We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great server and bartender Sabrina”
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rod and Gun Club
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

While in Everglades City we stopped into the Rod and Gun Club for drinks and some food. Our Server was Sabrina and she was fantastic. Great sense of humor and makes a wonderful Mojito. Also was knowledgeable about the area, fishing charters and recommended great choices off the menu.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Lodge is very old, built?? 20's or before. Lots of old dark wood. What a lodge should look like, I think. It's on the waterway going into the gulf. In its heyday people only accessed it from the water. The cabanas have recently been remodeled. Ours was a bedroom/bath with wood floors recently finished with spar varnish. Wonderful bed and bedding. Even a flat screen TV that we didn't turn on. Bath was all attractively tiled and a strong shower. Good lamps. Be sure to see the front of the main ladge facing the water with the old 20"s pickup and fancy stairs leading into the lodge. Also an excellent restaurant in a screened veranda over the water.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bonken99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This is a super unique small hotel which has survived almost a 100 years. Back in the day, presidents and rock stars visited.
Now its a smaller venue, but clean,quiet and convenient. They have short hours, and the price is right. Bring Cash.. no credit cards.The Wifi works well in the main building, but accommodations are in close by triplex houses.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, have a fridge, updated bathrooms, clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Crawdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

On our way back to Bonita Springs from Miami someone suggested we detour to the Everglades Rod and Gun Club for lunch. I really didn't want to go, but majority ruled...and I am so glad they did! The place itself is very historic, interesting, and worth a visit without the food, but, oh my, the food is well worth the detour. We sat on a pleasant patio with the pool on one side and the river on the other. Our server, Billy Morgan, was top notch. Helpful, knowledgeable, pleasant, and willing to go above and beyond...but more about that later. The guys ordered the Alligator bites as an ap for the table...they were tender, fried in a delicious batter, not the slightest bit greasy, and served with an unusual and excellent homemade dipping sauce. We each ordered the grouper sandwich for our lunch...it is served in three different ways...grilled, fried, and in a special preparation unique to the Rod and Gun Club. One of us had it grilled and the other three had it fried. It was, without exception, the FRESHEST, most delicious, perfectly prepared grouper any of us have ever eaten, and we dine out a lot. Served with French fries and cole slaw on a buttered grilled bun, we cleaned our plates. The batter was just the right consistency, thin, crisp, and oh so tasty. Not the thick gooey breading so often found on fried items, theirs was .almost tempura-like...YUM!! Bloody Marys accompanied our lunch and they make them to order so you can increase or decrease the spiciness. As to our waiter going above and beyond, one of the guys' wedding rings slipped off his finger and as luck would have it, fell thru the slats on the deck onto the ground below. You can only access that area by crawling under the deck.....which Billy did. He found the ring and returned it to our great delight and appreciation. So, as you can see, the Everglades Rod and Gun Club has much to recommend it and I would advise all of you to go a little out of your way to visit, have lunch, enjoy a little history and relax in the setting of old Florida. You won't be sorry, It's definitely worth the trip!! Say Hello, to Billy for us!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Smo24411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This place seems to be relying entirely on its historic value to draw customers and, historically speaking, it is a very unique and interesting place....but don't expect to be welcomed just to step back into the lobby as a sign at the front door makes it clear that you are not welcome to step inside unless you intend to buy a meal, a drink or lodging. We booked a room in advance and were given a rate of $135 but it was upped to $175 when we arrived. Barbara, the front desk clerk, was not the least bit engaging or friendly...and did not give any explanation of amenities--or the lack thereof--that we eventually discovered on our own. There are no rooms in the main lodge/club...only what they call cottages. But don't let the word "cottage" fool you as these are former cottages that have since been divided into 3 or 4 very basic motel rooms with few amenities. Our room was clean and quaint with a decent décor but few amenities. The bathroom has only a very small shower stall, no vent fan, no shampoo, conditioner, lotion or hair dryer. There was also no WIFI, no coffee maker or microwave. The nighttime temperature was down to 40 and the heating system in our "cottage" room was sorely inadequate. The lobby doesn't open until 11 am so there was no place to get coffee, let alone breakfast. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner until 8 pm...so, if you have any problems with your room between 8 pm and 11 am, there is no one to contact--you can't run to the front desk for a hair dryer or anything else. The restaurant had some very good dishes and some mediocre ones. There was no drink menu...just the basic bar stock liquors. When we asked about wine, we were told there was a house chardonnay only--no fine wine by the bottle. Not quite what we expected for the old-time elegance of the dining room. The wait staff made no effort to have their attire match the rest of the ambiance...one was dressed in leggings and a baggy top, another in blue jeans and a third in athletic shorts and top. Our waitress was friendly and efficient, but we simply didn't feel that the whole experience was worth $120 tab for dinner for two. Back to the room, we were given no information for checking out, thought we had seen something about 7 am breakfast but the main building/office/restaurant were still all locked up when we left at 9:30 am. (There is a lot of interesting history in this place but, if you want to see it, I recommend just stopping in for lunch or a drink. The sautéed alligator bites would be a good choice.)

Room Tip: Just don't sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshinhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
16.7 km away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
5.4 km away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
34.8 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.5 km away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
648 reviews
1 km away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod and Gun Club

Address: 200 Riverside Dr, Everglades City, FL 34139-0190
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Everglades City
Price Range: $152 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rod and Gun Club 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rod and Gun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rod And Gun Club Hotel Everglades City
Rod And Gun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing