earnest Hemingway to pull up next to you when you sit at the bar. If you are looking for a few days away from all of life's annoyances, to golf, to fish, to sail, to bike, hike, collect seashells (They are abundant, eclectic and spectacular along these shores.), bathe in the bluest and clearest waters of the Gulf or just enjoy the shops and restaurants of the cutest little town in Florida's southern Gulf Coast, then you must book a stay with The Gasparilla Inn.

Room tip: All rooms are superb.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lamlyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We have been to Boca Grande several times but always by boat and we stayed on the boat. This time we came by car and stayed at the Gasparilla Inn. We are glad we did.
We made a last minute reservation for Memorial Day weekend. The Inn itself was full, and we stayed at a cottage unit across the street. Each unit consists of a private entrance, a bedroom and bath. It was very quiet with no sound from other units.
While there we ate or drank in the main dining room, the Beach club, the BZ lounge and the Pink Elephant which is about 5 minutes away. PE is under common ownership with the Inn.
The Beach Club, also owned by the Inn, is a large complex with tennis, fitness, restaurant, pool and beach. It is very nice and is available to Inn guests.
We were somewhat surprised that the Inn is only an hour from our home just south of Sarasota. We will be returning often.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Adventure615920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews