We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resorts of Pelican Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The elevators are terrible constantly having problems, I I talked to someone at the front desk about it they didn't seem to care, told me they were just old it happens. not a pool person I'm there for the beach, but there in the shade most of the day. The grills are worn out. Tiki bar closes at 7, cafe/convince store not convenient closing at 3pm. The beach is taken up by rental umbrellas and chairs starting at 30 a day. Customer service here didn't seem as friendly as they have in years past, more of a inconvenience to ask them for anything. The unit#1818 itself was good a couple little things that bother me, but nothing to really write about. I do wish there were bike racks that would have been a little more convenient. I think the main issue as I sit on the back porch here is the management company. From talking to other people and other places here I can pretty much guarantee you this will be our last stay here. For the price we pay I guess you just expect a little more then these people can provide.

Room Tip: 1818 was our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experiences and review of Pelican Beach. We're listening and we appreciate your comments and sincerely hope you’ll come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed in room 1601 top floor. The place has everything you need. We enjoyed the whole week. The beach is very clean and water is clean. There is a tiki bar next to beach with beach service. The pool is very nice just wished it had umbrellas. The only reason for 4 not 5 stars is the Condo looks tired. We loved our stay and will return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences and review of Pelican Beach. We're listening to all of our comments in an effort to improve every where we can. We appreciate your comments and hope you’ll come visit us again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This was our 4th year to stay here at this property for vacation. This year was by far out of control with the company they use for umbrella service completely taking over the entire beach area for this property. The company sets their umbrellas and chairs up a full 4 rows back all the way across from edge to edge. You can't take your own umbrellas in front of them. You might be able to squeeze your own chair in the very front of them but then practically in the water. Looking down the beach at other resorts, they all have company's that set chairs up but not to this degree at all of 4 entire rows back! And only half of them were even being used. It is $30 a day to rent them. So, what a waste of space as well as someone's hard earned vacation time and what they had to pay to stay at this resort. There are also only like a few luggage carts for a resort full of people to all share. The grills were also very worn out leaning forward and backward to the point they could just fall to the ground and hurt someone. Our wifi did not work in our room either. The shape of the place has scaled back a ton but the prices are not any less expensive. Also, the manager in the onsite cafe is very rude and has a chip on his shoulder. I witnessed him being rude to guests and his employees repeatedly. We will have to find a new location with access to the beach like one would expect when they stay at an ocean front condo.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Vacationer00088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We stayed in Unit 1107, and I have no complaints about the room at all -- it was clean and nice. The disposal clogged up with just a few egg shells in it, but maintenance came and fixed it immediately. Really no complaints about the service or building at all. However, we will not stay here again until the umbrella situation on the beach changes. Evidently, they've contracted out to a service to set these up and they set them up 4 rows deep the entire stretch of beach in front of the condo. Some of them were so close to the water at high tide that they were IN the water. No place for my kids to build sand castles or play much at all. It was SO crowded with umbrellas, you could hardly walk through them! Of course, they charge you -- we bit the bullet and paid for 2 days, but I hated giving them money to make us feel like sardines. My husband talked to the guys working the stand, and they were very nice and didn't really like all the rules *they* had to follow either. Evidently, the condo board or owners vote on things like this. I understand that the beach will be crowded during peak season, and that this particular condo has a lot of units, but this is really ridiculous! The beaches on either side of us were almost completely empty, as were quite a few of the chairs/umbrellas clogging up our beach. We won't be staying here again until this policy changes.

Room Tip: Beach view balcony worth it; check photos - each unit is individually owned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Booked an eight night stay at the Pelican Beach Resort for a baseball tournament in the area. Unit 2003 is in horrendous condition. Dirty, old and in desperate need of a renovation or at least a coat of paint. Linens were old and musty, a very old vacuum, mismatched dishes and chipped drinking glasses. The only good thing about this unit is the view of the beach, but its location near the elevator, laundry facility and stairs makes it very noisy. Check in and service from the front desk was apathetic during our entire stay. Two small pools, way too small for the number of people staying here. The elevators didn't have any ventilation and were hot and slow, some even out of service during our stay. Convenient location to the beach. There is a deck next to their tiki bar, where we tried to enjoy the sunset one evening but our group quickly left because of the many roaches crawling everywhere....disgusting!
You are issued a parking pass at check in, but security barely looks up when you drive in. Didn't make us feel safe, and exiting the resort is extremely difficult due to constant busy traffic and no traffic light.
I've travelled in Europe, Africa, Middle East and Latin America...this was the worst accommodations I've experienced in my many years of travel. Unfortunately, we couldn't check out due to the baseball tournament we were participating in and without losing the thousands of dollars we spent.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank luv_2_tvl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
11.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
11.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts of Pelican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts of Pelican Beach

Address: 1002 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2992
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $212 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts of Pelican Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Resort and Conference Center and the Terrace at Pelican Beach are located in the heart of Destin. Pelican Beach Resort includes 340 gulf-front and gulf-view condominium units, 19 floor high-rise with 1 and 2 bedroom units. The Terrace includes 95 units lakefront views with 2 and 3 bedroom condominium units.Guests at either property can use the facilities at both, which include 3 large pools, one kiddie pool, two hot tubs, two fitness centers, two saunas, tennis, and an arcade/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resorts of Pelican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Hotel Destin
Pelican Beach Resort Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing