We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$259
US$237
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Destin)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$223
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$171
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
179
135
85
48
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
135
85
48
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace buildinggift cardfront rowbedroom bath condoduring peak seasonbunk bedshot tuboutdoor poolthrough vrbospring breakbring your owntiki hutview from the balconyan umbrellanice resortgreat condowe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is our third year in a row to stay at Pelican Beach. The past two years, we stayed in the two bedroom units overlooking the pool. This year we traveled with a smaller group and stayed in a one bedroom dolphin unit. The rooms are always comfortable. I only have a few complaints: 1. do not travel here during peak season. This was our first trip over the 4th of July and the place was packed! It was difficult to check in and the wrist band that you have to wear during peak times is very annoying. We usually travel in september and don't have to deal with that. 2. The beaches get very crowded here. If you are looking for quiet seclusion this is not the beach for you! 3. Wifi was terrible! We basically treated this vacation as a break from internet/social media because trying to get anything to work on our phone or Ipad was nearly impossible.

With all that being said, we obviously enjoy it here as we come back every year. The small cafe and shop in the resort is a nice benefit. We were able to run in and get my son some goggles when he wanted a pair without having to leave the resort. Another added benefit is that the pool is shaded very early in the afternoon. After a hot morning at the beach, we were able to go relax by the pool and be in complete shade by 2:00pm.

Room Tip: We chose second floor so we could take the stairs and avoid the lines at the elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jfred127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences and review of Pelican Beach. We are listening and appreciate your comments and hope you’ll come visit us again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome couples getaway. The 3bd 3bth condo was spacious,clean,bwds were comfy and the kitchen had everything needed for stay in cooking, condo even supplied beach chairs and umbrellas. The beach was not crowded and the water was amazing!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We appreciate your comments and hope you’ll come visit us again, soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

I booked a 1 bedroom condo on the 19th floor from an owner via a 3rd party site for an excellent rate! The location, pools and beach front of this property are all excellent. There is ample parking and lots of restaurants, shops and attractions within walking distance! I'd definitely recommend this property!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your review of Pelican Beach and Destin. We appreciate your comments and hope you’ll come visit us again, soon. If you're looking for some of the best deals for Pelican Beach, visit our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Our family of five (two adults and three small children) rented a two-bedroom condo for one week. We stayed in Unit 913, which is far enough on the end that our view was almost completely beach front. Having the second bedroom was perfect to push all of the kids' toys and mess out of sight. We also loved having an opening to the balcony from the master bedroom.

The building grounds are very nice as well. The kids enjoyed the pool more than the adults. The main pool is mostly in the shade in the afternoon, and that made the water much cooler than I would have preferred.

Two of the elevators were inoperable during our stay, but we understand that maintenance issues can arise at any time.

Our only complaint is that the beach front is not as long as other resorts/condominiums, and the chair-rental agency set up chairs/umbrellas three to four rows deep. If you plan to bring your own chairs/umbrella, you are unable to sit anywhere near the water. This made it very difficult to keep an eye on our two boys while also tending to our infant daughter. Until this issue is resolved, we will more than likely seek another rental in the future.

Room Tip: If you need a two bedroom, try to request a room that ends in -13. It provides a better view of the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We're always listening and looking to improve everywhere we can. We appreciate your comments and hope you’ll come visit us again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

1. Elevators - spent most of vacation waiting for an elevator. Two out of five down most of the time we were there. Twenty floors of condos. One of the largest complexes in the area. Not even close to enough elevators. And you had to fight the staff for them (most places the staff defer to the guests, but not here...get the heck outta the way because the staff have priority).

2. Umbrellas - Four rows deep. One foot apart. Can't move. Like being on a crowded discount airline flight. Packed in like sardines. Plus they take them away at 4:30 even though you pay for 5:00 and let 15 in front row stay until 7:00. I asked and never could get a straight answer.

3. Smoking - have never been to a beach complex with so much smoking. The beach umbrella madness is worsened by smokers beside you, in front of you, behind you...at the pool. In the hallways. In the elevators.

4. Staff - rude...checkout at 10. Got up early. Still no luggage carts. Elevators packed. Took forever. Still, no sympathy. Cleaning folks ran us out at 9:58. Just came in and scooted us out of the way as we were leaving.

5. Rules - there are none. Mass chaos and disorder.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JaceMan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here. We're sorry to learn of your experiences and so sorry that happened to you. We're noting your concerns and always looking for ways to improve any situation we can. We hope you'll consider another visit again in the future. Again, thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews