We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great visit

The people and the view was very good!! Enjoyed our visit and Stay overnight on the island... read more

Reviewed 24 August 2022
windyacres4
,
Durham, Maine
via mobile
Really Got to Know the Island

Peter was a great guide; he was friendly, prompt, and taught our small group of four in his van... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2021
335rikt
,
Fredericton, Canada
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
44
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
44
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour highly recommend this tour roosevelt cottage liberty point rocky beaches comfortable van provincial park deer island new brunswick fantastic tour low tide many thanks peter head campobello stories information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Peter was a great guide; he was friendly, prompt, and taught our small group of four in his van lots about Campobello during our three hour tour.

All arranged by Peter, we got a jet boat ride from St. Andrews to Campobello island and he was waiting to pick us up at the dock. We picked up the other two tourists and headed to all the corners of the island.

We saw a bald eagle, rocky beaches, lighthouses, and lots more. He was filled with info and stories about the island and answered all questions. Peter talked just the right amount, giving us all enough quiet moments to absorb everything.

In addition to the tour, he not only arranged for the jet boat ride to the island but also took us to tea with Eleanor (which he booked for us) and the café at the provincial park then, dropped us off at the dock to get the jet boat back to St. Andrews.

If you're planning on visiting Campobello, I highly recommend this tour. You will really get to know the island. Much much better than tooling around on your own!

I particularly liked Peter's balance of a laid back attitude with serious professionalism.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank 335rikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Having lived on the island for many years, Peter is very knowledgeable about both the historical aspects of Campobello as well as local lore. He is enthusiastic and shares his love of history and nature easily as he gives a three hour comfortable van tour of the island.

Our group of four adults appreciated Peter’s thoughtfulness. He called me the day before to see if we needed anything and suggested we leave our car on Deer Island. This made the ferry trip more enjoyable, saved us money, and ensured we had no difficulty getting on the ferry to Campobello. He picked us up at the ferry, stopped at the Roosevelt Visitors Center for washrooms, toured various parts of the whole island, and returned to the Center for lunch and a tour of the Roosevelt Cottage given by Center guides.he returned us to the ferry in good time.

Peter gave each couple a receipt for our tour and explained the New Brunswick 20% travel rebate program which we had not been aware of.

A very enjoyable day! Highly recommend Peter’s tour.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank 75ML75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 June 2021

We are freshly home from our first ever (and most certainly not our last) visit to Campobello Island. Having never been there before, we reached out to Peter at Campobello Sightseeing Island Discovery Tours for guidance as we planned our trip and for a tour so that we saw all the important sights.

And what a good idea that was! Due to Covid travel restrictions, we were fortunate to be Peter’s first tour of the season. Peter met us at the ferry, joined us for lunch, and then showed us his Island.

Peter introduced us to the Friar’s Head Rock, Roosevelt Park, Mullholland Point Lighthouse with a view on the Canada/US bridge (complete with stories of the peoples who were important in the history and development of Campobello Island). Then on to Liberty Point with amazing rock formations and stunning views.

We had the opportunity to be rock hounds at Raccoon beach where the force of ocean meeting land creates the smoothest, roundest rocks … then across the island to Head Harbour Lighthouse - which we saw at low tide. (It was so impressive, we went back early the next morning to see it also at high tide and that was worth the trip!). We drove down to Head Harbour wharf. Then back to Welshport where we learned about local churches and the library.

We saw and witnessed beautiful geography, geology, and oceanography. We heard about the history of the island and the interesting people who have called Campobello home, as well as local festivals and activities … and Oh! My! Word! What an amazing little island! We are so grateful to have had Peter’s knowledge of Campobello to set the stage for our visit We can’t wait to go back.

Many, many thanks to Peter who showed us the island paradise he now calls home.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Climber715797
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 October 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic tour of the island with Peter who is very knowledgable and passionate about this beautiful gem of an island. Well worth a visit if you’re staying in St Andrews/surrounding areas. Thanks Peter for a great tour!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank cocodaisy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 September 2019 via mobile

Peter’s tour is expansive and very interesting. He has an intimate knowledge of Campobello and presents it very well in addition to pointing out numerous point of interest.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jistjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews