We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is closed”
Review of Hotel DeFuniak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel DeFuniak
Reviewed 27 December 2015

This was a fine boutique hotel/ B&B but has closed. The hotel and its adjoining restaurant are vacant and striped of all furnishings. We had hoped it would reopen under new ownership but since it is striped to the bare walls that does not look likely.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tommytucker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2015

Rooms very well done, some Retro but all clean, quaint and well done. Staff great, food/bar wonderful. Free wifi. Hotel pretty much in the heart of things. Enjoy your stay in a very old hotel that does Not smell like mildew.

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Received a very unprofessional letter today canceling a confirmed reservation at this hotel. Rather sad that the sale of this hotel and transition is going extremely poorly. They obviously are in serious trouble and poorly planned this transition. Questions should be asked to Florida state hotel regulators. Are they a viable hotel? Is canceling confirmed reservations a sound strategy? Is it legal? Many people have posted they hoped the sale and transition would go smoothly. Apparently this place is having serious difficulties. Who can trust them now? Sad story. See email in attached photo.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
5  Thank Globaltrekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2gofishing, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

We understand your disappointment and share your concerns. We just don't what other choices would have been better. We don't mean to be cynical, but our choices were to cancel your reservation or let you knock on the door when you arrive. We sincerely regret that this cancellation has disrupted your travel plans.. We have always bent over backwards to assist our guests with their requests and needs. It is very disheartening for us that the new owner did not fulfill his reservations obligations to you and others. However, we have made every effort to assist the new owner with a smooth transition but his total disregard for the needs of our guests has been all most entirely out of our control.

With warm regards and sincere regrets,
Tom & Pam Hutchins
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The staff and atmosphere were absolutely fantastic and it was a breath of fresh air!! great room great service breakfast was awesome !! my go to when i need to find me and need some relaxation !! love love love it and the couple that run the breakfast at the B & B part are so sweet !! look forward to every visit and try to stay every few months to retain my sanity !!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

For less than the cost of a decent room elsewhere, my wife and I spent two nights in this historic hotel where we received personalized service and had a tasty breakfast served each morning. We enjoyed a bottle of wine one night in the cozy lobby area and chatted with another couple who were doing the same. We also enjoyed morning walks in the nearby neighborhood full of historic homes encircling the town's perfectly round lake. The employees were all very friendly and we enjoyed a trp one night to nearby Bogey's restaurant. We will be back, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for room with street view if you want to see anything out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kendall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeFuniak Springs
22.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Springs - Crestview
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Spri...
#1 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
262 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Springs
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Spr...
#2 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
106 reviews
3 km away
Regency Inn and Suites
Regency Inn and Suites
#7 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Best Western Crossroads Inn
Best Western Crossroads Inn
#3 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
366 reviews
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
39 reviews
39.6 km away
Hampton Inn Niceville-Eglin Air Force Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeFuniak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeFuniak

Address: 400 E Nelson Ave, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433-7443
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range: $263 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeFuniak 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our beautiful Boutique Hotel located just off Interstate 10 in one of Florida's most historic small towns. Our intention is to exceed your hospitality expectations and give you an extraordinary experience to remember. Whether you're here for business, pleasure, or taking a break from that long highway drive, we want to host you in one of our luxurious accommodations! We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel DeFuniak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing