We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Last Cast Charters

Last Cast Charters
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Cudjoe Key
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When you book with Last Cast Charters you will be fishing with Captain Andrew Tipler. He has been a full time fishing guidelines the Lower Keys since 2004. You can see Captain Andrew in action through numerous tv appearances and is an Orvis endorsed guide. Patient instruction from an experienced captain. What makes the Florida Keys one of the worlds great fishing destinations is the variety. Last Cast Charters offers reef, wreck and offshore fishing, inshore fishing on the flats and in the backcountry, Gulf of Mexico wreck fishing as well as trips to Key West, the marquesas and even up to Florida bay and Everglades national park. Cudjoe Key is centrally located to access all these different fisheries. Last Cast Charters offers fishing with live bait and artificial lures as well as fly fishing. The boats are top of the line with the most advanced fish finding electronics. All tackle is top shelf.
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Captain Andrew is a true professional. We stayed in Cudjoe Key at the end of June and fished with him twice. Both trips were perfect in every sense.
Captain Andrew has a 24ft SeaHunter bay boat with a 250 Yamaha four stroke. He has a power pole and GPS trolling motor for inshore trips and top shelf electronics for offshore runs.
His boat was perfectly comfortable in both inshore and offshore settings.
Our first charter was a run to the Gulf Stream, which was about 20 miles out. We found several schools of Mahi and took home all we could eat. We released many more! Then we moved to a bottom fishing location and hooked a 15lb Snowy Grouper (delicious). There was constant action, and Captain Andrew educated us as we fished.

A couple days later, we stayed inshore for tarpon, jacks, and ladyfish. Huge success! My son and I both landed a migratory tarpon (about 120lbs each). We had two others that were hooked and jumped, but we couldn't get them to the boat.
After an unbelievable morning fishing tarpon, we ran to the shallows and caught at least 20 ladyfish and 5 Jacks before heading home.

Captain Andrew uses all top of the line Shimano tackle for both inshore and offshore. He is truly set up to take advantage of everything the Keys have to offer. He made us all feel comfortable, and we had an unforgettable experience

Highly, highly recommend Last Cast Charters!!

Thank jkwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lastcastcharters, Owner at Last Cast Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

It was an absolute pleasure fishing with you guys! Nice job on the tarpon! Biggest fish by youngest angler on lightest rod.... It led to a quote I won't forget.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"my wife"
in 6 reviews
"fish"
in 30 reviews
"clean boat"
in 3 reviews
"top notch"
in 5 reviews
"without a doubt"
in 3 reviews
"yellowtail"
in 3 reviews
"lower keys"
in 2 reviews
"andrew"
in 34 reviews
"tarpon"
in 8 reviews
"capt"
in 13 reviews
"plan"
in 5 reviews
"tackle"
in 5 reviews
"reef"
in 3 reviews
"goal"
in 2 reviews
"jacks"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"trips"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Fished with Andrew 3 days. The goal was Tarpon. First time we tried. We had our chances, more than 50, learned a lot, and I mean a lot. Already booked May 2018.
We also deep dropped and reef fished. Caught giant Yellowtail, delicious.
I have fished with Andrew for nearly 20 years, would never use anybody else. He is knowledgeable, patient, and an excellent teacher. Fishing with him end of next week, can't wait. My wife is coming along, but I'll bring the 12 wgt just in case.

Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lastcastcharters, Owner at Last Cast Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Always great seeing you! Tell your dad I said hi. I have missed him on his last few trips down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had the pleasure of taking a 1/2 day trip with Captain Andrew on April 9th, 2017.
Three ladies from South Carolina who had not been on a guided fishing trip prior to this one.
Fishing the Keys was far different than what we were used to (flounder fishing mostly) back home. It was a wonderful experience. The Captain is very knowledgeable not only about fish species, but about the local environment and ecology as well. We caught and released many different species of fish including a 6 ft. Lemon shark! We had a great time. The equipment was top notch and his teaching skills are exceptional. We will definitely request his services again WHEN we return to the Keys.

Thank Olliesgonelazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lastcastcharters, Owner at Last Cast Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks for the great review.
I enjoyed the ladies trip, you guys were a blast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Capt. Andrew always delivers even when the conditions aren't the best. His knowledge and experience in the area are hard to match. We have never had a bad day on the water with Andrew. Definitely a must for your keys trip.

Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lastcastcharters, Owner at Last Cast Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Enjoyed fishing with you guys! It's always great seeing you.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We love to get out on the ocean when we are in the Keys. This vacation we decided to charter with CAPT Tipler. Our expectations were exceeded and we were reelin them in. Never have we caught so much! It was as though the fish gods answered our prayers. We had a wonderful time! Without a doubt we will fish with him again.

Thank traceymmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lastcastcharters, Owner at Last Cast Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

I appreciate the positive review. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Last Cast Charters also viewed

Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Last Cast Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing