We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not book this hotel unless you want to arrive and not have a room”
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rod and Gun Club
Reviewed 13 April 2017

3 weeks ago my friend and I went into the Rod and Gun club in everglades city and made a reservation with Brian. We called 3 days prior to confirm our reservation and were told that yes we were confirmed for arrival on April 8. On April 8 I called to advise the hotel we were running late and we would arrive by 8:00pm. The person on the phone Jeff said ok are you planning on having dinner we said yes, Ok then we will keep the dinning room open for your dinner. We arrived around 7:30pm and were given a key and room number and told where to park the boat. I went ahead of my friend to the room and opened the door. What a shock when the door opened and there were someone else's things sitting all over the room. I immediately closed the door and went out to my friend to advise that we were given a room already occupied. REALLY. They have only 8 rooms total in the entire hotel. You don't know that someone is already there!!!! We went back to the hotel lobby and a women was on a golf cart and we explained that we were given a room and someone was already occupying the room. She was like oh that happens allot!!!! Really. You cannot keep track of 8 cottages!! The women was very rude and also stated oh yeah we are fully booked. Sorry. That was it. How rude. We went to the office for a refund. Oh by the way they only accept CASH!!!!!! No other form of payment. I warn anyone that would like to stay here do not bother. There are other places in Everglades city to stay that are better than the Rod and gun club. Stay away unless you want to be caught with no reservation upon arrival.

Room Tip: do not bother to make a reservation stay else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lindakoeppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I almost did not stay here because of some of the reviews so I am taking great care with this review. First of all, the cottages are excellent. Very clean but more important, nicely decorated, up to date, comfortable. Some reviews made me worry that
It would be like a Red Roof Inn and dowdy with bugs. The rooms, although simple, were very nice. Tastefully decorated. Wood floors. Linens were good. No bugs (and we are in the Everglades).

The hotel is laid back - no credit cards but they take checks so how trusting is that? You make a reservation with your phone number. Staff was great. So helpful and kind. They are not 24/7 so you have to be ok with that.

Cottages is not exactly the right description. There are about 4 outbuildings with 5-6 rooms each. Each has a screened porch - some shared and some private. Ask for the private - we had a shared porch neighbor who smoked and that was not pleasant

The pool area is lovely. Onsite photos do not do justice. Great porch on the main building for hanging out Main building shimmers with history.

I stay in everything from the Ritz to quaint B&Bs, and get easily creeped out by some chain motels that are less then. I was super comfortable here and plan to come back again and again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank DorisP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We love the Everglades for the nature, the history, and the (sometimes foreign feel of the) culture. Everglades City is a small town and rustic in some very good ways, and the history is fascinating (check out the museum!) We appreciated the history of the Rod and Gun Club, and the lobby is very fun to examine. The lodging itself was a little rustic. The cabin actually felt like a fishing cottage in Northern Wisconsin. Very cramped quarters for our family of four, which was fine for one night, ad we were expecting it. The mini fridge and TV were just fine for us, and the little bathroom had been updated. The screened porch area was very nice. We could hear our neighbors in their adjoining bathroom quite clearly. Beds were not comfortable, and ours squeaked anytime anyone moved, and the headboard would hit the wall. No extra blankets meant that it was a chilly night for all of us, since temps dropped into the 30s. Toilet handle was sticky so toilet would run unless jiggled. No toiletries in bathroom. Local fishermen park in the lawn outside the windows and get outfitted early in the morning, so we had to keep shades down. We were close enough to the water that we could watch the wildlife and fishermen. The setting is generally laid-back, quiet, and mellow. The pool is clean and nice -- but not heated, so it was too frigid to use in March. Management was quite forthcoming in its political views. I normally don't expect politics with my check-in but maybe shouldn't be surprised, given our country's climate. I wanted to love this place for its quirk and charm, but just couldn't get there. Perhaps someone will be able to turn this into the gem that it can and should be.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank ortteb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

The only complaint is that the owners need to be attentive to what's in stock. Very limited
The place could be a gold mine
The setting is beautiful It brings you back to the old south. So much history
The food was amazing The waiters were pleasant. They just need some help from the management
They did the best they could for what they had to offer

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JEFF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Was led to this restaurant by our Fodor Guide and the wonderful historical description of this interesting place! Lots of choices in this small town, but this was our pick and we were thrilled! Enjoyed the old fashioned veranda overlooking the waterway at early evening time. Started with good cocktails and alligator nuggets, tasty! We asked about local catch, and ordered the stone crabs! Wow, a wonderful find! Our meal included a very fresh salad and handcut french fries, for me the house mash, Great. Also got fresh squash on the side! Shellfish are always our favorite, even when you have to work a bit at it! You could tell they were fresh that day! Everything was so flavorful and presented so well, we had to finish every bite! Although we usually pass, we had to have the homemade Keylime pie, again, the best! We've eaten in some of the world's best restaurants and enjoyed this meal as much as any! Our wonderful server Katie was attentive, but not obtrusive! We left a good tip! A guide book led us to this restaurant, would definitely go back again! Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pseudo055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
16.7 km away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
5.4 km away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
34.8 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
648 reviews
0.5 km away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
1 km away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod and Gun Club

Address: 200 Riverside Dr, Everglades City, FL 34139-0190
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Everglades City
Price Range: $152 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rod and Gun Club 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rod and Gun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rod And Gun Club Hotel Everglades City
Rod And Gun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing