We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wildlife river tour”

St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in DeBary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beauty of Natural Florida aboard our new 28 passenger pontoon boat. Join us in exploring the back waters of one of the most protected areas of the St. John's River. Whether it is from November through March when the many migratory birds and wintering manatees abound or during the summer months when we see the alligator hatchlings and the year round residents.
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We were very fortunate to have Roger as our guide and he was remarkably knowledgeable about the history of the river and the plants, birds, reptiles and river lore. We saw so many different birds and turtles and alligators - it was a very exciting 2+ hour tour.

Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, Owner at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour tour"
in 13 reviews
"john's river"
in 15 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 4 reviews
"barred owl"
in 3 reviews
"my favorite"
in 3 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 3 reviews
"boat ride"
in 3 reviews
"his wife"
in 3 reviews
"florida wildlife"
in 3 reviews
"great photos"
in 2 reviews
"saw lots of wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"great information"
in 2 reviews
"orlando parks"
in 2 reviews
"sandhill cranes"
in 2 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"birds and animals"
in 2 reviews
Filter

68 - 72 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

The St Augustine Camera Club arranged a tour with this super Tour.
They actually scouted the "photo op" places for us to see the most birds, wildlife.
It was a wonderful tour. We saw a great variety of birds, gators, etc.
And, a VERY rare plant.
I have been on other trips like this one, but this trip had a few speces I had never seen/photographed before. '
As mentioned, the guides scout the area daily and know what is there that people would like to see...
The boat is extremely comfortable and stable for photography with long lenses.
I totally recommend this tour.
For a nice boat ride, or for birding and/or photography.
you get to see lots of gators too.

Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, Owner at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

We did have a great day we look forward to your group every year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Rented a kayak. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Devan was especially knowledgeable. He knew something about ever animal we saw.

Thank earnest7335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, Owner at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thanks for the great review but you were at St Johns River Cruises at Blue Springs State Park. We don't rent kayaks they are our friendly competitor that does a good job. We are glad you had a good time on the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Our camera club made its annual trip with St Johns River Eco Tours and as usual, the tour was a great hit with the members. It was a spectacular day, and wildlife was plentiful. We had plenty of sharp eyes to spot the animals, and the owner Doug and Captain Dooley could provide the information about them. This business goes out of its way to provide us a productive and entertaining tour. That's why we keep coming back!

1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, Owner at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Your group is our favorite trip of the year. We learn and enjoy all of the machine gun like cameras capturing all of those wonderful photographs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I have rented pontoon boats frequently, but never took an organized tour. This year, we decided on St. John's River Eco Tours, and we are so glad that we did. The guide and captain were extremely knowledgeable, engaging, and respectful of the environment and animals in it. I would most definitely take this tour again.

2  Thank ipaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, Owner at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

The river is a very special place. What we try to do is to help you see and better understand the wildlife that is all around us. I am so happy that you enjoyed and look forward to coming and seeing us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC also viewed

 

Been to St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing