We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere and food ”

Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Ellenton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch
Description: We are a local favorite thanks to our delicious food, "Old Florida" vibe, outstanding service and of course terrific views! We offer live music 5 days and week with two acts playing on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Karaoke is a great night to come to on Tuesdays! When you arrive you can sit yourself at any of our tables, from the outdoor patio, inside dining, or our very own TIKI ISLAND! Remember, if it's busy, it may take a bit longer for your made to order food, but where can you go and wait while sitting and drinking, listening to music or simply enjoying the views of the Manatee River!
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

It reminded me of a old school southern bar food place. Service was good and fast. My kids loved the fries! Very unique style of fries

Thank lb33wonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody R, General Manager at Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks IB33wonka! We love our fries too! See you and the fam soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We've been here twice now within a year and both experiences were absolutely outstanding. It seems they always have live music - GOOD live music. The freshness and portion sizeof the food are unheard of for this type of establishment. One would think typical bar food, but whoever the chef and management team is, they need a raise. The only thing that isn't good about Woody's is their parking situation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody R, General Manager at Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you Casey! We work hard to make things perfect every time! It's nice to hear good reviews from our guests! I'll be sure to pass the message to the Chef and Management Team! Our parking is being worked on just waiting on the county now!! Thanks Casey and we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We sat eating our meal whilst looking out on to the Manatee River and the 5.00pm rush hour going home traffic. Open air and indoor air-conditioned eating. The food was great with good sized portions, but then the heavens opened and our visit was cut short, but that’s to be expected in August. But the time we spent was great even if we did get a little bit wet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reuben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody R, General Manager at Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you Reuben for your awesome review! Yes, this time of year can be a crazy time! One minute it's sunshine and happiness, the next it's a monsoon! We're glad you had a good time before your shower and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,
Corey Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

No one said this is fine dining. It is pub food and is pretty good if you set your expectations correctly. This is a great place to sit out by the water, listen to the band, have a few beers and visit with friends. Bring the kids - they're the ones who usually get the dancing started. We come by boat. They have a nice little basin where you can tie off and kick back! Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Creekstone4505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody R, General Manager at Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks Creekstone4505!

We love having reviews like yours! Spread the word and keep on coming back! We need those little guys and gals dancing and having fun at The ROO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Grab a drink, listen to the band , and have a good time. Do not order any food or you will be disappointed. Everything I've had over the years has been average at best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trainman72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody R, General Manager at Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello trainman72017,

We thank you for your review on our little place, we are happy that you like to come and hang with us while listening to the bands. I would like to talk to you about the food. We are always looking for ways to make our customers even more excited to come to the Roo, and part of that comes from reviews like this. Regarding our food, we feel we have a nice balance of Floridian Pub Grub, nothing fancy, but perfect fresh cooked meals. Please give me a call so we could discuss any ideas you may have or comments with our current menu. We'd love an opportunity to match that great vibe you get while listening to the bands with a full and satisfied belly!

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon!
Corey Davis
941-722-2391
theroo@tampabay.rr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill also viewed

 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Woody's River Roo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing