We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still confused over the other reviews!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daytona Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villa Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 17 Daytona Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The Villa looks very nice from the outside however that warm fuzzy feeling disappears once you have the chance to actually look at the place up close. Jim and his cat Smokey greeted us when we arrived and as he showed us around it became apparent that the cat (which was not mentioned in the advertisement) had free roam of the house which seems odd considering that many people are allergic to cats. Once Jim showed us the house, the kitchen area which had crumbs all over the counter and dishes piled in the sink he then pointed out the tea pot which he offered us to use however it looked as though it came from a yard sale. He continued the tour and finally led us to the separate rooms that my sister and I were going to be staying in and then left us to settle in. My sister had the Queen Isabella room and I had the Marco Polo room. As soon as I started looking around the room both my sister and I noticed that the dust around the headboards and the night stands was very thick. I'm not sure if it was the cat or the dust but it caused my sister to become congested almost immediately. We left the property to get some dinner and decided that this was not a place either of us wanted to stay at so we called Jim and explained to him that my sister might be allergic to the cat. When we returned to give him back the keys and the gate opener we offered to pay for the one night thinking he would not accept it due to the cat causing my sister's reaction but he insisted on $100.00 saying he waited for us to arrive even though he lives in the house. Our decision not to stay was the best choice we made. We lost a $100.00 but checked in at a Hyatt right on the beach for a cheaper rate. I am not usually one to complain but for the price he was charging this shouldn't be considered a "bed and breakfast" as all he was offering us to eat in the morning was a fruit cup or some yogurt and toast. I would not recommend this to anyone I know or anyone who is expecting something extravagant. The pictures make this place look a lot brighter than it really is.
On a positive note: The house has plenty of history and Jim is great at sharing his stories of the family portraits that adorn the walls in the hallway. There are a lot of antiques throughout the home as well. The best feature about the place was the gated property.

Room Tip: I really don't think I could answer this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank X305MLroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2015

A remarkable treasure find off the beaten path at Daytona Beach ! Consider yourself extremely lucky if you find The Villa ! It is such a Historic, Beautiful, Quiet,Private, Clean,Romantic,Comfortable,Friendly,Serene,Luxurious ( yet Informal ) and Wonderful experience away from the hum drum of Daytona Beach ! (Yet only 2-3 blocks to the beach.) The Villa is THE resort and bed & breakfast to which all others should be compared ! The owner,Jim Camp, is a fantastic host`and you will never meet a finer person ! I shall return to stay with him whenever I am in central East coastal Florida .

Room Tip: All Rooms are Fantastic But especially the King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doctorjohnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Wonderful, wonderful. Sometimes using the internet to book a room "sight unseen" really works out. We picked out the Villa for our Labor Day/ Anniversary get-away and really hit the jackpot. James was a gracious and welcoming host. The accommodations were first-rate and being in the King Juan Carlos Room made us feel like royalty. We won't be staying anywhere else when in DAB.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Romantic, charming and convenient. I stayed in the King Juan Carlos Room. It was spectacular. The other rooms were nice as well. The owner/manager lives on the premises and is charming, hospitable and a fountain of information about the house, the antiques he personally collected, the art work, etc. 4 blocks from the beach and the pool and patio are a great esccape on a hot afternoon. Loved it!

Stayed: April 2015
Thank HeidiJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The Villa was truly a diamond in the rough! My fiancee and I had a great time at the Villa getting to know Jim and the unique history of the property. We book the Juan Carlos room (based on other reviews) and were not disappointed. The private balcony with lounge chairs and a hot tub definitely added to the getaway we were looking for. Each morning, we were greeted by Jim with fresh coffee and our choice of toast/bagel/muffins, fresh fruit cups, yogurt or all of the above (depending on our appetite!) We were lucky enough to have the Villa to ourselves most of the week, but met a nice mother/son from California during the middle of our stay. My fiancee and I got engaged during this trip and sprung for the "romance" package which was a nice treat after the engagement. The flowers were fresh, strawberries delicious, and we still use the bathrobes today. I am hoping we can get to Daytona again so we can stay here again. Thanks Jim for all you did to accommodate us! - Jason & Valerie

Room Tip: Splurge for the Juan Carlos room...you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
6.4 km away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast
River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 17 in Daytona Beach
274 reviews
4 km away
The German Berl' Inn
The German Berl' Inn
#2 of 17 in Daytona Beach
44 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 801 N Peninsula Dr, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3724
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $159 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Spanish mansion, built in 1929, is located on the beachside and is just four blocks from miles of sparkling beaches. Surrounded by majestic palm trees and flowering hibiscus The Villa Inn Bed & Breakfast offers many unique surprises. Choose from four uniquely themed guest rooms including the King Juan Carlos room with private balcony and whirlpool tub on the veranda. Our guests enjoy an array of sightseeing and attraction options nearby including the revitalized boardwalk area teeming with fun-filled amusement rides and arcade games, the historic Band shell which hosts free concerts and firework shows every Saturday night during the summer months and the Main Street Pier, home to Joe's Crab Shack and The Roof, an island-style, relaxing rooftop bar with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and beyond. The Villa Bed & Breakfast is also walking distance to Seabreeze Blvd. where you'll find shops, cafes and trendy nightlife. The Villa Inn Bed & Breakfast is the perfect respite for business travelers, race fans, romantic getaways, weddings and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villa b&b
The Villa Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing