We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beachwalk Inn(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Hotel(Clearwater)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beach View Suites(Clearwater)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
US$242
Otel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
264
326
232
97
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
326
232
97
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanyogurtacross the streetfree breakfastfridge and microwavenice poolbusch gardensgulf view roomtravelodgebeachkathywalmart
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

The grills by the pool are a great idea. Alexis, front desk, is fantastic. She is a HUGE asset to any company. Alexis is very helpful and friendly, always professional in her appearance and demeanor, she should be in management. The housekeeping staff is awesome too. They are very friendly and keep the rooms very nice. the breakfast is pretty good. The woman that works in there does a great job keeping everything stocked. Not very far from the beaches, but far enough to not have the big prices either. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArchieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

It sounds like you had an all-around great stay, Archie, and we're happy to hear it! I'm glad you enjoyed the friendly service too -- we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Alexis. It's good to hear that you liked our convenient location as well, and we hope that you'll be back to visit us again! -Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The motel itself wasn’t bad, but we had personally come in the morning to make sure we got a room overlooking the pool which looked really nice; we were told that they putting a room aside for us and would be ready when we came back; however, when we got back after dinner around 7, the room instead of looking at the pool, looked at a fence! And, you guessed it, no more rooms available .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank cfb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

We always do our best to accommodate our guests, but we're sorry if there were no rooms available that overlooked the pool at the time. We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope that you'll be back. -Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Good hotel in town.
Pool is OK. Very good breakfast.The beds are very comfortable and the price is very acceptable. Not far from the beach. About 20 minutes driving.
We really enjoy it. Visit Pier 60 and Clearwater beach downtown. Also Busch Gardens is a must!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gaby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

It's nice to know you liked your comfortable bed as well as the convenient location, Gaby! We enjoyed having you as our guest, and I hope that you'll consider staying with us again in the future.-Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

If you need a hotel on a budget, this place is unbeatable. The rooms aren't fancy, but they're very clean and comfortable. I can tell the building is older, but the rooms have been updated nicely. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. They also serve a better complimentary breakfast than most, with Belgian waffles, B&G, yogurt, fruit, cereal, and much more than your typical bagels and coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

We're happy you liked your updated room as well as the complimentary breakfast, Bryan! It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and I hope that you'll visit us again the next time you're in the area. -Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We spent 6 nights in Room 224 from Feb 12 to 18 before departing for a cruise from Tampa. We are not fussy travellers. We look for clean, safe and comfortable in a practical location with a decent rate. THE MAGNUSON WAS ALL THESE THINGS!!!

The room is old/basic but nothing significantly wrong. In fact, our biggest complaint about the room was there was no program guide on the tv. When there was an issue eg. My safe stopped working so I spoke to Julia(?) at the front desk - who was SUPER all week - she sent somebody almost immediately to fix it. We were there the week the tv system changed over (from SD cable to digital satellite I'm guessing – much better picture) and when we arrived back that evening, things didn't work well. Tyler (also front desk) came over and tried to reprogram. He soon learned the entire installation had a few bugs so arranged for the satellite folks to be back the next morning and everyone got fixed. In fact, ALL THE STAFF from front desk to breakfast to maintenance were SUPER!!!

The pool was GREAT! We were there 6 days and at the pool all or part of 5 days (okay, we're from Canada and enjoying the sun and a pool beat fighting lineups at an attraction). The Clearwater Mall (Targets, Dollar Tree, restaurants) are a 10 or 15 min. walk. The bus (#60) is roughly a 5 min. walk and you can buy an all day bus pass for $5 on the bus or $2.50 if you're a senior at a CVS Drug store a 5 – 10 minute drive away. One day, we went all the way to St. Pete's and rode the downtown trolley for a TOTAL of $5.50 for the two of us return. A Walmart grocery is a 5 min. drive and Rumba – our favourite Clearwater restaurant - is only a 10 min. drive.

If you are driving, you might want to google a satellite view of how to get there from Hwy 60 if you are headed west. You need to get across a couple of lanes on a collector road, take a U turn and again cross 2 lanes. However, it was much easier and less traffic than I thought it would be. Just good to have a “picture” perspective.

The breakfast was basic but okay. A bit more variety of fruit would be nice but it did the trick.

So, location, price, pool, room and staff were all fine and we would certainly consider going back if we were in the area. In fact, I did e-mail the Manager to see about a longer stay next winter but I don't think our servers like each other. Other e-mails I sent before I arrived weren't received either (but Kelly, you have our contact info if you are taking long term guests!!)

Thank you MAGNUSON. We're satisfied customers and hope to return!

David + Cheryl
Canada

Room Tip: Quieter Rooms are near the back
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainDMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I'm happy you liked everything from our helpful staff to the convenient location, too. We're always glad to do everything we can to accommodate longer stays, and I'll look into where your emails ended up. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you again! -Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews